Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.59
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2008
If you are after a collection of the more 'radio friendly' tracks that this consistent trio put out during their early to middle period you can't do better than this and at what a price (less than £3 at time of writing). If you are after a little more, a collection that has all of these tracks plus excellent 'album tracks' as well, go for 'GOLD' a 2cd set which gathers together the truly best from the same period.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2007
I have only been listening to rush for a few months now and I have to say how brilliant they are!! I have never taken to a band this quick before! If no one has listened to their music or even got a cd then i strongly recommend doing so- asap!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
Straddling heavy rock and prog and liked by fans of both genres, Rush were highly successful in the late 70s and early 80s with their punchy, power trio sound. Excellent stuff, though those buying The Spirit Of Radio may be slightly disappointed as the tracks chosen don't quite follow what it says on the tin...

For many fans, Rush are particularly liked for their lengthy epics, especially the side-long 2112 and 11-minute Xanadu. Whilst I appreciate that there may not be room for both songs on a single CD compilation, Spirit should surely include at least one of them in full - not just the first two movements of 2112! These omissions are all the more grating when considering some of the material which is featured such as the seven-minute sub-Sabbath rock of Working Man from their debut album - a period and piece which hardly shows this highly talented band at the top of their game.

Another problem with The Spirit Of Radio is that it includes too many songs from the mid 80s when the band were trying too hard to sound contemporary. Guitars are turned down, moogs swapped for synths and Neil Peart's vast array of percussion traded in for more mechanical drumming with the net result being unmelodic, over-complicated songs with less dynamic edge than the best of the band's mid-late 70s and early 80s output.

Despite these criticisms, there are still some excellent songs on The Spirit Of Radio with hard-rocking highlights including the exciting title track, Tom Sawyer and the first two movements of 2112. Quieter highpoints include the pastoral Trees as well as New World Man with its clever wordplay and catchy pop-rock tune. Drummer and lyricist, Peart is probably better at words inspired by literary works than his analyses of modern society though he gets it right with NWM. Even when his lyrics are slightly awkward however, he should still be praised for bravely tackling far more complicated concepts than most other wordsmiths.

Trying too hard is an admirable trait though it sometimes leads to shortcomings as it does in Rush's highly skilled music. Despite this, The Spirit Of Radio is still a good introduction to the band though new listeners should be aware that it doesn't altogether represent the band's best work from the 1974-1987 period.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
I have been a Rush fan since 1978 and every now and then an album like this is released by the band which, to me, puts everything they have produced into perspective and lets me enjoy the music just that little bit more.I have never known a bad or " ordinary" album to come from Rush and this one is no exeption.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
I was a big Rush fan in the early eighties and still have the first dozen or so albums on vinyl, the period covered by this compilation. I contemplated several of the compilations available before settling on this one. I waited for delivery in eager anticipation; were they really as good as I remembered them?

YES! This is a brilliant selection of songs from their first 'classic' period. Most of the studio albums are represented (with the exception of 'Caress of Steel') with some of the best songs from each. Sounds fantastic in crystal clear digital format and has hardly been out of the cd player since it arrived.

If you're a fan of seventies/eighties Rush; Come on, you know you want to....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Fantastic album from a fantastic band! Rush go from strength to strength. Especially with this best of compilation. Beautiful always!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
I had forgotten how much I enjoy this album, as I only had it on a cassette and can not play it in my car.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Previously, I only got to listen to only a few of their songs because back in the 70s & 80s only hit singles make it on the radio which I bought through compilation CDs featuring other artistes too. I am suprise how diverse their songs are and how melodious as well. Now I listen to it every other day!! I try to 'absorb' each song and listen to them 'slowly' just to get the feel. NO RUSH!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
A good collection for fans and curious listeners alike. This collection highlights that Rush had a unique sound, but not a great amount of outstanding material, some of which is quite pretentious. However, certain tracks still stand out and there have not been many better rock songs than Spirit of the Radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Rush are one of the greatest bands ever to come out of Canada and are one of my all time favourite groups. However, this album leaves a lot to be desired because whoever put it together and produced it should be hung up by his feet and slapped with a wet fish. Geddy, Alex and Neil, sort these persons out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)