Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of an era
I first (unknowingly) heard Malmsteen in 1983 when I caught the amazing guitaring in 'Hiroshima Mon Amour' by Alcatraz on the radio (although I did not catch the title at the time). Then in 1984, in a bar in Belgium, the bar owner played me a remarkably frantic solo, 'Hot On Your Heels', by "a 19 year old" in a band I'd never heard of, called Steeler. When he told me that...
Published on 28 Feb 2007 by kkaammyy

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For shredders only
One for the main reasons hard rock and metal are derided is what is seen as self-indulgent 'widdling'. More than most, Malmsteen is held up as one of the most guilty practitioners..and with good reason. His technical proficiency is not in question but unlike Steve Vai's solo material, Eddie Van Halen's earlier stuff and Joe Satriani, he doesn't have memorable tunes. With...
Published on 27 Mar 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of an era, 28 Feb 2007
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
I first (unknowingly) heard Malmsteen in 1983 when I caught the amazing guitaring in 'Hiroshima Mon Amour' by Alcatraz on the radio (although I did not catch the title at the time). Then in 1984, in a bar in Belgium, the bar owner played me a remarkably frantic solo, 'Hot On Your Heels', by "a 19 year old" in a band I'd never heard of, called Steeler. When he told me that it was the player in Alcatraz, something clicked. It made sense that I had picked up on both of them. Not for years had I had any guitarist have such an impact like the guitaring in both tracks. I had to check this guy out...A love affair started and the rest, as they say, is history.

Even though he has since spawned a hoard of imitators, at that time, no one was doing anything like this. This almost completely instrumental album was fresh and inspiring.

Every track on this album was (and still is) a gem. From the majesty of Black Star, the slighlly corny, but precise baroque of Far Beyond The Sun, the shear beauty of Icarus' Dream Suite (based on Albanoni's Adaggio) and the fury and beauty of Little Savage, this album paved the way for hundreds of wannabes that, even today, never quite master the melody and harmony that the man himself musters, even though others are faster these days...(and so what).

Malmsteen certainly has his knockers. But for those who say he has no 'feel', no soul...are they deaf?

Beautiful melodies are here in abundance and his heartfelt solos like no other guitarist before him. Sure, he will often play fast. But Malmsteen's fast was different. It was clean, so, so melodic and not just going in one direction like everyone else's 'widdly-diddly' efforts (including my own).

His profuse emotion, inherent throughout the fury, is evidently missed by his critics in its subtler form. A guitarists' guitarist true but, not as some have written, the only ones who can appreciate what he does, I'm sure.

By his 7th album, Fire and Ice, even I had to conclude that I had heard it all before and, for a while, the love affair was over, but this first outing was the foundation of many great tunes to follow...before he flirted with commerciality and then became a fat parody of himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Yngwie album, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
If you're thinking of getting an Yngwie album, this is the one to get. It's his first solo album, and is mostly instrumental (although it does have a couple of tracks with vocals admirably provided by Jeff Scott Soto). You can't really go wrong with any Yngwie album, but this one's pretty representative of his work. Oh, and it's got the track "Black Star", which is probably the best single track he's recorded :-) Buy this album. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Album To Own, 10 Mar 2006
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
For people like me who have limited knowledge of Yngwie's songs i think this album is a great place to start. From the beautifal guitar work of black star to the amazing Icarus' Dream Suite Opus 4 every song demonstrates Yngwie's diverse and incredible playing skills, a must buy for fans of neo-classical music and ofcourse guitar in general :). Buy It Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The advent of neo-classical metal., 21 July 2004
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
This is literally the first neo-classical album ever. Yngwie is the mastermind that first thought to combine the genres of classical, (baroque mainly), music with metal, and the stunned shock of people who heard this when it first came out I can only imagine, (it was released in 1984).
The debut album of the neo-classical movement is a superb largely instrumental album. Most of the songs are classics. 'Now Your Ships Are Burned' and 'Little Savage' stand out in my opinion, but Yngwie said that 'Far Away From The Sun' is the best on the album in his opinion and one that he still plays on stage.
I had already heard other neo-classical albums when I bought this but I was still totally ecstatic with what I heard, and couldn't stop listening to it.
Yngwie was the first neo-classical shredder, and there are so many guitarists that have been influenced by him that his concepts can by heard practically anywhere in skillful guitar music. He is father of the genre and this is the brilliant debut album of the then very young Swedish virtuoso.
This album's 20th birthday this year marks the 20th birthday of the neo-classical genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neo -classical is born, 2 Nov 2002
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
this is the greatest guitar album ever!
yngwie malmsteen is the best guitarist to walk this earth ever no one can match is speed or his graceful and intricate playing style.this album shows just how much a great player malmsteen is especially on tracks like ICARUS DREAM SUITE(classic)LITTLE SAVAGE, EVIL EYE ,FAREWELL.these tracks show his graceful playing in the neo classical format.then he shows just how fast he is FAR BEYOND THE SUN, BLACK STAR ,AS ABOVE SO BELOW, NOW YOUR SHIPS HAVE BURNED, this is total shred but with classical beauty and i have to say it will never be matched.he is just an astounding player, extremely technically acomplished his use of sweep picked appregios is brilliant, a wicked vibrato and a classic tone all make this for me anyway the best guitar album EVER!! buy it and be astounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a complete widdlefest!!!!!, 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
Rising Force was the first neo-classical metal epic I ever bought. I'd heard of Yngwie Malmsteen but up until then I'd held Eddie Van Halen in awe as the king of speed rock guitar. What Malmsteen introduced shook the guitar world and raised the standard of technical excellence forever. I bought the LP (thats about 12" of plastic with a hole in the middle for you youngsters out there) and I swear that when YJM ripped into the fist shredding run up the fretboard I actually checked the record deck was on 33 and not 45!
Malmsteen plays the guitar nearly as fast as a classical violinist plays a violin, and players such as Tony MacAlpine, Joey Tafolla, Vinnie Moore and Joe Stump followed in Malmsteen's footsteps to release neo-classical dirges of their own. As with most "new" styles others follow quickly to jump on the bandwagon and yes, certain players such as Macalpine are worth a listen bu YJM remains the inspiration for them all.
Its not metal, its not r'n'b, its not prog, its not fair! - did he sell his soul to the devil to play like that. Comparisons with Paganini ("Page Nine" according to Spike Milligan but I digress) are bound to be made. His style is actually classified as "neo-classical fusion", whatever that means. Unfortunately YJM has a reputation for taking himself far too seriously and to say he can be a tad pretentious wouldn't be too far off the mark. Listen without prejudice though and you'll hear a master technician at work.
Rising Force is definitely worth owning for the six instrumental classics alone--"Black Star", "Far Beyond The Sun" and "Evil Eye", to name but a few. On the 8 minute epic that is "Icarus Dream Suite" you can almost hear him disappear up his own backside and come out again!
If you don't play guitar: marvel at the sheer virtuosity of this man. If you play guitar: ditch the girlfriend, give up going out for 6 years and practice in your bedroom until your fingers bleed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started., 25 Oct 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
Yngwie's first album is as much of a must-have for guitarists as Van Halen I.
Introducing neoclassical metal to the world, Yngwie started a new breed of guitarists: the Widdler.
And he's still the best, still recording and touring. And still playing material off this album.
Says it all really.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great nusic, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
Yngwie Malmsteen genius, nice cd to listen to, good instrumental songs.
Any guitar player should own this album, not only metalheads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but VERY sweet, 20 April 2012
By 
Calgacus (Ayrshire, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
For a lot of people, this album was the first of Yngwie J. Malmsteen's that they had heard, but befor ethis album he had already performed on Steeker's self-titled album, And the Alcatrazz albums No Parole For Rock n Roll and Live Sentence. Furthermore, he was regularly gigging and recording in Sweden during his teenage years. In fact, the most popular video hosting website has many examples of Yngwie's first recorded material, and many of these recordings feaure motifs and various ideas that ended up on this album, Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force.

From a guitar point of view, Yngwie's work here isn't quite as technical and blinding as his guitar work became on later works. But, this album seems a lot more 'thought out' and is less of a 'metal' album compared to what was to come in later years. This album feels more like a synthesis of hard rock and traditional classical/baroque that later albums too. Little Savage is my favourite - i love the little harpsichord interlude! - a beautiful, deft touch. It's hard to beleive Yngwie was only 24 when this was recorded, and most of the material was conceived over the previous TEN years (few people realise that Yngwie was a true child prodigy).

If you are an electric guitarist, and want to become at least above average, you MUST learn the solos, riffs and trademarks from Yngwie's first solo album.

I also recommend Odyssey (1989), Fire & Ice (1992), Seventh Sign (1994), Facing The Animal (1998), Concerto Suite For Electric Guitar (1999), Unleash The Fury (2005) and Live in Leningrad (1989).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5-stars if Yngwie had concentrated on his strengths, 7 July 2010
By 
C. J. W. Owen "chrisowen2000" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rising Force (Audio CD)
Yngwie Malmsteen is extremely divisive in the world of guitar players. You do need to hear Yngwie to make your own mind up and this is the best place to start (the other album worth a listen is his Concerto Suite for electric guitar). If someone was to hand you a random album from Yngwie you'd probably hate it and wonder what the fuss is about. My own personal opinion is that his shredding gets extremely boring very quickly. 90% of the content on his albums is repetitive drivel with hints of talent.

This album contains most of the 10% which is pure electric guitar heaven. The stand out tracks are Black Star and Far Beyond the Sun with a couple of others like Icarus Dream Suite right up there.

The album opens with Black Star. First thing you'll notice is his Fender Stratocaster tone. It's beautiful. There aren't that many players out there with tone let alone those from this era. Next you'll notice his gorgeous, gorgeous note choice and phrasing perfectly executed with some killer technique. This is Yngwie at his best. It really is that good. Effortless runs, note choice, lovely vibrato, melodies, raw rock electric guitar feel in place, and structure.

The album revisits this kind of playing in place in many places along the journey. The acoustic guitar in the mix sounds fantastic.

If Yngwie had concentrated on his strengths this would be a 5 star album, his other albums would be equally as good, he probably could have collaborated with some better song writers (although some songs on Eclipse are actually quite good!), and probably been close to being a household name.

There are two songs which are interesting but ultimately slightly pointless since there are much better rock songs out there.

Yngwie quickly gathered a mass of fans eager to hear him play more and more. Malmsteen responded with regular album releases with new singers and songs to try to keep it interesting. There's been some cool stuff over the years but ultimately Malmsteen blew his load in these tracks. Still some truly fantastic stuff here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Rising Force
Rising Force by Yngwie Malmsteen
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews