Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Upper Classy Brit, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Dale Winnitowy "r'n'r alleycat" (Yorkton, SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
Paul Weller is one of those eternally young, classy statesmen whom one always feels rather jealous of. These 39 tracks are proof that he can do little wrong. Of course, his own classics are treated to both bare-boned reworkings for different BBC sessions as well as sharp-dressed, exciting concerts. But it's the covers that really are the taste-treat here.Check out the bluesy Corrina,Corrina, his take on Canadian Gordon Lightfoot's folk classic Early Morning Rain, the cooly raw Pretty Flamingo, and concert treasures What's Goin' On and Walk On Gilded Splinters. Wellr finds ways to possess these songs so they rise way above mere imitation. Both discs are set up chronolgically as they should be. If you're meeting him for the first time, you'll be enchanted, and longtime fans will find enough mouth-watering treats to keep them in the candy-store until the last song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, 5 Nov 2008
By 
T. Stacy (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
This is by far the best thing i have heard for a very long time, i have followed Paul Weller since his early days and i am still surprised and amazed at his depth and quality, this CD captures it all, the atmosphere the quality of both his voice and musical talents, dont wait just buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless. A great insight into one of the best artists...EVER!, 4 Nov 2008
By 
stuart bailey (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
The time span covered here gives valuable and rare insight on how Weller picked himself up from the dip at the end of The Style Council days. Always an artist to exude supreme confidence, you can pick up little fragments of him feeling his way back in and then you get it full on. If you're new and interested in getting to know the artist; if you've followed him since TOTP appearance and that Heinz apron or, indeed, at any point through his immense career - this is indispensable. Re-Mastering excellent.
Oh, and the packaging is not bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At the BBC, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
I was so glad to play this again and again.
There are great versions of Science and "Up in Suzee's room".
Also CD3 is all live, with an early 1990s acid jazz concert, featuring 7 great songs (including Style Council masterpieces "My ever changing moods," "A Man of Great Promise" and "Speak like a child", late Jam song "Pity Poor Alfie" , cover of "Just like Yesterday" and great version of "Work to do" as well as perhaps the best recording ever of Paul's greatest song "Kosmos."
That song alone sells it for me.
This is a thoroughly enjoyable collection, even if you're not a Weller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the listen but could be even better., 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
Good mix of tracks , some versions I had not heard before. These BBC sessions are always woth buying , I think that one's opinion on this one will depend on liking the balance of tracks from his different phases -Style Council, Solo or covers. Well worth a listen but wheras I was expecting it to be great it is merely very good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must for any Weller fan., 2 Feb 2009
By 
Paul C Burr PhD "Doctapaul" (Hove, Ascot and Newcastle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
Great value and excellent alternative live versions of his studio greats. I like Weller's acoustic as much as his rock stuff.

Highly recommended to Weller fans. If you don't know Weller (is there anyone?)start with As Is Now and Wild Wood CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A constant in my ever changing cd collection..., 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
...excellent set,sadly I missed the limited 4cd box,didn't know just how limited it was,until it'd gone,but I'm completely happy with this 2cd set,and can't really see how the other could've really bettered it.First rate,and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Live Artist, 25 July 2012
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
This collection shows how truly great Weller is live. Some fantastic radio sessions show his true class. The digital edition is worth getting for the additional material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paul weller at bbc, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
another fine cd from mr weller , the mod father really good listen would recomend . keeps bringing out good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars paul Weller @ The B.B.C.->, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
As it says Paulat The Beeb,This set is for Weller fans & music fans of all Soulful,Rockin',Modernist Pop Art & good lyrical songs 'n'tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At The BBC
At The BBC by Paul Weller
Buy MP3 Album8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews