Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2010
This classic album was always one of John's stand-out pieces and this re-mastering really does an excellent job. The extra album of out-takes and non inclusions in the original contains one or two real gems and much of interest to those who have followed John and his music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
John Martyn was a genius who produce a.wide range of brilliant music . This is probably one of his more commercial albums but has some amazing love songs and late evening music. Just melt to his amazing voice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2000
from the opening bassline one's attention is already drawn.john martyn is in fine voice on this1980 release,featuring tom eyre on keyboards&synths,john giblin of brandx fame on bass,plus phil collins on drums.with great guitar work by john on the danceable grace & danger track.the atmospheric keyboards on hurt in your heart,this is a pleasing jazz feeling to this cd.the only disappointing track is johnny too bad which john martyn did not write.a little short at under 40 minutes,but in fine tradition of solid air,bless the weather & sunday's child.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2003
its 11.30pm, lights dimmed, bottle of wine just opened and my 1st time listening to John Martyn and if its cool vibed mellow rock with few light jazzy tinges you want, then this is well worth investigating. Opening track "Some people are crazy" strikes great note with moody bassline while "Sweet little mystery" and "Hurt in your heart" are touchingly beautiful. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
I have been listening to this album since I was 19 years old and still living in Italy. I am now 50. What can I say? I love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
One of John Martyn's best - a beautiful, rounded pressing, sounds great on my RP1!!
If you're back into vinyl in any way at all, get this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
looking up ben sheperd on youtube i came across john martyn i have never heard of this singer songwriter and after just one song i am hooked i ordered grace and danger and will order more albums i just cant stop playing this album this guy sings with such raw emotion and in a haunting moving way
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Love everything John Martyn and, even though this is a "break up album" and, therefore, not his cheeriest work, it's still wonderful! 2 disc deluxe edition, too. Twice as much goodness!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Sublime. Buy it - you won't be disappointed. This is a beautiful, poignant album that reflects the turmoil and chaos in Martyn's life at the time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Brilliant .
I saw him when he toured this album many years ago.
This is my third copy and the remastering is excellent .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)