Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars185
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2014
A stunning hi res reissue of my second favorite record, ever. Nice to hear the 1973 and the remastered versions both available; you can now hear the barking seals in "The Dirty Jobs", which I missed. I won't go into the merits of the record, because that would take pages. It's amazing. It's a genuine classic.

The bluray finishes what The Who started when the Director's disc set was issued with only a handful of songs in 5.1. The surround is going to be subjective, but I can't think of a record more suited to a good 5.1 mix, what with the ocean and overall theme of 4 personalities.

This is pretty much indispensable for even a casual fan of the record. For those like me who hold it dear, it's a long overdue treasure
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
I had completely forgotten how good this album was until I bought the remastered version on CD from Amazon. It was probably the last great album the Who did, and they really put a whole lot into this!
There are no bonus tracks like other albums have, which is a bit of a disappointment, and maybe it could have been made into a single CD as 'Tommy' was. However, these are minor quibbles and don't at all distract from the fact that this is one of their best.
It's probably the only Who album that consists entirely of Pete Townsend songs, and unusually there is a Keith Moon vocal on 'Bell Boy'. Keith was notoriously bad at pitching, and was the only band member to be excluded from vocals most of the time. His performance as The Face's bell boy alter ego is perfect though.
Pete Townsend uses repeating musical themes in the same way that he did in Tommy, but this time there is more subtlety, and his composing skills have come a long way from then. There are some great songs, including the single '5:15', and other well-known numbers like 'The Real Me' and 'Love Reign O'er Me'.
From 'A Quick One' through to this album, the Who produced their best material. After this it was downhill, but they really did excel themselves with this album!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2003
Its a journey through pain, angst, love, confusion, realisation, it's all those emotions and more still....it is the most powerful album of all time, and it doesnt date almost 40 years after it was originally written.
If i had one wish....i would wish for every boy/girl band to be strapped to chairs in a large room and have this CD on repeat play at 20000 watts until the penny dropped with each and every one of them that what they do might bring in the bucks, but its all meaningless drivel.
Having this on a minidisc player whilst cruising to the coast in the summer on board a shiny vespa makes everything fall into place.
I absolutely adore each and every track, and each time i listen to this recording, i fall in love with them all again.
It's simply the best thing ever recorded. nuff said.
11 comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2001
Well, my hair (what's left of it) isn't cut neat and my war-time coat hasn't seen the wind and sleet in many a year but I still can't put this album down. This 'rock opera' follows on from Tommy in the way of telling a story. It leaves Tommy well-behind in the overall scheme of things though. Whereas Tommy was an acid trip, Quadrophenia is 'real'. In the lyrics you can taste the egg and chips in the dodgy sea-side cafe, feel the pain of the guy desperately trying to fit in and his hopelessness of the situation. Well, that's the idea anyway. What you REALLY get are masterful performances from one of the most underrated bands in the world. Soaring guitars, a bass to die for, vocals that range with the best ever and sublime drumming; forget Moon-the-Loon, this is rock drumming at its finest, timing and delicacy meshed in with the power required to push this whole project along. What the hell is 'quadrophenia' anyway....who cares!. This album is a wonderful insight into truly GREAT British rock music. Forget the play on 4 'themes.....listen instead to the power of the music. Oh, and don't forget to taste the egg and chips!
33 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Very good natural sound to this disc with no compression to the sound this slowly grows on you a lot more rock than tommy and more refined production with little or no hiss as (Dolby A) was used by this time in the big recording studio's. The sound is very god in surround sound with excellent effects from front to back and all on just one disc in HD Stereo and HD 5.1 Audio. Unlike other pure audio discs this has black and white photos from the 1973 Album that go through as a slide show as the music is playing I did find this irritating to start with but I have got used to it now. Excellent value get it if you like the WHO and rock
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2002
This 1973 album ranks high in quality alongside their best, perhaps more well known, albums such as "Tommy" and "Who's Next." It is a concept album about a young 1960's mod coming to terms with his life, showing how he comes to see himself realistically, in contrast to his peer group and his family. The music is a mixture of 1970's vintage rock guitar driven songs seamlessly interwoven with melodic music. "Sea and Sand" is a good example of this type of musical arrangement, where the song is soft and melodic one moment and rocking the next. That song never got played on the radio much, but it sounds great and the lyrics are evocative of one's self-realization. It is generally an underrated song that should have been released as a single because it would sound great on the radio. Quadrophenia holds up well over 2 discs as it shows Jimmy realizing his own individuality as a person, as opposed to his role as either a peer of his friends or as a member of his family.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2007
I had the original vinyl pressing of this work of art, and unless my music system is playing tricks on me, I have to question where some of the instruments have gone? Most noticed is the lack of the piano on the track "I'm One" - this is just for starters, The whole CD album just sounds so different (not better) to the vinyl version. This is the reason I've given it four stars when I should be giving it five. This is no fault of the artistes it's some meddler thinking he/she can change things for the better. Something like that new Beatles compilation with George Martin & Son. With Quadrophenia I expected the original sound but cleaner without the static and scratches of vinyl, but sounds are definitely missing. Anyone else care to comment?
55 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2000
The Who's finest and the soundtrack to growing up. This album has been part of my life for the past 20 years at least.Forget Mods and Rockers - this exceptionally creative album is much more complex than that.The opener 'The real me' sets the scene for the album followed by the Quadrophenia instrumental - listen to Keiths drums.The best known tracks on here don't disappoint - 5.15 is particularly good although the remaster seems to have lost the whistle from the beginning as the train pulls out of Waterloo (sorry that is an anorak comment). This is an all time favourite - if you love the Who you probably already own a dogeared vinyl copy that you have played to bits over the years,if you're new to the Who then this will make a super addition to your CD collection. Check out that GS Scooter on the front cover!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2008
Words cannot begin to describe how much this album means to me.

I came into this world shortly after Quadrophenia; it is decidedly not of my era. Yet it's relevance to me, and significance to my way of life (as it was) is eerily apt.

Some people will buy this album, and wonder why the hell they didn't attach themselves to it sooner. Other people (people you ought not to spend a great deal of time with) will wonder what the hell it's all about.

Quadrophenia is a piece of music, a collection of movements tied together by themes, the most significant of which is water. Early synth sounds resound against punctuated drumming, haunting vocals, and soaring guitar work. All along, it does what it's meant to do; the instruments and the tracks work together to convey aspects of a bigger personality; conflict, harmony, and resolve, and it feeds you them in powerful symbolic waves. This album must be enjoyed frequently, loudly, and at the best quality you can afford (good headphones will do the job).

Please, please, enjoy this album. And if you don't - just don't tell me about it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2002
In common I'm sure with many other fans, the tragedy of John "The Ox" Entwhistle's premature death a couple of weeks ago drove me to dig out my dusty old Who albums and have another listen. Now the Who are a band you can always go back to after a break - from decade to decade they go on sounding fresh and challenging. But I was particularly moved by my re-acquaintance with Quadrophenia, and to my own surprise I have discovered (or re-discovered) that it still ranks as one of my favourite albums of all time.
Of course Quadrophenia was an exercise in nostalgia from the outset, and as such it still works as a window on an earlier time. The Who had a massive following in their early years from a British youth style cult of the mid-sixties called the Mods. Unlike their arch-rivals the Rockers (who favoured beer, greasy motorcycles, black leather and rock'n'roll), the Mods went for pills, heavily accessorised Italian motor-scooters, fashion suits and R&B. Hundred of both tribes from inner London used to descend on south coast resort towns on warm summer days, and for a couple of years riots were commonplace. They weren't good times, but this was the first generation of British kids for whom the dream of mobility and escape had a decent chance of realisation, and the multiple-mirrored Lambretta was a potent symbol of freedom.
But Quadrophenia wasn't just about nostalgia. Its point seems to have been to explore the inner life of urban tribalism (in the same way that "Tommy" had done for religion and stardom). In that sense its insights still hold true, and it's no surprise that even in the more dangerous streets of today, special big-screen showings of the movie "Quadrophenia" (made a few years after the original album) still attract sizeable audiences.
In the eyes of some hard-core fans, the project was a failure. "Why can't Townsend stop trying to produce another Tommy, and get back to playing proper rock" was a typical comment from this segment of the band's following. But in Quadrophenia the Who arguably realised fully what Tommy only managed in part. It offers a cycle of thematically connected songs of uniformly exceptional quality. Together they tell a poignant story in an almost impressionistic way, that's to say they don't get bogged down carrying the burden of a literal event-by-event narrative. Each of the band's four members seems to have hit their personal peak performance at the same time. Even the instrumental interludes, a conceit that brought many concept albums of the era grinding to a halt, are miniature triumphs of musical eloquence, and the sound quality was good even before re-mastering for the current CD edition.
The title "Quadrophenia" (i.e. four-way schizophrenia) is the key to a further (and now the most poignant) theme of the album, namely introspection by the four members of the Who into their own inner lives. "Can you see the real me?" asks the band, through the vehicle of Daltrey's first raging vocal. And the answer is a resounding Yes. While every one of the Who's projects is somebody's favourite, it is hard to resist the conclusion that Quadrophenia captures one of the greatest rock bands of all time at its all-time peak. My copy will not be making a return journey to the attic.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)