Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Israel in treatment
Hagai Levi, creator of the Israeli TV show 'Be'Tipul' - which became in turn the inspiration for the latest HBO phenomenon, 'In Treatment', currently championed in the UK by The Guardian - said of Israel that "one of our problems as a nation is that in our mind we are still survivors, and sometimes we think that we can do awful things to others because we are survivors."...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Demob Happy

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great visual cinema that can't obscure its political propaganda
This is visually a very good movie. However the overall impression given by this film is that Israeli forces were largely unaware of the Sabra and Chatila massacres going on, and they played no direct or indirect role in this, such an interpretation is highly questionable. As such, despite the visual beauty of the film one is left wondering how Ari Folman can maintain 'it...
Published on 22 April 2009 by Georgee


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waltz with Bashir, 24 Aug 2009
By 
E. Dodwell "Eithne" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a powerful experience for anyone interested in human memory and self protection mechanisms. I ordered it to familiarise myself more with the current situation in Israel/Palestine, but found this film to be far more wide ranging than that, though it starts from one Israeli's search for his lost memories of his possible part in the Sabra and Shakila massacres. I would urge anyone to watch it, especially anyone who is initially put off by the idea that it is a 'cartoon'. It was almost my first serious animated film, and I was surprised at how powerful a medium animation proves to be in making a shocking, individual experience, in a situation apparantly far removed from most Westerners', more universal and recognisable. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 14 Aug 2009
By 
Ash (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bought this movie purely on the strength of a couple of reviews, and how glad I was to have trusted those writers. Waltz With Bashir is a truly stunning movie. The visuals are clearly the first thing to hit you, and they hit you hard - I have never seen a move that looks like this, it is truly unique. In bluray the lines are crisp and clear, characters are full of detail and realism whilst being slightly cartoonish. The animation has clearly been taken from live footage in a similar way to A Scanner Darkly, but the results are quite different and are superior, in my opinion.

The audio is also particularly brilliant - awesome music and sound effects sear from the 5.1 DTS track and fill the room.

In terms of artistry this definitely deserves a watch.

The plot is excellent and unusal, and touches on subjects I was certainly unaware of, having grown up in the 1980s with little interest in the news. The interviews with the film maker's friends feel naturalistic and, I assume, were probably completely unscripted. The interview with his friend living in Holland is of particular note, with his young children capering in the background adding a welcome touch of humour.

It is a slight shame there is no option to have dubbed vocals - I have no problem with subtitles, but on this occasion you want to drink in the imagery so much that it is hard to make yourself read the subs.

I heartily recommend this to those who enjoy documentaries, war films, or simply great and honest art. The ending in particular is one of the most powerful in modern cinematic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent On All Levels, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Mike Blake (Deepest Debyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is exactly what this film is - graphically it is remarkable, the way the story unfolds is gripping, and the story itself is very disturbing. The opening sequence stayed in my mind for days. Indeed there is so much amazing imagery throughout that at times I was focusing too much on it, and not enough on the story. This is not in a show-off CGI kind of way - the images are very simple and graphic novel in style, but the way they are used is just brilliant.

The story itself needs to be better known too. The massacre of refugees by forces aligned with the Israelis, whilst the Israeli army stood by and watched is a shocking indictement - of all countries surely Israel should have known better?

Not a film for a couple of hours relaxed and cosy viewing, despite being a 'cartoon', rather one to savour and reflect on long after it is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of 1982, 10 May 2009
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Waltz with Bashir" is an animated film about the Israeli occupation of Lebanon in 1982 and the infamous massacre of Palestinian civilians at the Sabra and Shatila refugee camps in Beirut by "Christian" militiamen in particular. The film consists of interviews and reflections on the war from various Israeli combatants as well as showing battles in the conflict between the Israelis and Palestinians on beaches and in Beirut. These scenes depict the full horror of war very well indeed. The film's focus is firmly on the refugee camps massacre which took place in retaliation for the murder of charismatic Christian leader, Bashir Gemayel, from whose name the film takes it's title. It emerges that there was some form of collusion between the militiamen and the Israeli Army that permitted the massacre to be carried out,perhaps emanating from the highest levels of the Israeli Army."Waltz With Bashir" should interest those who can remember the 1982 invasion of Lebanon and it is an original and innovative animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to forget, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No matter the historical facts and finger pointing, I think the reviewer from the Guardian was spot on: ""Waltz With Bashir is an extraordinary, harrowing, provocative picture. We staggered out of the screening in a daze." This was exactly my experience. It took a good 15-20 minutes before my friend and I had processed what we had just experienced and were able to string together a sentence - deeper than "WOW"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an anti war film - from israel!, 14 Sep 2009
highly recommended animation from israeli film maker. just when you wait to hear the israeli point of view here it is told in exceptional circumstances. an incrdibly memorable and haunting picture of war. some of the images will linger long in the mind. puts a human face on the israeli military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive, 12 July 2009
I quite like adult - orientated anime. There are things you can do with it that you can't do with film, at least not without tacky CGI which somehow looks even more unbeleivable. But for this, it added a kind of dreamlike quality which fitted the subject matter - a man confronting the part he played in what amounted to genocide - really well. I was a bit too young to appreciate what was going on in Lebanon in the eighties and if I'm being honest, after watching this movie I was only a tad wiser. I'm glad it wasn't dubbed. The Hebrew dialogue added to it's sense of authenticity. Something would have been lost if some production company decided it would be a greater commercial success if it was supposedly made more 'acceptable to a western audience'. I was not so keen on the animation style though. It looked like it had been done on a computer and the movements looked wooden and the overall effect was a bit nauseating. But this is a serious film about the journey of a broken soul to what you hope is redemption. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Powerful, 4 April 2014
By 
Mr. T. E. Rochester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Waltz with Bashir is a beautiful yet harrowing account of one young soldier's experiences during the 1982 Lebanese War.

Based on a true story, it follows Director Ari Folman's attempts to remember what happened to him during that war after a friend visits him about a recurring nightmare he's been having.
The film is then separated into various interviews which re-create the experiences of Ari's fellow soldiers during that war.
Key themes throughout the film are the reliability of memory and denial.

The animation is superb and beautifully shot - there is great use of colour and movement.
In addition, the soundtrack contains what I believe are contemporary Israeli songs about the war.

I wouldn't say its an anti-war film or a pro-war film, it just seeks to portray events as they occurred from one particular point of view. His realisation of his involvement in and the lessons he learns from the Sabra and Shatila massacre sum up this short film quite tastefully, as the animation finally gives way to real footage captured from those camps in 1982.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting viewpoint..., 22 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. C. Lee "Lee-Enfield" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film that gives ordinary soldier's view of the Lebanon/Israeli conflict in anaimated form....has been in the cinema and is now available as a video - a must buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film and well put together, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without wanting to talk in cliches, this is both entertaining and informative, particularly since it comes from the perspective of an IDF veteran who clearly has reservations about his country's role in the Lebanon war. The cartoon aspects are very watchable and perhaps make the very gritty subject matter more bearable,keeping it within the bounds of 'entertainment'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waltz With Bashir [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews