Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wonderstuff!
Many years ago I had `Hup`on vinyl. I had always liked the wonder stuff but never got anything on disc. Now I have - and this is a great collection. Favourites like `Size of a cow` and Don't let me down` plus cheesy greats like Dizzy (which I always loved!). A really good CD for capturing the best of Miles Hunt and the gang.
Published 13 months ago by Nerf fan 0101

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music for intelligent people and idiots
Slade live in the Brit Pop of the Wonder Stuff-they even do a cover of Coz I Love You.
With 4 albums plus this one which is just called The Singles with a subtitle of If Only The Beatles Had Read Hunter with a booklet of faz'n'info.
Yes I get the title. The first Beatles biog was written by one Hunter Davis and the voice of the Wonderstuff was Miles HUNT.Very...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wonderstuff!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many years ago I had `Hup`on vinyl. I had always liked the wonder stuff but never got anything on disc. Now I have - and this is a great collection. Favourites like `Size of a cow` and Don't let me down` plus cheesy greats like Dizzy (which I always loved!). A really good CD for capturing the best of Miles Hunt and the gang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Head is Spinning, 5 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Antonio Cavaldoro (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They're one of these bands that when you listen to this type of compilation you're first amazed by the number of tracks you like that they were responsible for and secondly by how ecclectic their catalogue is. This has all my favourites on it - Unbearable, Don't Let Me Down and at least a dozen other worthy efforts. If you're looking for an intro to the Wonderstuff or just looking to update your old tapes/records, then you couldn't do any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the best of the Wonder Stuff, 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This cd will take you on a whirlwind ride through the wonder stuff back catalogue. It contains all the best known hits, (Dizzy, Size of a cow, Welcome to the cheap seats), as well as some of their less well known, but in my opinion far superior tracks, most notiably being 'circlesquare'. It could have been improved by adding a few other of their amazing tracks, but you really get value for money with the 19 tracks that are on it. If you're a beginner to the stuffies then this is the album for you. If you know you like what they did, go the whole hog and buy all four remastered albums, they're deffinately worth the splurge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The glory days of the wonder stuff, 18 April 2008
The wonder stuff were/are an excellent band, this collection shows they can be a little eclectic but certain elements carry through all the bands songs. There are no straight forward love songs from miles hunts pov, the only examples of such here are covers, Dizzy and cuz I love you. Both fine tracks but the don't show what the wonder stuff are all about. The band fuse rock, pop and folk into one sound and do it well, it may not work half so well without Miles Hunts sneering lyrics. A great starting point for those unfamiliar with the Stuffies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music for intelligent people and idiots, 21 Aug 2011
Slade live in the Brit Pop of the Wonder Stuff-they even do a cover of Coz I Love You.
With 4 albums plus this one which is just called The Singles with a subtitle of If Only The Beatles Had Read Hunter with a booklet of faz'n'info.
Yes I get the title. The first Beatles biog was written by one Hunter Davis and the voice of the Wonderstuff was Miles HUNT.Very subtle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never Loved The WonderStuff, 13 Oct 2010
The wretched WonderStuff were always a backward looking poor second to the day-glo comic book sampladelica of Pop Will Eat Itself. Mile Hunt's lyrics were a mean spirited mewling whine and their career was littered with hypocrisy. Their early b-sides such as Astley In The Noose lampooned Rick Astley for singing oldies (not a bad thing in itself) and then the WonderStuff covered 'oldie' Dizzy with Vic Reeves, giving them a big hit for student discos, but proving what hypocrites they were. Further examples of this were their pathetic single Who Wants To Be The Disco King where they slagged off the (then) current rave scene. However by the time of Circlesquare they were getting 'remixes' as the whole Madchester scene was in full swing (watch the Circlesquare video to see Miles 'hilarious' sarcastic 'baggy' dancing - naaaaaht) and by Full Of Life (Happy Now) they were getting Rollo from Faithless in to do 'dance mixes' - so Who Wants To Be The Disco King? The WonderStuff do if there's cash in it for them. Idiots. Avoid them!! A truly vile band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabacf624)

This product

Only search this product's reviews