Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eddi is my darlin'
Eddi Reader gives a top-notch performance on this album, with a varied ensemble of songs to capture the imagination. The inclusion of Charlie is Me Darlin' is an inspiration, even if it does clash a little with the more sonorous notes of the more Celtic range of Burns's poems. Ae Fond Kiss is particularly beautiful. A lovely album ideal for repeat listening and learning...
Published on 24 May 2009 by J. Scott-mandeville

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why? A quick whinge.
Only one question, why release an expanded version what 18 months 2 years after the original album? I like Eddi Reader I kied the original album, but it grates that i have to buy an album of which I have 60% of the songs already.
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by K. B. Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eddi is my darlin', 24 May 2009
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
Eddi Reader gives a top-notch performance on this album, with a varied ensemble of songs to capture the imagination. The inclusion of Charlie is Me Darlin' is an inspiration, even if it does clash a little with the more sonorous notes of the more Celtic range of Burns's poems. Ae Fond Kiss is particularly beautiful. A lovely album ideal for repeat listening and learning the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie Reader lifts the songs of Burns work to a new dimension, 4 Jun 2009
By 
G. B. A. Mcginn "Gordon McGinn" (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
A very gifted professional singer who has the flexibility to adapt herself many genres of music. Eddie Reader brings the wonderful works of Robert Burns alive in a new, gentle and exciting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jude, 23 Feb 2010
By 
hey "jude" (ayrshire, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
This is the first Eddi Reader CD I have purchased and it is FAB. I have long admired her work and this is a really good example of her unsentimental but accessible style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply astonishing. If you haven't got it, get it., 25 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Burns would have loved her interpretation. "Auld lang syne" and "John Anderson My Jo" will bring tears to your eyes.

Now, a Burns Supper with Ms Reader would be one not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious and not just for January 25th, 6 Aug 2011
By 
R. Innes (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
This is just absolutely glorious and one of my favourite albums. I love her interpretation of some of those songs we were MADE to sing at school which I thought I'd never listen to again. She has kindled my love of the Scottish folk tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy voice, 3 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
Great slant on Burns tho already being a huge Eddi fan she can do no wrong and this is another album to listen to and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful surprise, 5 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
I heard one track on Desert island Disc's "A Fond Kiss" I was a fan immediately of Eddi Reader, and she brought Burn's songs and his beautiful words right into the new millenium for me.
I bought the this disc, and I find it soothing sad and uplifting.A song for all occasions.She makes "Charlie is ma darlin" all her own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 24 Feb 2009
By 
S. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
Came to Eddie Reader late and find Burns difficult to understand the fuss, but put them together and pure magic. At the price on offer on Amazon just buy it and sit back and listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burns / Reader, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded (Audio CD)
Having heard on TV "Ae fond kiss" i decided to buy this album in the hope i would enjoy. I was transfixed and played it continuously at home, on my iPod and in the car for several days. Eddie Reader's "take" on how to project many of Burns most famous and well known poems is breathtaking.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 6 Feb 2012
This album gives a modern slant to a good selection of Burns songs which can be at times slightly boring to many. The arrangements are superb and Eddie's voice as ever is second to non. This gives a great platform for her to shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaa70498)

This product

Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded
Sings The Songs Of Robert Burns - Expanded by Eddi Reader (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews