Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenter's fogotten Gems!
The first disc in this two cd set shows Tim Hardin at the hight of his creative powers before the problems in his life seemed to swamp him. Many people will know the often covered "If I were a Carpenter" and possibly one or two other songs will be faguely known, but the likes of "Misty Roses", "While your on your way" and others come into...
Published on 24 Nov 1999 by Alan Johnson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New edition? No booklet
This isn't a review of the music contained on this 2CD set, which I'm not familiar enough with yet to comment on. It's a review of the package itself, specifically the lack of any sort of essay/sleeve notes or booklet to go with it. I assume this is a new edition, and they've removed the booklet that originally accompanied the package to make the whole thing cheaper,...
Published on 5 May 2011 by the human gourd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenter's fogotten Gems!, 24 Nov 1999
By 
Alan Johnson (Lyon, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first disc in this two cd set shows Tim Hardin at the hight of his creative powers before the problems in his life seemed to swamp him. Many people will know the often covered "If I were a Carpenter" and possibly one or two other songs will be faguely known, but the likes of "Misty Roses", "While your on your way" and others come into the category of forgotten gems. The second cd show cases Tim Hardin's aptitude for interpreting standards. A singer/songwriter from the mid-sixties who stands the test of time better than most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim's best plus unissued material, 19 July 2011
By 
Intending to replace my "Tim Hardin 1" and "Tim Hardin 2" lp's on cd,I was delighted to find that this set offers not only the 2 albums in their entirety on one cd but also gives us "Tim Hardin 4" which comprised of more of the r&b material that didn't make it onto "Tim Hardin 1".In addition there's unissued alternative arrangements of "It'll never Happen Again" and "While You're on your Way" and loads of previously unissued material from the period which, though not earth shattering, is still pleasant listening.So excellent value and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars across-the-board Tim Hardin, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hang On To A Dream: The Verve Recordings (MP3 Download)
all your favourites, plus a hearty injection of blues, this is a tour-de-force of Tim's work, and a great addition to any Tim fan's collection. i like this a lot, but then i am a huge TH fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine songer and finer songs, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had an album of Tim's way back when at college and fell in love with his musical interpretations. It was sad when he died. But his music lives on and this collection is a MUST for anyone. Forget all the cover versions you might have heard, hear the originals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 13 Nov 2008
By 
B. R. Howard "willus" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This guy was a genius on his first two albums...check this collection out. he's right up there with Dylan/Cohen/Young. His parting gift was one of beauty. listen and treasure,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good self-penned songs, covers not so good, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hang On To A Dream: The Verve Recordings (MP3 Download)
I was a little disappointed in this collection when I first played it. I had previously only heard some of Tim Hardin's early work, with just a guitar and vocals - and I was really impressed with the raw energy in the recordings. I was hoping for more of the same, but instead I found two types of music in this Verve collection. There were a number of self penned songs, including "If I Were a Carpenter" and "Misty Roses", which of course Tim Hardin fans will love, together with a number of classic Rhythm 'n' Blues covers. The latter were performed with backing musicians featuring drums, guitar, harmonica and piano. Not a patch on the earlier acoustic guitar work, but still OK. Consequently, I'm now skipping these tracks and paying more attention to his self-penned work. I don't like them all, but the more I listen, the more I have to agree with the positive reviews here - he really was a great singer-songwriter. It's a collection I'm learning to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New edition? No booklet, 5 May 2011
This isn't a review of the music contained on this 2CD set, which I'm not familiar enough with yet to comment on. It's a review of the package itself, specifically the lack of any sort of essay/sleeve notes or booklet to go with it. I assume this is a new edition, and they've removed the booklet that originally accompanied the package to make the whole thing cheaper, which is fair enough, but maybe it should have been disclosed in the item description.

It's not the end of the world. Put it down as one of the hazards of internet shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the experience, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never heard of Tim Hardin before I heard the title track very late one night on the radio whilst driving "Hang onto a Dream", and I just had to get it just for that track alone. Disc 1 is quite pleasant and probably as one distasteful poster said here as being "middle-of -the -road", yes it is, but a very good middle of the road. Disc 2 seems to be getting a battering here and is unfairly treated, but it's is right up my street, with some fantastic blues harmonica by a John Sebastian who will deserve some more research.

Tim was certainly a very good song smith, as for genius, well not too sure about that.

Would like to have seen a booklet as some else said here to find out more about Tim and would have paid the extra for it, shame really. All in all; well worth the money for the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A game of 2 halves, 10 Jan 2011
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a word of warning side 1 is brilliant and side 2 is very average. side 1 is why time hardin is still talked about. side 2 is covers of old standards from his early days. however side 1 is esssentially tim hardin 1 and 2 which are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, poor packaging, 8 Jun 2012
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As one reviewer has already mentioned, there are no liner notes in this edition. The credits say 'essay by Colin Escott' so it's glaringly obvious that the booklet has been omitted to cut costs. The original issue from 1994 would have had decent liner notes but would have been priced higher. I suppose it's fair enough as the new price is favourable for 47 tracks but I wonder how much it really saves. Still, great music from one of music's forgotten troubadours.
Superb remastering from those wonderful pre-loudness war days. The natural ambience of the sound is a pleasure to listen to, the words easy to interpret and the uncluttered instrumentation a faithful backing to the voice.
Hard to believe some of these recordings are approaching 50 years in age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews