Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew that being a King would be this much fun...
This game has been on my radar for a while now, but I hadn't planned on buying it on release. I'm so glad I did in the end.

To be honest, I didn't really start getting into it until I'd unlocked a few options and saw how much depth it had to offer. It's a game which at first looks simple but after all the layers are perfectly layered on becomes something of a...
Published on 26 April 2009 by Leo91

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Save failure can ruin the party...
A surprisingly good and very welcome Wii title! I ended up playing through this on "easy" after my initial save got corrupted half way through my "normal" play through. Keep a back up on a separate SD card as this is a common and immensely frustrating bug with this game(It would have easily got 4 stars if it were not for this), apart from that have fun playing one of the...
Published 23 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew that being a King would be this much fun..., 26 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
This game has been on my radar for a while now, but I hadn't planned on buying it on release. I'm so glad I did in the end.

To be honest, I didn't really start getting into it until I'd unlocked a few options and saw how much depth it had to offer. It's a game which at first looks simple but after all the layers are perfectly layered on becomes something of a monster (e.g. strategic positioning, precise choice in item distribution and party members etc.). It never feels too overwhelming though thanks to the perfectly judged learning curve and difficulty level. Moreover the world you'll be exploring is huge, with plenty of side missions to delve in to if the eventual main goal of world domination becomes too stressful. Add to that the wonderfully diverse UMA (your foes, ranging from snails and mushrooms, to bigger creatures and bosses, like dragons and huge frogs) who all need different strategies in order to be overcome; a brilliant soundtrack made up of remixed classics; and wonderfully bizarre characters which remind you of the unrivalled creative prowess the Japanese seem to have when making great games, and you've got a recipe for a fantastic game which deserves all the praise it can get.

I'm 10 hours in, and I'm not even close to scratching the surface of what this game has to offer and having owned a Wii since Nintendo's launch of the console way back when, I can safely say that this is up there with the best of the lot. If you loved the strategy elements and combat system of Pikmin, the quirky characters and enemies of any Zelda game, mixed with the depth and epic scale of Okami, then you're sure to enjoy what has been one of the surprise hits for me on Wii so far this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Beast of a Game!, 13 May 2009
By 
Con Lafferty "Cheese baguette" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Firstly this is a huge game. I have been rigorously playing this game for over 40 hours and I am at (what I think is) the last king now with some collection books and treasure lists to complete (I am sure it is not the very end and it will have more tricks up its sleeve). It is a challenging game and you wont get far unless you strategise your troops before each battle. Don't be deceived by the cutesy graphics of the game this game is an immense challenge and I can't see kids completing it.

After a couple of missions you will get a suggestion box. Your villagers put some funny little letters in here about their opinions on various things and you will also receive side missions this way. There are loads of these and by doing them you will find various secrets, treasures and art work.

I usually have no interest in collecting unlockable artwork in a game however in this gem they ran a competition to create an enemy and have it included in the game. The 100 pieces of artwork hidden in the game are the drawings they received for this competition.

This game is a labour of love for gamers. It has been in development for years and it shows. Everything about it just oozes quality and attention. It is a game made for Nintendo fans, you know the ones who love games for their creativity, uniqueness and level design and not for violence and gore so gamers can call themselves hardcore. This game is made for the core gamer. It does not try to be realistic and never forgets it is a videogame.

A lot of people are going to compare this to Pikmin however I think this game is better. All your villagers have a name. You may think this will not have an impact but you are absolutely distraught when one of those little people with personalities gets killed. Usually they wash up on shore but sometimes they do die and you see some of the other villagers mourning the deceased.

If you are a gaming veteran and you see the art in video games to be the creativity and uniqueness of the medium then this is for you. If you are an immature gamer who only likes shooters, violence, gore and shallow game play then stay away as the game is probably to complex for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the strongest Wii titles to date, 29 April 2009
By 
J. Cartwright (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Little King's Story is one of the greatest Wii titles to date since the consoles release. It's no shabby second hand title, this is a full on, top mark, well thought out game to break the Wii's ice. This is no casual party game, this is a proper game. A game that wants you to sit down, get a drink and play with no distractions. If you have ever played and enjoyed Pikmin, this is the next best thing.

You play as the King and you're goal is world domi...ahem, world unification. You manage your kingdom by building houses, recruiting soldiers/farmers/archers/miners and more to seize the land, collecting treasure and destroying any enemy or obstacle in your path. The more land you seize the more known you become and more people begin being attracted to your kingdom.

As the game pans out, the world moves around you. People in your kingdom talk to each other, fall in love, have picnics and the landscape gains refinement. You start off in a shabby, grubby and small little kingdom but as you adventure and spread your wings your kingdom begins changing. Wood becomes brickwork, long grass is cut short, animals start taking a liking to your place and more. You start off small but end up big.

The game plays at a 3/4 angle and you have full control over the King. You run around, listen to your citizens and perform quests like "defeat this monster at this place" or "Please check out this rumour over here" etc. These quests are optional and play along the main storyline so you always have something to do. Alongside that you search for treasure so you can buy new additions to your land. Throughout the world map you will encounter obstacles and enemies which need to be defeated but only certain men/woman can do the job. Need to take down an enemy? Recruit some soldiers. Found a tree in your way? Recruit some Wood Cutters. You might get to a point where you think you have seen it all but then suddenly the world map gets even bigger and you have more and more to see and do.

Little King's Story features a story book style graphic and is very pleasing on the eye. Music is classical opera. Might not be your sort of thing but it works well in this type game.

My only gripes dropping this to 4/5 is that the game does not run all that well on 480p. If you have a HD like me, the game looks slightly choppy on the edges and can appear fuzzy on various textures. It's fully playable though. The other niggle is that controlling a large squadron of different men can become troublesome especially if you're in a panic and that quests (not story quests) can tend to repeat themselves occassionally.

Other than those small niggles, fully recommended. Buy it now!! The King is waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Support developers like this - buy this game!, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Mitya (Nottm., UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
I cannot praise this game highly enough. Nintendo has always struggled with a lack of quality third-party games on its platforms, but this is right up there with the best of them, although I wish it were marketed a little more as it deserves a wider audience.

The game sees you control a little boy who is appointed king of a ramshackle, financially struggling kingdom which is surrounded by other, more powerful kingdoms. Your task, in a nutshell, is to grow your kingdom, improve the lives of your people, invade surrounding areas (the inhabittants of which have all been infected with UMA, a sort of evil-causing virus).

You could call it "strategy lite", since it doesn't go into tedious depth regarding resource collection. You do collect stuff, but it tends to be surreal things like junk, turnips or "priceless" pieces of art which, to the untrained eye, look like a 5-year-old did them with a crayon.

But where the game really shines is in its charm and humour. Such attention to detail is on display here that you'll just marvel at it. All your citizen classes act differently with their own quirks, and your main warrior rides a cow into battle. 'Nuff said. There are so many amusing items to collect, amusing characters along the way, that it just oozes charm.

This is not so much a game for kids as a game that kids can play. Any game-loving adult will get a lot out of it.

Get it and let's have a sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond in the rough, 26 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
This is one of those games that when you first look at it, it looks nothing special. The first hour of play was an ok experience with a fairly basic introduction to the characters and gameplay, but as the game progresses it is a wonder to behold. The world becomes bigger, there are boss fights, large areas to explore and many characters. This is a deep game, which I think will last you many hours. In some ways it is like The Sims, but the Sims with an army at your disposal. Despite the cutesy graphics this is not a game particularly well-suited to young children and I think that is why it hasn't sold well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece..., 25 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Fantastic! Pure charm as your kingdom expands under YOUR command. You start with adults, training and expanding, fighting and digging your way to what your avisor calls: WORLD DOMINATION!! A beautiful game, well worth it. Only tiny niggle: the fustration that you experience when having to backtrack, but that is resolved when you complete the quest and gain something...

Joe Guntrip, age 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, entertaining, and educational?, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Francisco Alpalhao (Gaia, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Little Kings Story is a must have for wii, its fun, its family friendly and the classical music on the background is just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 28 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
I haven't played Pickmin so can't make comparisons but will try and review this game nonetheless. You start off with a small Kingdom and you are charged with trying to make it bigger. The bigger it gets, the more options, money and people you get in your kingdom. The main part of the game involves fighting other Kings or 'Guardians' of other regions. Defeating them opens up map areas for you to expand in. The fighting control system is the real engine of this game with you basically conscripting citizens with you when you fancy a fight and this is the real genius. Taking 15 soldiers with you is not always the best option and some Guardians are more susceptible to attack from certain types of citizens.

Likewise, exploring the landscape for objects often necessitates having a good blend of people with you. I have unlocked about 5-10 different types of citizens and power ups etc but there are more to go, I know that much.

You can also equip citizens, have them marry and I think they do gain life points and become harder, the more you use them.

Finally, comedy is quite a draw for me in this game. While I love the Total War series on PC, I also love games like this that are a bit silly, but also cleverly designed.

All I can say is that my main gripe with this game is that whenever my king pops his clogs and I get annoyed at how long it takes to load up and restart. More to do with addictiveness than anything else!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game!, 17 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
Little King's Story is the first non-exercise Wii game which I enjoy playing a lot. I love Wii Fit and Wii Sports, and tried some other Wii games but gave up quickly, because they were almost impossible to play.

Little King's Story, however, is very different. Firstly, you can choose the level of difficulty. Mine is set to easy ;-) and this suits me a lot! Secondly, it is easy from the start to work out what you are supposed to do with the controllers to get the game moving. If I could do it, anyone can!

I have played this game for about 1 week now, and it is getting more and more interesting. At the start your kingdom consists of only a handful of citizens and animals and a little hut as your castle. Your job is to train your unemployed citizens to become soldiers, carpenters, farmers, hunters etc. and to go out into the world to gather treasure, earn money, fight monsters and unite several kingdoms under your own flag. The more your kingdom expands and the more money you earn, the more houses and workshops you can build to gain new citizens. While you play, several mini-stories unlock and you have to go on quests. When you have been successful in these quests, your kingdom gets a new festival and everyone celebrates until you (the King) decide to end the festivities and get everyone back to work.

There is always something new to do in this game which keeps it exciting and new. The graphics are very good, the background music fits this game incredibly well and got me interested in classical music. The game itself is very charming and yes, kind of addictive. In my opinion a very recommendable game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the Wii collection, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Kenny D (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Kings Story (Wii) (Video Game)
The object of the game is simple, your a king and need to expand your kingdom by defeating the other kings within each of the strange lands you invade. Blocking your way are random guardians and trouble makers that pop up every so often. To conquer these foes you need to put your citizens to use, commanding them to learn the various trades on offer and as you expand, so do the variety of trades and the amount of citizens at your control.

As king, don't just sit on your royal bottom commanding all of this from the comfort of your throne, this king leads by example, with a pack of citizens chosen for the tasks in tow. As you travel through the various lands you will collect treasure to expand your riches and obtain rewards to dish out to your citizens such as weapons or armour.

The game plays off in a cartoon environment with a cute, happy feel contributing to the experience, so if your looking for blood and gore then don't look here. The graphics for this game do exactly what is required, they are bright, colourful and well drawn, at times you can get lost in the pack of citizens your controlling as battles can be chaotic, but this is a minor issue once you get the hang of things.

The gameplay is excellent and will be sure to take a long time to complete. The controls are basic but responsive and that is all you need for this game. It has been stated by previous reviews that the game is frustrating due to the save mode which can only be accessed from your castle. This isn't a major problem as progression through the game rewards you with cannons that transport you to major areas on the map, saving a great deal of time.

The game difficulty is nicely balanced, with a gentle learning curve although difficulty can be chosen within the options. Boss fights can be a little tricky to master but just keep at it and you will succeed through trial and error. The strategy aspect for the game is enjoyable with only limited thought required to progress through each area. Throughout the game, progression is very rewarding with the citizens even throwing a party to honour your victory over the enemy!

As always, if you like this game or not will come down to your tastes. If your happy playing slow paced games with a form of strategy and collection then you should love this game as it's a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Kings Story (Wii)
Little Kings Story (Wii) by Rising Star Games (Nintendo Wii)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews