Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 12 Jan 2009
By 
P. A. J. Oswin "Artefactman" (Northumberland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've played this album, on vinyl, until destruction! Now on CD and wearing better (almost, that is.....what they say about vinyl IS true!) I continue to listen to Miss Faithfull's haunting voice.....and will do, always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased to be acquainted with this great album!, 28 Aug 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I think this is Marianne Faithfull's most accessible and cohesive album from the 80s, a collection of strong songs most of which could have been hits. Sweetheart, Easy In The City, Tenderness and Truth Bitter Truth are examples of the magic between her and Barry Reynolds, while Intrigue (written by Ben Brierly) and For Beautie's Sake (Co-written by Steve Winwood) are eqully compelling. She sings with genuine feeling, the playing is tight and the themes of the songs are valid and universal. I rate this album on a par with her latest, Vagabond Ways, based on the quality of the songs and the heartfelt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rate Marianne, 10 Mar 2011
This superb album, the 2nd in a trilogy on Island Records, has long languished in the long shadow cast by its immediate predecessor 'Broken English' but for many it is 'Dangerous Acquaintances' that ranks as arguably the most brilliantly realised collection of the lady's career. It certainly lacks the shock value of 'Broken English' but the sheer quality of what's on offer here is simply staggering. This is Marianne's inner confessional & is a riveting listening experience from start to finish. Island re-issued this & its successor 'A Child's Adventure' on CD at the turn of 1994/95 without any publicity as I recall & I was fortunate to snap the pair up before they quickly disappeared from the racks. On the grounds that 'Dangerous Acquaintances' is one of the greatest albums ever released by Island I was expecting it to figure in the label's high-profile anniversary re-releases of a couple of years ago, but there was no sight of it. Now Island is one of my favourite labels but it seems that those who now own its back catalogue remain woefully ignorant of this exquisite work of recording art. This is the hidden jewel in Marianne's impressive repertoire & the passage of time has done nothing to diminish its appeal. This is the one to track down & cherish. It really is THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Mariannes top 3 albums!, 20 Oct 2009
A TRULY superb album that I rate right up there among her top 3, along with 'Broken English' & 'A Child's Adventure' - all my personal favourites and 'simillar' in style / appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous Acquaintances, 16 Aug 2005
total classic, a must have album, released in 1981 i can claim to have played this on vinyl atleast a 1000 times since release.
All 10 tracks are stunning so i just had to find a cd copy although it is a shame to only find it on import why don't emi owned island bother to issue it in the uk is beyound me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Marianne classic, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marianne's singing is very addictive,I love her voice,you get the feeling she is there with you to share everything in her life....what a woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is ok!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product comes in the right time, Very good service. A personally Thing, Amazon.co.uk you have to pay resonable taxes in UK or elswhere or we have to find countryfrienlier dealers. These parasitarian manners don;t fit in our modern times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
she is an icon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerous Acquaintances
Dangerous Acquaintances by Marianne Faithfull
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews