Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning movie .It will not leave the viewer indifferent
This is a trully unforgetable movie about an Israeli soldier trying to remember the events of a fateful day in Beirut during the 1982 invasion.

Without going into the histocracity of the movie I would like to say that is not meant to be taken an historical accoint but as a personal recollection of the events.

I was very impressed with the animation...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by A customer

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great visual cinema that can't obscure its political propaganda
This is visually a very good movie. However the overall impression given by this film is that Israeli forces were largely unaware of the Sabra and Chatila massacres going on, and they played no direct or indirect role in this, such an interpretation is highly questionable. As such, despite the visual beauty of the film one is left wondering how Ari Folman can maintain 'it...
Published on 22 April 2009 by Georgee


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skeleton in a closet...?, 27 Mar 2011
An excellent and significant film! It provides an alternative perspective on Israeli collective memory by addressing a moral dilemma: "Can we harm others if we were once harmed? Folman's film raises a question whether and how is it possible for Israel today to reconcile its two conflicting experiences -- the Jewish Holocaust on the one hand and injustices of Israeli state against Palestinians on the other. Ultimately, the film reminds us that any community has its dark past that it should deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 15 Sep 2009
I recently saw this on the big screen as part of a film festival. Being an avid human rights supporter I watched to see the story I knew nothing about.

A number of previous reviewers have called this harrowing, and frankly it is. The speaker at the screening advised us that at the start it was not for anyone with a nervous position about dogs, which I may see as understandable. But it is the ending that simply leaves you numb.

The visuals are striking, and as the memories are recalled, you feel yourself experiencing in the horror and the "fun" of the warzone. The kids whohad no idea what to do but keep shooting, the friend who's tank convey is attacked and he runs, you feel the isolation for his character.

There are gentle nobs also with this movie, when visiting a friend in the Netherlands, we witness a child playing with a toy in in snowy background, the beeping of the gun a stark contrast to the automatic weapons being recalled.

This movie is simply a must for anyone who has even the slightest interest in world affairs, animation and great story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent On All Levels, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Mike Blake (Deepest Debyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is exactly what this film is - graphically it is remarkable, the way the story unfolds is gripping, and the story itself is very disturbing. The opening sequence stayed in my mind for days. Indeed there is so much amazing imagery throughout that at times I was focusing too much on it, and not enough on the story. This is not in a show-off CGI kind of way - the images are very simple and graphic novel in style, but the way they are used is just brilliant.

The story itself needs to be better known too. The massacre of refugees by forces aligned with the Israelis, whilst the Israeli army stood by and watched is a shocking indictement - of all countries surely Israel should have known better?

Not a film for a couple of hours relaxed and cosy viewing, despite being a 'cartoon', rather one to savour and reflect on long after it is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waltz with Bashir, 24 Aug 2009
By 
E. Dodwell "Eithne" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a powerful experience for anyone interested in human memory and self protection mechanisms. I ordered it to familiarise myself more with the current situation in Israel/Palestine, but found this film to be far more wide ranging than that, though it starts from one Israeli's search for his lost memories of his possible part in the Sabra and Shakila massacres. I would urge anyone to watch it, especially anyone who is initially put off by the idea that it is a 'cartoon'. It was almost my first serious animated film, and I was surprised at how powerful a medium animation proves to be in making a shocking, individual experience, in a situation apparantly far removed from most Westerners', more universal and recognisable. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of 1982, 10 May 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Waltz with Bashir" is an animated film about the Israeli occupation of Lebanon in 1982 and the infamous massacre of Palestinian civilians at the Sabra and Shatila refugee camps in Beirut by "Christian" militiamen in particular. The film consists of interviews and reflections on the war from various Israeli combatants as well as showing battles in the conflict between the Israelis and Palestinians on beaches and in Beirut. These scenes depict the full horror of war very well indeed. The film's focus is firmly on the refugee camps massacre which took place in retaliation for the murder of charismatic Christian leader, Bashir Gemayel, from whose name the film takes it's title. It emerges that there was some form of collusion between the militiamen and the Israeli Army that permitted the massacre to be carried out,perhaps emanating from the highest levels of the Israeli Army."Waltz With Bashir" should interest those who can remember the 1982 invasion of Lebanon and it is an original and innovative animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive, 12 July 2009
I quite like adult - orientated anime. There are things you can do with it that you can't do with film, at least not without tacky CGI which somehow looks even more unbeleivable. But for this, it added a kind of dreamlike quality which fitted the subject matter - a man confronting the part he played in what amounted to genocide - really well. I was a bit too young to appreciate what was going on in Lebanon in the eighties and if I'm being honest, after watching this movie I was only a tad wiser. I'm glad it wasn't dubbed. The Hebrew dialogue added to it's sense of authenticity. Something would have been lost if some production company decided it would be a greater commercial success if it was supposedly made more 'acceptable to a western audience'. I was not so keen on the animation style though. It looked like it had been done on a computer and the movements looked wooden and the overall effect was a bit nauseating. But this is a serious film about the journey of a broken soul to what you hope is redemption. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to forget, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No matter the historical facts and finger pointing, I think the reviewer from the Guardian was spot on: ""Waltz With Bashir is an extraordinary, harrowing, provocative picture. We staggered out of the screening in a daze." This was exactly my experience. It took a good 15-20 minutes before my friend and I had processed what we had just experienced and were able to string together a sentence - deeper than "WOW"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film and question regarding bluray release, 28 April 2009
This was one of my favourite films of last year. The animation style is stunning and the story compelling

Regarding this disc - does anyone own this? Supposedly there are deleted scenes .. right? What are they? How many minutes? Artificial Eye's website doesn't detail the discs supplement material. If it's true, it's one up on the upcoming US release since the extras announced do not include the deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars five stars, 15 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best film I saw that year. Animation was a perfect tool to reflect the lunacy of the war. The use of dream sequencies merging with records of real events showed vividly how people disconnect from reality in order to cope with the war. If you want a flavour of what living through a war feels like, then this is the film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an anti war film - from israel!, 14 Sep 2009
highly recommended animation from israeli film maker. just when you wait to hear the israeli point of view here it is told in exceptional circumstances. an incrdibly memorable and haunting picture of war. some of the images will linger long in the mind. puts a human face on the israeli military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waltz With Bashir [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£6.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews