Customer Reviews


290 Reviews
5 star:
 (236)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Own an SACD Player you MUST Own This....
When the original CD format was launched it was said that as many people owned Brothers in Arms as owned CD players. The same by rights should be true of the SACD version. 20 years later and the new fledgling format also needs a killer sales-boosting album for people to take it seriously. Brothers in Arms delivers once again.
It has been about 10 years since I last...
Published on 6 July 2005 by EVIL_ELVIS

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surround mix review: OK
Here's a summary:

1) The surround mix uses the full length versions as heard on CD & cassette (rather than the edited 1,2,4&5 tracks on the vinyl)

2) Money For Nothing suffers in surround. Some of the original very prominent keyboard sounds have been mixed out and the track doesn't sound right for it.

3) The mix is very echoey and I found...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Mike the Fish


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eighties high/low point, 12 Oct 2004
By 
AndrewL94 (Plymouth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
When I first heard "Sultans of swing" I realised there was still some great music around. but for some reason this band has attracted savage comments & are the butt of every second-rate standup comic. Possibly they are the victims of their own talent. But there are worse things from the eighties (e.g. Mr Collins).

For an album identified with the introduction of CD sound to the U.K., this one actually has a harsh resonance on some tracks. "So far away" and "One world" are almost unlistenable-to now, with their jowly guitar (also they are not very good, sorry Mark!) True, the eponymous first album has worn much better. But you have to buy this one for a couple of outstanding tracks - "Why worry", "Walk of life", and above all "Brothers in arms". The latter has a visionary guitar solo that weaves in and out of the vocal line in a mesmerising way. Listen to it as you are falling asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
This review is from: Brothers In Arms [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Miles better than cd version such warmth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what can i say Dire Straits great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly brilliant, 6 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
A fantastic piece of art, worth every cent spent. Mark Nopfler is unquestionably one of the greatest musical aritists that have ever walked this land and this album proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too commercial..., 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. S Bailey (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
All the sounds are very 'pop' and very samey. Great for radio playlists, but no depth and little creativity. 'On Every Street' is a much more varied and enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase price, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
Unique sound. Great instrumentals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surround mix review: OK, 3 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you were a teenager or older when this album was released the chances are you've played it many, many times. I bought surround issue (standard box) recently and for me it was still overplayed. More recently I found I enjoyed the album again through hearing the vinyl version. So here's a point by point review of the surround mix:

1) The surround mix follows the CD version in that tracks 1,2,4 & 5 are longer than the vinyl version

2) I may be wrong, but it seems like the 5.1 mix has more dynamic compression on it, so the impact of the loud sections of The Man's Too Big really lacked something compared to the original.

3) Money For Nothing loses something in surround. Some of the prominent eyboard sound has been mixed out of this version, so to me it doesn't sound right. This was the most disappointing surround mix on the album for me.

4) The album sounds very heavy on reverb compared the original I found this quite fatiguing when listening for a long stretch.

5) On a more positive note and aside from the reverb, the rear surround channels are used to good effect - it's not just ambience in the rears, but backing vocals, keyboard parts, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No problems, delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
Good quality sound snd service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brothers in arms cd, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers In Arms (Audio CD)
Love this cd. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers In Arms (Remastered)
Buy MP3 Album£7.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews