Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasured collection of tracks.
I am generally a fan of laid back alternative guitar and soulful vocals. I also tend to steer clear of heavily produced music. I cannot remember where I stumbled across this compilation but it is an absolute gem. It has opened up a new group of artists to add to my collection and it stands on it's own as a quality album. I genuinely value this compilation and I stumbled...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by Dan

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 10 years on....
The original Red Hot & Blue album covered Cole Porter tracks and got a lot of play in my student household. I think fondly of it and often considered acquiring it for my ipod but sometimes you just can't go back there. I was pretty happy to hear therefore that there was a new RH&B album out and really glad when it fit in with my decade-later musical choices. I hate to...
Published on 11 Jun 2009 by J. Lonergan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasured collection of tracks., 3 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I am generally a fan of laid back alternative guitar and soulful vocals. I also tend to steer clear of heavily produced music. I cannot remember where I stumbled across this compilation but it is an absolute gem. It has opened up a new group of artists to add to my collection and it stands on it's own as a quality album. I genuinely value this compilation and I stumbled upon it at a time when I was struggling to find music that was to my taste. I cannot tell you if this is the type of music you will enjoy but I would urge anyone to give this album a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every single penny, 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I don't normally review music but this album is by far the best compilation I've heard in years, so here goes. I was instantly amazed by the list of contributors: My Brightest Diamond, Arcade Fire, Conor Oberst, Stuart Murdoch, The National etc. etc., - the most original/influential and exciting musicians around today have all signed up to a truly worthy cause and have put their own twist on some classic compositions (Feeling Good by My Brightest Diamond was a brave choice but they pulled it off) as well as a sprinkling of new delights.

I'm not a massive fan of Jose Gonzalez but, with the fantastic help of The Books they've put together the first decent cover of a Nick Drake song (Cello Song) I've ever heard. My wife is a hard core Drake fan and even she appreciated their stunningly original effort. Now, if only all the artists on here would appear at the same festival - then this monkey will have gone to heaven.

Buy it, this is easily the best value purchase of the year - you might just fall in love with some of these artists and they'll become a welcome addition to the soundtrack of your life (apologies for the terribly cheesy pun but I did warn you I don't normally review music).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cause, good tunes (though not all of them), 4 July 2009
By 
Mr. Pf Mcmullan "polanski" (chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I bought this because I'm a big fan of Arcade Fire & The National, so it was worth a shot to hear the new tracks alone.

Other rewards have come on though as it switched me on to other artists I didnt really know: Grizzly Bear, Beirut, Spoon & Riceboy Sleeps. Most imporatntly it has also made me buy the Bon Iver Record, after trying to ignore the Hype for an eternity (It's really good).

However there a fair few songs that didnt do it for me personally, but the good un's made up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot in the dark (8/10), 18 Mar 2009
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
Most posts of Red Hot Organization's `Dark Was the Night' compilation begin with a summary dismissal of compilations in general, and particularly those in the name of charity. If such projects are as bad as people say, `Dark Was the Night' - one of many produced by the HIV/AIDS awareness charity over the years - must be the exception. At 30-plus tracks, the double album features songs by most of the notable artists on the US indie circuit in recent years, and rather than the ragtag collection of outtakes and B-sides you might have expected, the quality is genuinely high. If, in one sitting, `Dark Was the Night' is a rather too bleakly bucolic - it shows US indie's current penchant for flickering folk and Amerciana rootsiness - it is certainly better dipped into than taken as a whole. The default atmosphere of sparseness and gloom is oppressive when listened to as a stretch, while the record's variety is somehow more evident when taken in bite sized chunks.

The roster of artists is so impressive that it is almost defined by who is not present rather than who is: Animal Collective and Fleet Foxes spring to mind as obvious absentees (though Andrew Bird does a good job of recalling the latter on `The Giant of Illinois'). TV on the Radio can be forgiven for their absence given that producer-member David Sitek has contributed a curious, Kevin Shields-y take on Troggs' `With a Girl Like You'. There are few total clangers: Broken Social Scenester Kevin Drew's weedy `Love vs Porn' never makes it past my skip button after the opening lyrics, "I woke up and my mouth was a little dry, so I grabbed the moisturiser and tried not to cry". Hmm.

Nitpicking asides, it is the poignantly bittersweet upbeat numbers that really steal the show: compilation curator The National's `So Far Around the Bend', with its shimmering backwards effects and baroque strings; My Morning Jacket's maritime `El Caporal'; the extraordinary synth pop of Yeasayer's `Tightrope'; the blizzard of French horns on Beirut's `Mimizam'; to name a few. Repeated listens reveal gems among the more ponderous material: the songwriting on Grizzly Bear's beautiful `Deep Blue Sea' is atypically lucid for them, more akin to their sister act Department of Eagles than their own material to date, but perhaps a taster for their forthcoming - apparently brilliant - `Veckatimest'. They also collaborate with Feist to mesmerising effect on `Service Bell'. Furthermore, Bon Iver's murky, dissonant `Brackett, WI' - which sounds like it should have featured on his recent `Blood Bank EP' - and Yo Lo Tengo's glowing `Gentle Hour', both reveal subtle depths. There's much more, of course, good and not-so-good, but if you are even the most casual fan of recent US indie you should find plenty to occupy you here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. E. D. Vera "Ernie" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been a fan of compilation recordings and after hearing one of the tracks on The Current (Minnesota Public Radio) on the internet, I had a look at the full list of artists and had to get it. This recording hasn't disappointed. Stand out tracks for me include Knotty Pine - Dirty Projectors & David Byrne, Brackett, WI - Bon Iver and Gentle Hour - Yo La Tengo. I enjoy listening to the whole thing again and again. If you like any of the artists that are on this, I recommend you give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing compilation!, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. J. Harrison "Jackedgeorge" (Redhill, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
If you like even one of the artists contributing to this album, buy it. The musicians on this album are all pretty easy to relate to each other - not enough that you could call them 'samey', but enough that you'll probably enjoy this whole CD (except for one slightly odd track!).

If you already know and love these artists, it's a great selection of new and unreleased songs, including some covers and brand new material.

You get a lot for your money (the presentation is also gorgeous!) and all the profit goes to charity. Everybody wins. Buy it! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic compilation, 26 Aug 2009
By 
C. R. W. Baird "colsb" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I discovered this by chance following an e-mail from a record shop in Melbourne (Polyester Records) which was raving about it. They have been right in the past and they were right again. This is a beautifully crafted compilation of songs and if you appreciate artists like Bon Iver and Grizzly Bear then the whole thing will please you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dessner brother's treasure, 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I've only just bought this album but feel it worth a review, as I came to it having discovered The National through their album High Violet. The Dessner brothers from The National produced this album for Red Hot, and wanted to bring together, in Aaron's words, `the best of independent music, with an emphasis on traditional themes played and arranged in a contemporary way.' They have fulfilled this statement of intent brilliantly, producing a compilation full of lovingly crafted music from a wonderful array of artists that feels wholly integrated as a work of art. The packaging is also thoughtful and beautifully designed.

I'm so in awe of what a great compilation this is, I couldn't quite comprehend any of the less than five star reviews! But having read the sleeve notes and thought about it, I think Aaron's statement of intent that I have quoted goes some way to explaining why some people coming to it from Arcade Fire or The National may find it disappointing. This compilation isn't indie rock, it is mostly grounded in a gentler folk orientated sound, although the second CD is an eclectic mix of more upbeat songs, and it certainly helps if you enjoy good music from a spectrum of styles and artists.

If you love the darkness at the heart of much of The National output and the quieter moments of Arcade Fire, then I think you will love this album. if I can be allowed a little sentiment here, there is a `beautiful sadness' to much of the music here which I absolutely loved.

There are too many of my favourite artists present here to mention, but there have also been a few revelations, and I think whatever your tastes you are bound to make a few new discoveries on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I own records by many of the bands here and was a little worried these tracks might not live up to some of my favourite album tracks. No worries it's pretty much universally great plus it opens my ears up to other bands "dirty projectors" I am now eager to hear more of. Their Knotty Pine, the opening track is so good i've listened to it so many times I haven't even listened to the whole of CD2 yet. Other highlights are the awesomely funky Inspiration Information and an absolute monster of a track from Sufjan Stevens, You are the blood. And so many more, Anthony with out Johnsons, etc A great compilation for a great cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every so often, you find a little jem!, 10 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] (Audio CD)
I came across this album while browsing on Amazon and decided the reviews (and price) were good enough to give it a go. WOW, So glad i did! This is an absolutely fantastic album. Although disk 2 didn't really get me, disk 1 is constantly on my CD player. Wonderful songs that just get better with each listen! Although i had heard of several of the artists, I was unaware of their sound and I have come across some wonderful new music through this album. If you are a fan of this kind of music (new folk, I think)and artist such as Bon Iver and Fleet Foxes (although they are not on this album?!)You MUST get this album!
Fantastic music, Fantastic packaging, fantastic cause. Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation]
Dark Was The Night [Red Hot Compilation] by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews