Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection Of Their 'Hits'
If you are after a collection of the more 'radio friendly' tracks that this consistent trio put out during their early to middle period you can't do better than this and at what a price (less than 3 at time of writing). If you are after a little more, a collection that has all of these tracks plus excellent 'album tracks' as well, go for 'GOLD' a 2cd set which gathers...
Published on 23 Mar 2008 by James J. Porter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some strange choices and skewed emphasis
Straddling heavy rock and prog and liked by fans of both genres, Rush were highly successful in the late 70s and early 80s with their punchy, power trio sound. Excellent stuff, though those buying The Spirit Of Radio may be slightly disappointed as the tracks chosen don't quite follow what it says on the tin...

For many fans, Rush are particularly liked for...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by Greg Farefield-Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection Of Their 'Hits', 23 Mar 2008
By 
James J. Porter (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are after a collection of the more 'radio friendly' tracks that this consistent trio put out during their early to middle period you can't do better than this and at what a price (less than 3 at time of writing). If you are after a little more, a collection that has all of these tracks plus excellent 'album tracks' as well, go for 'GOLD' a 2cd set which gathers together the truly best from the same period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEwbie to rush but looving every mintue, 20 April 2007
By 
I have only been listening to rush for a few months now and I have to say how brilliant they are!! I have never taken to a band this quick before! If no one has listened to their music or even got a cd then i strongly recommend doing so- asap!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some strange choices and skewed emphasis, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Straddling heavy rock and prog and liked by fans of both genres, Rush were highly successful in the late 70s and early 80s with their punchy, power trio sound. Excellent stuff, though those buying The Spirit Of Radio may be slightly disappointed as the tracks chosen don't quite follow what it says on the tin...

For many fans, Rush are particularly liked for their lengthy epics, especially the side-long 2112 and 11-minute Xanadu. Whilst I appreciate that there may not be room for both songs on a single CD compilation, Spirit should surely include at least one of them in full - not just the first two movements of 2112! These omissions are all the more grating when considering some of the material which is featured such as the seven-minute sub-Sabbath rock of Working Man from their debut album - a period and piece which hardly shows this highly talented band at the top of their game.

Another problem with The Spirit Of Radio is that it includes too many songs from the mid 80s when the band were trying too hard to sound contemporary. Guitars are turned down, moogs swapped for synths and Neil Peart's vast array of percussion traded in for more mechanical drumming with the net result being unmelodic, over-complicated songs with less dynamic edge than the best of the band's mid-late 70s and early 80s output.

Despite these criticisms, there are still some excellent songs on The Spirit Of Radio with hard-rocking highlights including the exciting title track, Tom Sawyer and the first two movements of 2112. Quieter highpoints include the pastoral Trees as well as New World Man with its clever wordplay and catchy pop-rock tune. Drummer and lyricist, Peart is probably better at words inspired by literary works than his analyses of modern society though he gets it right with NWM. Even when his lyrics are slightly awkward however, he should still be praised for bravely tackling far more complicated concepts than most other wordsmiths.

Trying too hard is an admirable trait though it sometimes leads to shortcomings as it does in Rush's highly skilled music. Despite this, The Spirit Of Radio is still a good introduction to the band though new listeners should be aware that it doesn't altogether represent the band's best work from the 1974-1987 period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic album from a fantastic band! Rush go from strength to strength. Especially with this best of compilation. Beautiful always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I had forgotten how good this is, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had forgotten how much I enjoy this album, as I only had it on a cassette and can not play it in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most compact compilation, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a perfect CD for people like me, who are beginners in listening the magical Rush legacy. All the big hits are here in a nice and decent packaging.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
shows early rush and they still play some of these songs now in concert well worth owning good album good mixture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Stuff, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit Of Radio: Greatest Hits (1974-1987) (MP3 Download)
Been a Rush fan a long time but most of the stuff was on records so getting all these classics into digital format was my best option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO RUSH, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Previously, I only got to listen to only a few of their songs because back in the 70s & 80s only hit singles make it on the radio which I bought through compilation CDs featuring other artistes too. I am suprise how diverse their songs are and how melodious as well. Now I listen to it every other day!! I try to 'absorb' each song and listen to them 'slowly' just to get the feel. NO RUSH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation of early Rush, 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a big Rush fan in the early eighties and still have the first dozen or so albums on vinyl, the period covered by this compilation. I contemplated several of the compilations available before settling on this one. I waited for delivery in eager anticipation; were they really as good as I remembered them?

YES! This is a brilliant selection of songs from their first 'classic' period. Most of the studio albums are represented (with the exception of 'Caress of Steel') with some of the best songs from each. Sounds fantastic in crystal clear digital format and has hardly been out of the cd player since it arrived.

If you're a fan of seventies/eighties Rush; Come on, you know you want to....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4af5414)

This product

Only search this product's reviews