Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars170
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2004
I had completely forgotten how good this album was until I bought the remastered version on CD from Amazon. It was probably the last great album the Who did, and they really put a whole lot into this!
There are no bonus tracks like other albums have, which is a bit of a disappointment, and maybe it could have been made into a single CD as 'Tommy' was. However, these are minor quibbles and don't at all distract from the fact that this is one of their best.
It's probably the only Who album that consists entirely of Pete Townsend songs, and unusually there is a Keith Moon vocal on 'Bell Boy'. Keith was notoriously bad at pitching, and was the only band member to be excluded from vocals most of the time. His performance as The Face's bell boy alter ego is perfect though.
Pete Townsend uses repeating musical themes in the same way that he did in Tommy, but this time there is more subtlety, and his composing skills have come a long way from then. There are some great songs, including the single '5:15', and other well-known numbers like 'The Real Me' and 'Love Reign O'er Me'.
From 'A Quick One' through to this album, the Who produced their best material. After this it was downhill, but they really did excel themselves with this album!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on 29 December 2003
Its a journey through pain, angst, love, confusion, realisation, it's all those emotions and more is the most powerful album of all time, and it doesnt date almost 40 years after it was originally written.
If i had one wish....i would wish for every boy/girl band to be strapped to chairs in a large room and have this CD on repeat play at 20000 watts until the penny dropped with each and every one of them that what they do might bring in the bucks, but its all meaningless drivel.
Having this on a minidisc player whilst cruising to the coast in the summer on board a shiny vespa makes everything fall into place.
I absolutely adore each and every track, and each time i listen to this recording, i fall in love with them all again.
It's simply the best thing ever recorded. nuff said.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2014
A stunning hi res reissue of my second favorite record, ever. Nice to hear the 1973 and the remastered versions both available; you can now hear the barking seals in "The Dirty Jobs", which I missed. I won't go into the merits of the record, because that would take pages. It's amazing. It's a genuine classic.

The bluray finishes what The Who started when the Director's disc set was issued with only a handful of songs in 5.1. The surround is going to be subjective, but I can't think of a record more suited to a good 5.1 mix, what with the ocean and overall theme of 4 personalities.

This is pretty much indispensable for even a casual fan of the record. For those like me who hold it dear, it's a long overdue treasure
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 1 February 2001
Well, my hair (what's left of it) isn't cut neat and my war-time coat hasn't seen the wind and sleet in many a year but I still can't put this album down. This 'rock opera' follows on from Tommy in the way of telling a story. It leaves Tommy well-behind in the overall scheme of things though. Whereas Tommy was an acid trip, Quadrophenia is 'real'. In the lyrics you can taste the egg and chips in the dodgy sea-side cafe, feel the pain of the guy desperately trying to fit in and his hopelessness of the situation. Well, that's the idea anyway. What you REALLY get are masterful performances from one of the most underrated bands in the world. Soaring guitars, a bass to die for, vocals that range with the best ever and sublime drumming; forget Moon-the-Loon, this is rock drumming at its finest, timing and delicacy meshed in with the power required to push this whole project along. What the hell is 'quadrophenia' anyway....who cares!. This album is a wonderful insight into truly GREAT British rock music. Forget the play on 4 'themes.....listen instead to the power of the music. Oh, and don't forget to taste the egg and chips!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 26 June 2003
To say I am biased about this album is somewhat of an understatement - no other musical recording, for me, carries the depth of emotion that this masterpiece conveys. Other great recordings can be described as emotional roller-coasters - not Quadrophenia. This album doesn't throw you blindly from one emotion to the next - every feeling invoked is meticulously planned and even though you sometimes feel it coming a long way off you still reel with wonder when it gets to you. Jollity, pride, Confusion, Anger, derision, depression, a great emptiness then enlightenment and fulfilment. A journey I never tire of. Quadrophenia is in essence a melancholy work but is not limited solely to the realms of sadness and reminiscence. This album proves that you don't have to be an acne ridden teen to feel angst in every cell of your body - Townshend was in his early thirties when he completed this work. It really was a labour of love for him - with embryonic snippets of the themes being played out on several WHO albums in the mid-late sixties before finally coalescing into the familiar work I glorify here. Listen to the lyrics of 'Helpless Dancer' and then try to convince yourself that the 21st century is different from the time 30 years ago when it was written. Technology only makes a better life for the man who invents and markets it. Only after listening to this album can you get caught out in a traditional miserable English downpour and get the thrill of your life out of it - those who already own this album know what I mean. I challenge anybody to listen to 'Love Reign o'er me' and not be at once uplifted to emotional ecstacy and cast down to despair.
When viewed analytically, the music is composed of pure rock, some blues and even some folk themes - harldy the Rhythm'n'Soul of the beat generation but it is still the best Mod Overture ever Composed, and I say composed without reservation - in years to come this work will be revered alongside Liszt, Tchaikovsky, Holst and others. All that remains to be said is - if you don't already have this album BUY IT or be a rocker.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 2 September 2014
Very good natural sound to this disc with no compression to the sound this slowly grows on you a lot more rock than tommy and more refined production with little or no hiss as (Dolby A) was used by this time in the big recording studio's. The sound is very god in surround sound with excellent effects from front to back and all on just one disc in HD Stereo and HD 5.1 Audio. Unlike other pure audio discs this has black and white photos from the 1973 Album that go through as a slide show as the music is playing I did find this irritating to start with but I have got used to it now. Excellent value get it if you like the WHO and rock
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2002
This 1973 album ranks high in quality alongside their best, perhaps more well known, albums such as "Tommy" and "Who's Next." It is a concept album about a young 1960's mod coming to terms with his life, showing how he comes to see himself realistically, in contrast to his peer group and his family. The music is a mixture of 1970's vintage rock guitar driven songs seamlessly interwoven with melodic music. "Sea and Sand" is a good example of this type of musical arrangement, where the song is soft and melodic one moment and rocking the next. That song never got played on the radio much, but it sounds great and the lyrics are evocative of one's self-realization. It is generally an underrated song that should have been released as a single because it would sound great on the radio. Quadrophenia holds up well over 2 discs as it shows Jimmy realizing his own individuality as a person, as opposed to his role as either a peer of his friends or as a member of his family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 9 March 2007
I had the original vinyl pressing of this work of art, and unless my music system is playing tricks on me, I have to question where some of the instruments have gone? Most noticed is the lack of the piano on the track "I'm One" - this is just for starters, The whole CD album just sounds so different (not better) to the vinyl version. This is the reason I've given it four stars when I should be giving it five. This is no fault of the artistes it's some meddler thinking he/she can change things for the better. Something like that new Beatles compilation with George Martin & Son. With Quadrophenia I expected the original sound but cleaner without the static and scratches of vinyl, but sounds are definitely missing. Anyone else care to comment?
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2000
The Who's finest and the soundtrack to growing up. This album has been part of my life for the past 20 years at least.Forget Mods and Rockers - this exceptionally creative album is much more complex than that.The opener 'The real me' sets the scene for the album followed by the Quadrophenia instrumental - listen to Keiths drums.The best known tracks on here don't disappoint - 5.15 is particularly good although the remaster seems to have lost the whistle from the beginning as the train pulls out of Waterloo (sorry that is an anorak comment). This is an all time favourite - if you love the Who you probably already own a dogeared vinyl copy that you have played to bits over the years,if you're new to the Who then this will make a super addition to your CD collection. Check out that GS Scooter on the front cover!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2008
Words cannot begin to describe how much this album means to me.

I came into this world shortly after Quadrophenia; it is decidedly not of my era. Yet it's relevance to me, and significance to my way of life (as it was) is eerily apt.

Some people will buy this album, and wonder why the hell they didn't attach themselves to it sooner. Other people (people you ought not to spend a great deal of time with) will wonder what the hell it's all about.

Quadrophenia is a piece of music, a collection of movements tied together by themes, the most significant of which is water. Early synth sounds resound against punctuated drumming, haunting vocals, and soaring guitar work. All along, it does what it's meant to do; the instruments and the tracks work together to convey aspects of a bigger personality; conflict, harmony, and resolve, and it feeds you them in powerful symbolic waves. This album must be enjoyed frequently, loudly, and at the best quality you can afford (good headphones will do the job).

Please, please, enjoy this album. And if you don't - just don't tell me about it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.