Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever purchase one Dire Straits Album buy this
What an Album. Forget the MOR laziness of Brothers in Arms, Love Over Gold was Dire Straits finest hour, with Mark Knopfler reaching a standard of song writing that he would never repeat. He has always been a songwriter in the storyteller style, settings scenes and moods with his words and subtle riffs and licks, and on this album he was at his peak. If you only ever...
Published on 3 July 2004 by BD

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, but audio quality for this release could be vastly improved on
I'm not going to comment on the musical merits of Mark Knopfler's (perhaps) defining achievement--but wish to note that that although this CD is extensively labeled as 'remastered'; it is ironically quite lacking in terms of audio quality. That is not to say it is a bad disc, but I was expecting more than merely an 'increased-loudness'-treatment.

I do wish...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Martin Andersen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever purchase one Dire Straits Album buy this, 3 July 2004
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
What an Album. Forget the MOR laziness of Brothers in Arms, Love Over Gold was Dire Straits finest hour, with Mark Knopfler reaching a standard of song writing that he would never repeat. He has always been a songwriter in the storyteller style, settings scenes and moods with his words and subtle riffs and licks, and on this album he was at his peak. If you only ever purchase one Dire Straits album buy this one.

The opening and longest track Telegraph Road sets the scene. It is an epic song taking up a third of the albums running time on its own, with a single keyboard note opening that must have surely been influenced by Pink Floyd 'Shine on you crazy Diamond'. The song continues with a story being told of industrial rise and decline and the piano teasing the listener with hints of an ending, eventually building up to an awesome finale where Dire Straits up the tempo and let rip, ending on a scale they would never reach again.

Private Investigations can only be described as an absolute classic track and for me, beyond criticism. The track successfully carries emotion and opens with the piano and acoustic guitar playing off against each other. This partnership continues throughout and builds up to the powerful piano chords and drums, which evoke such emotion at the end. This track never fails to make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.

Industrial disease is possibly the most commercial track on the album and is almost daring to be cheerful. I get the feeling this track is very much tongue in cheek and almost feels a little out of place on this album, but ends up providing a bit of light relief. It sometimes comes as a shock on the CD when this track begins so comparatively abruptly after the slow ending of 'Private Investigations.

I don't think even Mark Knopfler fully knows what the title track is all about but is up to standard and is worthy of title track status. There are some beautiful and intriguing lyrics in this track but I won't repeat them here, you will have to buy it to find out, and that acoustic guitar\piano partnership appears again to good effect.

'It never rains' is a good finisher and couldn't be anywhere else on the album. It is strong enough to end on but couldn't appear any earlier. It only perhaps seems less impressive because of the sheer quality of the earlier tracks.

This album is far from commercial and perhaps this is part of its appeal. The songs are unquestionably presented on a grand scale, but the album avoids being pompous and self-indulgent. It seems far removed from the early albums 'Dire Straits', 'Communiqué' and the heavily Estreet band influenced 'Making Movies', and so far away, (see what I did there) from the obvious radio friendliness of Brother in Arms and later release On Every Street, which lacked focus and direction. Also at only 5 tracks Love Over Gold long is devoid of any fill-in tracks or excess and is perfect. It is one of the most complete albums I own and is one of my all time favourites. As I write this review the songs are going through my head, and I only hope my words have done justice to one of the finest albums ever released by any artist. I return to Love Over Gold from time to time and rediscover it all over again, and it is never anything less than a pleasure. Like I said earlier, if you only ever purchase one Dire Straits album, buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At their very, very best, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
Gordon Dent "dent" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
"Dire Straits" was a very good album. "Communiqué" was a good album". "Making Movies" was an excellent album. "Love Over Gold" was an outstandingly brilliant album.
From the opening bars of "Telegraph Road" we know this is something special. This is stronger, more subtle, richer and so much more confident than anything Mark Knopfler had done before. The Midwestern Odyssey that is "Telegraph Road" (named after an extraordinarily ugly freeway in Detroit) shows a lyrical strength that Knopfler had barely revealed before. One line towards the end of the song - "I've run every red light on Memory Lane" - is so profoundly and desperately poetic that it promotes Knopfler, within the 14-minute length of the song, from the second division to the premier league of songwriters. Add to this the fact that "Telegraph Road" encompasses so many moods in its music and you'll appreciate that this is a very, very special song.
The surprise number 1 hit single, "Private Investigations" is a uniquely Dire Straits piece. Without being exceptional in either musical or lyrical terms it has a strong enough mood to make it worthwhile. Unfortunately, it's followed by the very weak "Industrial Disease". Very few people can write funny songs successfully, and Mark Knopfler isn't one of them. There must be many ways in which the issues of alienation from industrialized society could be addressed and satire is definitely a strong contender. While it's obvious that the band felt the mood of the album needed some lightening, this song didn't really succeed in the attempt.
"Love Over Gold" is pleasant enough but doesn't add a great deal to the album. It does, however, fade into the highlight of the album, and, indeed, of Dire Straits' career: "It Never Rains". This song starts fairly blandly, with organ, guitar and drums joining in turn and introducing a standard Knofler lyric/vocal. Once we pass the first three verses, though, it REALLY takes off. Power and menace come into the playing, the lyrics become edgier and more threatening and the disintegration of the subject proceeds apace: "It's a sad reminder when your organ-grinder has to come to you for rent / And all you've got to give him is the use of your sideshow tent". The final verse is as strong as anything Knopfler has written and climaxes in the supremely nasty couplet: "And he'll take you down to Vaudeville Valley, with his hand up smothering your screams / And he'll screw you down in Tin Pan Alley, in the city of a billion dreams". An astounding guitar solo follows and gradually fades, leaving the listener breathless and shaken. This was truly Mark Knopfler's finest 9 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you ask for?, 14 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
The price of this CD would be justified simply because of the opening track. Telegraph Road is an absolutely wonderful, imaginative, inventive, restless, adventurous and unforgettable epic. One of Dire Straits' defining masterpieces, its lyrics match the music, recounting the story of the rise and fall of an industrial town. Yet, there is more great music on here, as you would expect from a Dire Straits CD. Private Investigations is one of the Straits' best known songs, with those classic keys at the end, Love Over Gold is a touching love song and It Never Rains is another one of those wonderfully understated songs by the band. Industrial Disease is the weakest track on here but retains the Dire Straits characteristic of being tuneful and in fact is quite a witty and incisive song. Just take it tongue in cheek and you'll be all right (like you did with Les Boys from Making Movies). This album unusually saw Dire Straits drawn into delivering some overtly political songs, with both Telegraph Road and Industrial Disease providing Mark Knopfler with opportunities to comment on the industrial malaise Britain had found itself in at the time this album was made in the early 'eighties. If you let this put you off, however, I feel sorry for you. You would be missing out on what I regard as being one of the best albums of the 'eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this golden classic!!!!!!!!!!, 23 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Only 5 tracks, but absolutely brilliant. You'd expect the 14 minute 'Telegraph Road' to get boring but it never does and is utterly listenable from beginning to end. 'Private Investigations' is even better and is full of creepy baroque piano accompaniments, a wonderful guitar melody and Mark Knopfler's low voice is at his most eerie and effective. 'Industrial Disease' is a more upbeat rock and roll tune, but nonetheless enjoyable. 'Love Over Gold' and 'It Never Rains' are also great. A perfect album, showing off both Mark Knopfler's great guitar playing and the new, more technical approach Dire Straits introduced and would become more prominent in later albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Pure Gold ...?, 18 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Like many Dire Straits fans I originally bought this album on vinyl soon after it's release .I was eager to purchase this remastered CD version when it became available. I have always considered this to be one of the band's finest albums.It is the band's last studio album where Knopfler uses the Stratocaster predominately .After this the live album 'Alchemy ' summarised the band's career up to this point and appropriately he used a Strat as his electric guitar of choice. After 'Alchemy ' came 'Brothers in Arms ' where the Gibson Les Paul changed the sound of Dire Straits .

OK, so what about the songs featured in 'Love Over Gold '? Well, there are five songs in total.'Telegraph Road' (14.15)kicks the album off in good style .This track owes something to the influence of Bruce Springsteen in terms of lyrical styling and subject matter and musically it is similar to 'Freebird' by Lynyrd Skynyrd and 'Green Grass and High Tides' by The Outlaws.Like these two aforementioned songs ,'Telegraph Road' is an electric guitar tour-de-force that begins gently and then proceeds building to a dramatic climax .The classic 'Private Investigations' is up next and this song is a definite contender for the greatest song that Dire Straits ever recorded .The superb nylon stringed acoustic playing contrasting with the electric guitars (clean and over-driven )is totally successful . These attributes are also combined with fine story telling lyrics and a clever brooding section reminiscent of the John Williams theme from 'Jaws' creating a sure -fire winner !The next track lets the album down in my opinion.'Industrial Disease' is probably my least favoured song from Mark Knopfler and I find it amazing that this song was lifted as a single for the North American market ! Things improve dramatically when we reach the fourth track ,'Love Over Gold' ! Here is a song is beauty ! I love Mark's playing on this song .Again he is using the nylon stringed acoustic to wonderful effect and the guitar's interaction with the piano / keyboard playing courtesy of Alan Clark is glorious .Towards the end of the song Clark's playing diverts (in a good way ) to sounding very like the intro to 'Wow ' by Kate Bush ; lovely stuff ! The final song is 'It Never Rains'.This song is in a similar vein to knopfler's 'Private Dancer' in terms of it's subject matter and also to later songs such as 'Your Latest Trick' and 'Fade To Black'.Knopfler plays excellent electric guitar with added Wah Wah for tonal interest whilst his vocals sound a lot like Bob Dylan in places.

I have given the album 4 out of a possible 5 stars due to my dislike of 'Industrial Disease ' and also because of the fact that I do not think that this remastered CD version sounds as warm and full as my vinyl copy ! The sound of the production here sounds just too 'glassy' and slightly cold and clinical .That said I still stand by the strong songs that make this CD worth listening to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime and shouldn't be overshadowed by Brothers In Arms, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
TheProf (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
For me, this album is essential for any Dire Straits fan, or for any fan of good guitar playing. For that matter, I think it should have a place in the CD collection of any discerning rock music fan. Many DS fans rightly consider it the band's finest album. The star attraction here is Telegraph Road, a 14 minute masterpiece with emotive lyrics and fantastic playing that still sounds as epic and emotional today as it did back when it was released. The album is worth the price for that sublime cut alone. Private Investigations and Love Over Gold are powerful tracks, masterfully played. I can't quite give it 5 stars as I just can't, no matter how hard I try, get into "Industrial Disease", even though I symapthise with the theme of the lyrics - it just seems, to me, totally over-shadowed by the other compositions, which seem far better. Listening to this CD still gets the hairs on the back of my neck and still makes me jealous of Mr Knopfler's talent as a finger-style guitar player. I used to use this as a test vinyl for hi-fi equipment because the original vinyl was such a wonderful quality recording. This CD doesn't disappoint the sonic stakes either - if they have re-mastered it (some dispute this) they seem to have done it with some thought, rather than just brickwalled it to make it sound as loud as possible - the dynamics still seem present in the recording, so well done Vertigo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love over Gold, or art over pop-appeal?, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Containing just five numbers, Dire Straits' fourth album release from September 1982 remains one of their most highly regarded and enduring. The compositions are often complex, the playing exemplary and the overall mood more `serious' than on their other work to date. David Fricke of Rolling Stone magazine wrote of LOG:

"Love Over Gold is not just the title of Dire Straits' fourth album, it is a statement of purpose. In almost suicidal defiance of commercial good sense, singer-songwriter-guitarist Mark Knopfler has chosen to follow his muse, fashioning a collection of radically expanded epics and evocative tone poems that demand the listener's undivided attention..."

Lyrically we are in Dylan-esque story-telling territory here, with a streak of irony and semi-detachment from the material. The >14 minute opener `Telegraph Road' tells the story of how small-town America and, by extension, the nation was built:

"Then came the churches then came the schools
Then came the lawyers then came the rules
Then came the trains and the trucks with their loads
And the dirty old track was the telegraph road..."

The souring of the American dream as economic and industrial decline sets in is poetically described, while the human spirit remains strong.

`Private investigations' is another perennial favourite with fans, a downbeat but powerful slow number full of menace and dark humour as a PI recounts a professional life spent looking through people's dirty little secrets.

Not as commercially successful as its record-breaking follow-up `Brothers in Arms', LOG is nevertheless overall a more satisfying experience for the listener and a strong contender for DS' career-best album release. The oddly memorable title was reportedly taken from some graffiti found sprayed on a wall near Knopfler's apartment in London: "Give me love over gold any day".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straits' Zenith, 6 Sept. 2003
By 
DiBosco "RJW" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Lest it be forgot, Mark Knopfler was one of the finest writers of his generation. Leaping to public attention with Sultans of Swing, dipping through Communique, starting the upward journey with the excellent Making Movies, he hit heights that few could aspire to, let alone achieve with this masterpiece.
How does one judge the personal importance of an album? It may be whether it sends shivers down your spine; whether it evokes a time on your life; whether it picks you up from a dark time or a bad mood; it may be for the number of times you can listen to it and make you feel sated. For me, this is the mark of a fine album. No other album comes remotely close for me in the latter category.
If you don't know Dire Straits, you've probably lived on the moon, for their music can still be heard on the airwaves and cover bands the world over play the music. However, as Private Investigtions is the only single from this album, there may be people who know of Dire Straits, but don't know these songs.
The first listening of this album will live with me forever: sat in a teenage bedroom, resting the needle on the groove, turning the quiet beginning of Telegraph Road right up and sitting back to be beguiled. By the end of the track, my blood was pumping, shivers sent down my spine and finding that for a long time I'd forgotten to breathe.
Telegraph Road is not just a song, but an experience. A rolling epic of a song that highlights Knopflers superlative guitar playing. It's fourteen minutes of evocative lyrics, melody and guitar that starts with a wimper and ends with an almighty bang of a guitar solo.
This is the album that made Dire Straits. This was the album that brought them to public attention and caused the disappointing Brothers in Arms to be such a huge seller. This is the album that every student in the world owned.
Twenty years on, the album still sounds superbly produced and the songs still fresh. The album was used in hi-fi shops as a test of the quality of the system by playing Private Investigations and picking out all the effects that were supposedly brought to life by CD. Strangley this album was pre CD and its beautiful rich warmth can be brought out by playing it on vinyl. To many though, this wil be the first album that brought out the alleged beauty of digital audio. To me it's probably the finest album that was ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar compositions., 29 Aug. 2003
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Rmst) (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler obviously loves to write passacaglias - pieces of music that start with a very basic theme, played by only one or very few instruments and, often over repeated crescendos and slow-downs, increasing in volume and instrumentation to a rousing finale, performed by either all instruments or the instrumental lead "voice;" in Knopfler's case of course his trademark Fender Strat. "Brothers in Arms" has elements of a passacaglia, and so does "Speedway to Nazareth" on his 2000 solo release, "Sailing to Philadelphia." His greatest achievement though, not only in this regard, has to be "Telegraph Road," the opening track of "Love Over Gold." In a little over 14 minutes, the song rises from a simple opening melody, evoking the loneliness of that man walking along a deserted track at the beginning of the song's story, to a final guitar solo which is among the most ambitious and evocative pieces of music written by anyone in recent decades, anywhere and in any musical category. In between, there are no less than two other guitar solos, each of them over a minute long; dramatic centerpieces in their own right in any song but this one. And like the song's instrumentation, its lyrics trace the story of civilization from that one man walking along a track to a modern city, with six lines of traffic (three lines moving slow), unemployment, desolation and anger; so apparent in Knopfler's coarse vocals in the final verse and echoed with even greater force in the instrumental finale.
"Telegraph Road" is followed by the sinister "Private Investigations," reminiscent of Alan Parsons's interpretation of the Poe classic "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" (listen to that steady beat underneath the instrumental part and tell me you don't hear the "Tell Tale Heart"), and as daring and elaborate in its composition as "Telegraph Road." Both pieces are made possible by the advent of Alan Clark and his skills as a pianist; and yet, here as there it is Knopfler's guitar play that takes front and center stage. Next is the wicked "Industrial Disease," followed by the album's title track, and last, "It Never Rains," Knopfler's bow to Bob Dylan, rendered in an interpretation so true to life that you inadvertently feel yourself transported back by a decade or more and expect him switch into "The Times They Are A-Changin'" any second. One may wonder why the record, given its mostly gloomy and cynical mood, was not named for one of the two equally stunning and dark first tracks. Perhaps, however, the answer lies in the title song's last verse: "It takes love over gold and mind over matter to do what you do that you must, when the things that you hold can fall and be shattered or run through your fingers like dust."
The album's cover rightly (although somewhat unnecessarily) describes "Love Over Gold" as "one of Dire Straits' most ambitiously conceived projects to date" and points out that it "reflects almost a year's worth of meticulous attention." Short of his film music (which he was not to start writing until a year later, with "Local Hero"), this album was the closest yet that Knopfler has come to classical composition; not just in the record's first two masterpieces but right down to little details like the xylophone air underneath the title track. It was a hard act to follow, even for a Mark Knopfler; and his virtually only choice was to take his music into other, and more diverse directions ("Brothers in Arms"). Listening to the remastered CD version of "Love Over Gold," you almost forget that unlike its mega-selling successor this recording was not "made for CD;" which in itself speaks volumes to the quality of the sound engineering and production and, more importantly, to the indeed "meticulous attention" given to every single instrumental and human voice of every single track on the album. In all of its 41+ minutes, and although it does not reflect as wide a range of musical styles as Knopfler’s later work, "Love Over Gold" is one of the most complex pieces of recording he ever produced. It may have taken the release of "Brothers in Arms" to propel Dire Straits to worldwide fame forever. But it is impossible to listen to "Love Over Gold" and not recognize the unique talent of a man who, having found an initial foothold in the musical scene through the success of his band's first three albums, here made it clear once and for all just how much more the world had yet to expect from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of mood, stridence and plain good rock, 8 Feb. 2014
By 
Peter Sandlee (Hertford, Herts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
For me, this is Dire Straits at their towering best. There are just five songs but every one earns its place. Opener 'Telegraph Road' is mournful, reflective and thought-provoking before swelling into one of Knopfler's most fabulous guitar solos. 'Private Investigations' defines Knopfler mood-writing and features probably his most beautiful and acoustic guitar playing in certainly the highest quality recording of theirs. 'Industrial Disease' gives you the fun of plain good rock'n'roll coupled sharp and comical lyrics, the dual guitars licks in stereo making it one to whack up loud. 'Love Over Gold' is a nice slow-down before the more biting 'It Never Rains' with another excellent mood solo. Every member of the band sounds at the top of their game and the writing would probably never be as...Straits-ish...as this again. I wish the band had evolved further in this direction but, then again, less is very often more. Treat yourself and soak it up for an hour, you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Over Gold (Remastered)
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews