Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Ever Made without Exception
To say I am biased about this album is somewhat of an understatement - no other musical recording, for me, carries the depth of emotion that this masterpiece conveys. Other great recordings can be described as emotional roller-coasters - not Quadrophenia. This album doesn't throw you blindly from one emotion to the next - every feeling invoked is meticulously planned and...
Published on 26 Jun 2003 by veteranmod

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt in the lab
This is a superlative album - but the sound HAS been altered!!! Not only have bits of music gone awol/been rearranged, but at least some of the vocals seem to have been "re-sung". There is a definitely more melodious tone to Pete's and even Roger's vocals, where on the vinyl you could feel the raw anger/emotion. For me, this has hugely spoilt my absolutely favourite...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by Em


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Ever Made without Exception, 26 Jun 2003
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
To say I am biased about this album is somewhat of an understatement - no other musical recording, for me, carries the depth of emotion that this masterpiece conveys. Other great recordings can be described as emotional roller-coasters - not Quadrophenia. This album doesn't throw you blindly from one emotion to the next - every feeling invoked is meticulously planned and even though you sometimes feel it coming a long way off you still reel with wonder when it gets to you. Jollity, pride, Confusion, Anger, derision, depression, a great emptiness then enlightenment and fulfilment. A journey I never tire of. Quadrophenia is in essence a melancholy work but is not limited solely to the realms of sadness and reminiscence. This album proves that you don't have to be an acne ridden teen to feel angst in every cell of your body - Townshend was in his early thirties when he completed this work. It really was a labour of love for him - with embryonic snippets of the themes being played out on several WHO albums in the mid-late sixties before finally coalescing into the familiar work I glorify here. Listen to the lyrics of 'Helpless Dancer' and then try to convince yourself that the 21st century is different from the time 30 years ago when it was written. Technology only makes a better life for the man who invents and markets it. Only after listening to this album can you get caught out in a traditional miserable English downpour and get the thrill of your life out of it - those who already own this album know what I mean. I challenge anybody to listen to 'Love Reign o'er me' and not be at once uplifted to emotional ecstacy and cast down to despair.
When viewed analytically, the music is composed of pure rock, some blues and even some folk themes - harldy the Rhythm'n'Soul of the beat generation but it is still the best Mod Overture ever Composed, and I say composed without reservation - in years to come this work will be revered alongside Liszt, Tchaikovsky, Holst and others. All that remains to be said is - if you don't already have this album BUY IT or be a rocker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Opera,Rock Opera! Read all about it - Who's Finest!, 11 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
The Who's finest and the soundtrack to growing up. This album has been part of my life for the past 20 years at least.Forget Mods and Rockers - this exceptionally creative album is much more complex than that.The opener 'The real me' sets the scene for the album followed by the Quadrophenia instrumental - listen to Keiths drums.The best known tracks on here don't disappoint - 5.15 is particularly good although the remaster seems to have lost the whistle from the beginning as the train pulls out of Waterloo (sorry that is an anorak comment). This is an all time favourite - if you love the Who you probably already own a dogeared vinyl copy that you have played to bits over the years,if you're new to the Who then this will make a super addition to your CD collection. Check out that GS Scooter on the front cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Recording Ever!, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
Its a journey through pain, angst, love, confusion, realisation, it's all those emotions and more still....it is the most powerful album of all time, and it doesnt date almost 40 years after it was originally written.
If i had one wish....i would wish for every boy/girl band to be strapped to chairs in a large room and have this CD on repeat play at 20000 watts until the penny dropped with each and every one of them that what they do might bring in the bucks, but its all meaningless drivel.
Having this on a minidisc player whilst cruising to the coast in the summer on board a shiny vespa makes everything fall into place.
I absolutely adore each and every track, and each time i listen to this recording, i fall in love with them all again.
It's simply the best thing ever recorded. nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of british rock music, 1 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
Well, my hair (what's left of it) isn't cut neat and my war-time coat hasn't seen the wind and sleet in many a year but I still can't put this album down. This 'rock opera' follows on from Tommy in the way of telling a story. It leaves Tommy well-behind in the overall scheme of things though. Whereas Tommy was an acid trip, Quadrophenia is 'real'. In the lyrics you can taste the egg and chips in the dodgy sea-side cafe, feel the pain of the guy desperately trying to fit in and his hopelessness of the situation. Well, that's the idea anyway. What you REALLY get are masterful performances from one of the most underrated bands in the world. Soaring guitars, a bass to die for, vocals that range with the best ever and sublime drumming; forget Moon-the-Loon, this is rock drumming at its finest, timing and delicacy meshed in with the power required to push this whole project along. What the hell is 'quadrophenia' anyway....who cares!. This album is a wonderful insight into truly GREAT British rock music. Forget the play on 4 'themes.....listen instead to the power of the music. Oh, and don't forget to taste the egg and chips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who Reign O'er Me, 24 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
I had completely forgotten how good this album was until I bought the remastered version on CD from Amazon. It was probably the last great album the Who did, and they really put a whole lot into this!
There are no bonus tracks like other albums have, which is a bit of a disappointment, and maybe it could have been made into a single CD as 'Tommy' was. However, these are minor quibbles and don't at all distract from the fact that this is one of their best.
It's probably the only Who album that consists entirely of Pete Townsend songs, and unusually there is a Keith Moon vocal on 'Bell Boy'. Keith was notoriously bad at pitching, and was the only band member to be excluded from vocals most of the time. His performance as The Face's bell boy alter ego is perfect though.
Pete Townsend uses repeating musical themes in the same way that he did in Tommy, but this time there is more subtlety, and his composing skills have come a long way from then. There are some great songs, including the single '5:15', and other well-known numbers like 'The Real Me' and 'Love Reign O'er Me'.
From 'A Quick One' through to this album, the Who produced their best material. After this it was downhill, but they really did excel themselves with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remixed not Remastered, 9 Mar 2007
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
I had the original vinyl pressing of this work of art, and unless my music system is playing tricks on me, I have to question where some of the instruments have gone? Most noticed is the lack of the piano on the track "I'm One" - this is just for starters, The whole CD album just sounds so different (not better) to the vinyl version. This is the reason I've given it four stars when I should be giving it five. This is no fault of the artistes it's some meddler thinking he/she can change things for the better. Something like that new Beatles compilation with George Martin & Son. With Quadrophenia I expected the original sound but cleaner without the static and scratches of vinyl, but sounds are definitely missing. Anyone else care to comment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt in the lab, 13 Aug 2008
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
This is a superlative album - but the sound HAS been altered!!! Not only have bits of music gone awol/been rearranged, but at least some of the vocals seem to have been "re-sung". There is a definitely more melodious tone to Pete's and even Roger's vocals, where on the vinyl you could feel the raw anger/emotion. For me, this has hugely spoilt my absolutely favourite album, to the extent that I now don't want to listen to it, as virtually every note and sound of the original tracks have been imprinted on my brainbox, after 30 years of listening. Guess I'll just have to find an old vinyl record...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mod Masterpiece, 17 Jun 2002
By 
John Brown "John" (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
This 1973 album ranks high in quality alongside their best, perhaps more well known, albums such as "Tommy" and "Who's Next." It is a concept album about a young 1960's mod coming to terms with his life, showing how he comes to see himself realistically, in contrast to his peer group and his family. The music is a mixture of 1970's vintage rock guitar driven songs seamlessly interwoven with melodic music. "Sea and Sand" is a good example of this type of musical arrangement, where the song is soft and melodic one moment and rocking the next. That song never got played on the radio much, but it sounds great and the lyrics are evocative of one's self-realization. It is generally an underrated song that should have been released as a single because it would sound great on the radio. Quadrophenia holds up well over 2 discs as it shows Jimmy realizing his own individuality as a person, as opposed to his role as either a peer of his friends or as a member of his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - probably the best Who recording of all time, 8 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
Set in the era of Mods and Rockers, Quadrophenia tells a story of an East End boy trying to cope with sex, drugs and rock and roll. The music is superlative and charged with emotion - probably the best Who recording of all time. Being true to life and gutsy, it easily surpasses the more popular Tommy in terms of both musical content and lyric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 3 studio classics., 4 Nov 2006
This review is from: Quadrophenia (Audio CD)
This is The Who at the height of their powers as a band. After the quiet interlude of 'i am the sea', the band explodes into 'the real me' where quite literally John Entwistle plays the bass guitar like no-one before. as has been stated the remastering job on this album is superb which is particularly gratifying, as a band like The Who really benefit from all the textures being brought out clearly. As with 'Tommy', you don't really need to 'get' the story to enjoy the music. So many classic songs in their own right: 'The Real Me', 'Cut My Hair', 'I'm One', 'The Dirty Jobs', '5:15', 'Sea And Sand', 'Drowned', 'Bellboy' and 'Love Reign O'er Me'. Pete was really on a roll with this album. Along with 'Who's Next' and 'Who Sell Out' this is my favourite Who album. With a new Who album out now it seems an appropriate time to look again at the classics. This takes its place along with the other classic British rock albums of the era by groups like Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, The Kinks and Black Sabbath. This album had an impact on me when I was a teenager and the superb music contained within is built to last. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quadrophenia
Quadrophenia by The Who
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews