Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's best
Pete Townshend wanted to record a album of the Who in concert but after a european tour which was extensively recorded, he scrapped all the tapes and decided to record two shows, one in Hull, the other in Leeds. The sound quality of the Hull tapes left a lot to be desired so it was "Leeds" that provided the content for the live album which has since become legendary...
Published on 8 Mar 2004 by Graham Brown

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remixed and expanded, but is it improved?
PLEASE NOTE: This review is for the "25th Anniversary Issue" CD (14 tracks, Polydor 527 1692), but for some reason Amazon has now also included it amongst the reviews for the Deluxe edition. For that reason you will find my thoughts about the Deluxe edition tagged to the end of this review.

This 25th Anniversary version of Live At Leeds is remixed and...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by XBBX


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's best, 8 Mar 2004
Pete Townshend wanted to record a album of the Who in concert but after a european tour which was extensively recorded, he scrapped all the tapes and decided to record two shows, one in Hull, the other in Leeds. The sound quality of the Hull tapes left a lot to be desired so it was "Leeds" that provided the content for the live album which has since become legendary amongst rock fans and Who afficionados alike.
The album catches the band at the peak of their power, four superb musicians who almost had a "psychic" link with one-another when on stage. Now the album has been re-released in it's entirety, you can hear the full show for the first time.
Classics such as My Generation, Magic Bus, I Can't Explain and Tattoo are delivered "with maximum R & B "as the old Who concert posters used to say with thunderous bass lines from John Entwistle, huge metallic chords from Pete Townshend and as ever, the whole thing propelled along by Keith Moon, playing every drum at once accompanied with a cymbal wash that would split eardrums.
They also tackle some old standards wonderfully well, giving the turbo charged treatment to Mose Allison's "Young Man Blues"and Cochran's "Shakin' All Over", both of which have really become their songs. With all of Tommy for the first time on the second CD, this really gives a balanced view of the Who in concert. I saw them live at Earls Court in the early seventies and have to say it was the best ever. This album catches that raw power coupled with virtuoso musical ability. Even if you aren't particularly a Who fan, this album was then and still is now the blueprint for how every live rock album should sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's Better? No One!!, 17 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Recorded at a time when The Who had just trawled "Tommy" around the US for a year, "Live at Leeds" was a homecoming, an enjoyable one judging by the passion, humour and downright showmanship displayed by the band that Valentine's night in 1970.
After dumping 80 hours of live US concert material (by bonfire) from the previous year, the Pye Mobile studio was duly booked to record The Who at their peak in Leeds and Hull University with a view to releasing a live album as a filler between "Tommy" and Townshend's next project "Lifehouse" (which was eventually partly scrapped to become "Who's Next"); only Leeds was used for the live album though as the title suggests. The original 30-odd minute LP release deliberately overlooked the "Tommy" segment of the performance to show there was more to the band; "There's people out there who think there's a band called Tommy who have an album called The Who" bemoaned Townshend.
The 25th Anniversary release of Live at Leeds gave us a taster of what else went on that night with two excerpts from the rock opera (although a bootleg version has been around for some time) and we had to wait for this 30th Anniversary edition to hear the rest. Alright, purists may argue that putting the Tommy segment onto it's own CD denies the listener the chance to hear the correct running order of the concert, but it really is a fabulous audio experience and you better make sure that not only your family, but your entire street is outa the way before playing this at full tilt!
From the opening Entwistle thrasher "Heaven and Hell" to the closing bar of "See Me, Fell Me" you can't help wishing that you were there, and you're as exhausted as the band when it's all over.
Comes complete with booklet detailing the background to the concert as well as an excellent narrative of each track from Richard Evans.
Buy and enjoy the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who at their very best, 4 Dec 2000
This review is from: Live At Leeds (Audio CD)
If you want to know why the Who hated the studio so much, listen to this. It shows what they really did almost every day of the year from 1970-71 before Who's Next. The bass and drums are truely stunning while Roger's vocals go far above anything he did before. This (and Who's Next) is the definitive Who LP. If you want to know what was really going down during the late 60's, this is where it's at. Play it VERY LOUD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A COMPLETE WHO CONCERT ON CD - WADDYA WAITING FOR!!!, 9 Oct 2001
OK no messing about , if you have got this far you are at least interested...well don't delay like I did, BUY IT NOW and do yourself a huge favour!
Why...well you obviously like the Who or you wouldn't be here, but whether you like, love or are obsessed with the Who your cd collection NEEDS this record.
I had the original vinyl Live at Leeds [LAL] and progressed to the extra tracks cd reissue with Fortune Teller, Heaven and Hell etc. This was a major leap forward in the enjoyment stakes cos it was longer, better recorded and had lots of lovely pics and liner notes/booklety thing to read.
Oh, although it goes with out saying I had better say it anyway, that the actual performance is as close as you can get to the 'OO live in their dynamic earbusting pomp and prime without actually watching them. Crashing power chords, thrashing crashing cacophany of artillery..sorry I mean drums and a bass sound that doubles as another rhythm guitar such is its power and invention. The playing continuously sends goose bumps down your neck with its dynamic tension [sic.]
And I havn't even mentioned Daltry yet which is where this double package adds the cream to an already mouth watering cake.
The complete Tommy performed live...except on bootlegs, this is the first chance to hear what cemented the Who's rep. as the premier live band in the World, [well depending on whether Zep or the Stones were touring at the time.]
Its great to hear the classic album [which lets be honest can be a bit incomprehensable and limp in its studio guise ] performed live, without frills and with the maximum of emotion and feel. Listening to it you DO actually feel you are part of the crowd experiencing part of rocks historical holy canon!
And if that ain't enough for 2 discs of incendiary rock history, the packaging is excellent.
A double fold over card board cover, actually stamped/indented with the title, its own plastic slip case and of course the usual excellent sleeve notes and booklet.
Even if you are only a peripheral Who fan or if you have never heard the Who before[where'vya been??] but love genuine rock you owe it to yourself to get this - [Tommy] CAN YOU HEAR ME?!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's better than before, 8 Mar 2002
By 
I borrowed an old vinyl copy of this album some time ago; I felt that whilst it represented the best live Who I had heard from a band performance aspect, the paltry 6 track/38 minute running order left a bit to be desired, especially when 3 of the titles were old rock'n'roll covers (not a genre I'm particularly in to). This release has answered the criticisms and then some, with the addition of some cracking renditions of other original and cover material, the mini-opera "A Quick One..." and of course a complete "Tommy", all with upgraded sound (well done John Astley). Two things struck me about the performances here; firstly how I had previously undervalued John Entwhistle's bass playing, and how, at the end of the gig, Keith Moon could still be drumming in such a ferocious style after nigh-on 2 hours of playing. The tightness of the whole band is fantastic throughout (save for Roger's voice sounding a little bit worn-out in the closing stages) and the extra flair compared to the studio cuts adds enormously in all instances. I would urge anyone who enjoys rock music to buy this CD and play it loud. ESSENTIAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest live album; greatest band ever, 28 Mar 2007
This review is from: Live At Leeds (Audio CD)
There has never been anything to compare to the original 4-piece Who from 1968 to 1978, particularly live on stage. This is the greatest live album of all time, bar none.

They absolutely wipe the floor with The Stones and Led Zeppelin and any of the "legendary" bands which have appeared since, such as Queen, Police, U2. The only act which could rival them for live presence, power and musicianship was Hendrix.

This sheer power and energy, coupled with superlative instrumental and vocal ability (from all four members) and superb songs is, in a nutshell, what sets The Who apart. Add in incredible charisma and a dose of humour (so sadly lacking in today's music scene) and you have all the ingredients needed to make the greatest rock band of all time.

To the previous reviewer who said Pete Townshend's solos were a series of "bum notes", he must be listening to a different guitarist. I have played guitar for 30 years and, take it from me, the guy is incredible. Of course, he's very different to Hendrix and Clapton, who are both technically better players, and a host of heavy metal idiots who play millions of unnecessary notes to distract from their useless songs.

If you haven't heard Live At Leeds, you haven't yet heard what live rock is/was capable of. Thank God the tapes were rolling on that night in 1970. GO AND BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate live record of the biggest band in the world!, 5 Dec 2001
By 
If you ever wondered why people speak of the Who in the same tone of voice as the Beatles or the Stones then here's why. The original Live At Leeds was a seminal live album, to many the best live rock album of all time. On its own that version deserved 5 stars and my old vinyl copy is still a prized possession. But this new extended version with the entire Tommy opera live is without doubt an even more magnificent effort. Why did it take so long to release this? Well, it's here now. Do not miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the finest live recording ever officially released!, 12 July 2001
By A Customer
From the opening roar of "Heaven and Hell" through to the final strum of guitar chords "Live At Leeds" displays The Who at their live peak. Recorded as a stop gap measure between their meisterwork "Tommy" and the equally majestic "Who's Next", it draws from their career to date equally mixing their hits, "Subsitute", "Can't Explain" with extended versions of album tracks, "See Me, Feel Me", "A Quick One". Throughout the tightness of the musicians as a band is clearly displayed while not inhibiting them from personal displays of musical agility that few have ever matched. Townshend rips at the guitar, strokes the guitar, flays at it while all the time leading the other down paths only they're capable of exploring. Entwhistle holds everything down with a bass that throbs constantly like the engine of Centurion tank ticking over. Moon smashes and crashes his way around his kit, seeming at times to stretch out where to none of them will ever reach him but then, remarkably he brings it all back to order as Daltry wails the songs. On display with this cd are a group prepared to explore and experiment but they do it not with sour faces but in a light hearted manner that conceals their abilities, musical agilities and sheer talent! The remastered version of "Live At Leeds" finally makes available a virtually complete performance from the greatest rock n' roll group of that time while they straddled the world and others just had to watch and wish they were that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Feb 2007
By 
M. Chavez (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a long time owner of the original 6 track album (with all that nice packaging) I stumbled across this double CD of the full concert by accident. I have to say that I have been totally blown away by this set, the energy and quality of the music is just incredible. The Who the best live band ever? I probably wouldn't have said so before hearing this but now I'd have to say that they must have taken some beating back in the 70s, and this is by far the best live rock album I've heard. I saw them last year and they are still brilliant, and unlike many of their peers I didn't sense any easing back and polishing off of any of the sharp corners.

On this album Moon and Entwistle are just relentless in their driving of the rhythm, and Townsend effortlessly flits between powerhouse and playing with tenderness, and both his and Daltrey's voices are at the top of their game. Tommy (in its entirety) is great, and a wonderful achievement. Definitely one of the best tenners I have spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lives up to the hype and then some!, 9 July 2009
By 
T. Bucknall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Leeds (Audio CD)
avoid the over-processed butchered 2001 "deluxe" reissue and go for this.

the tommy tracks on the 2001 edition are unlistenable anyway (out of phase and smothered in noise reduction) so you won't be missing anything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews