Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2009
As debut albums go and released at the time it was, it's hard to imagine how this one could be any better. 1977 was a period of conflicting musical styles. The impact of the 60s goliaths The Beatles and The Who could still be felt, there was the arrival of disco and the explosion of punk. This album is a great reflection of these uncertain musical times.

To hear the songs, you immediately think of punk. The angry twang of Weller's Rickenbacker and Foxton's pounding bass coupled with the angst in Weller's voice make the band stand out from the meaningless punk mediocrity that was around at the same time. However, a deeper study will reveal much more complexity. How many punk groups sang about wanting to be away from the numbers, non-stop dancing and had songs with love in the title? No, The Jam were, even here at this early stage, so much more than a punk band. Visually the band in their black suits are a throwback to the early Beatles and Who era. Sounds From The Street was Weller's answer to the American beach craze spearheaded by The Beach Boys, Non-Stop Dancing makes reference to James Brown and the soul music which was to influence Weller so much in his career, Slow Down is a Larry Williams Rythym and Blues cover whilst In The City, a title borrowed from The Who's "A Quick One" album and the Batman Theme which again appears on the same Who album clearly show Weller's mod influences. Running through the album however is the beginning of the social concern and urban realism that feature so heavily in The Jam's output and which became a core part of their overall importance.

This is a raw and powerful sound and lacks the refinement of the band's output from All Mod Cons but The Jam announced their arrival with full power and force with this debut and the multi layerd 18 year old lead singer sows the seeds for what was to come later. Brilliant stuff!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2002
if you are young and into todays punk bands, then you will like this album. I bought this when it came out, and its still good now. Musically its probably not The Jams best, but it has that immediacy of youth, that Weller had in abundance in his early work. It pays homage to the who, motown, put into a 1977 woking punk scene. You can tell even at this stage that weller was going to have a long and outstanding career. 'In the city' was the opening single for the band, and it got a lot of people to buy the album. If you've heard 'in the city' and like it, then buy it to.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 December 2013
'The Jam, what sort of ridiculous name is that?' - these were the words (or something similar) with which I remember greeting my schoolmate after he'd returned from a 1977 gig at London's Marquee to see France's Little Bob Story supported by Weller's boys (no doubt, something of a hybrid of Townshend's mob and The Marmalade?). Listening again to this magnificent debut album from that same year (on which I can certainly hear Townshend's influence on Weller's guitar - not so sure about a discernible 'Wilko Johnson influence' though) it stick packs a major punch and (in my book) stands up well against anything Woking's finest did thereafter.

One thing that surprised me (either I'd forgotten or never read the lyrics in the first place!) was just how 'political' Weller's lyrics are (at times) here. Of course, Weller (as he later admitted) was rather 'mixed-up' in his political thinking at this point (stating, perhaps in jest, he would be voting Tory at the 'next election' and then writing Eton Rifles two years later!), but on the brilliant Time For Truth he rails against (admittedly Labour-led) authority ('You're just another red balloon with a lot of hot gas'), whilst Bricks And Mortar takes up the cause of the homeless. Boredom with Surrey suburbia is (of course) to the fore on the pulsating album title song and its soulful counterpart Sounds From The Street, whilst Weller is in more perceptive, thoughtful territory (the transitoriness of relationships) on each of I've Changed My Address and the innovative, soul-infused little gem, I Got By In Time.

This debut album also brilliantly captures (thanks to Vic Smith and Chris Parry's raw, vibrant production) the band's live energy - nowhere more so than on album opener, the rebellious Art School ('Don't need permission for everything that you want') and on the superb, pulsating cover of Larry Williams' Slow Down (OK, there is a 'Wilko sound' here). Exuberance continues to be the order of the day on Non-Stop Dancing, Taking My Love and (following The Who's lead) the 'throwaway' Batman Theme. At the other end of the 'songwriting spectrum', though, is a Weller masterpiece, Away From The Numbers, something of a 'personal treatise' of philosophical ambition, on which the man's Rickenbacker sounds truly resplendent, giving rise to a song to rate with Weller's very best.

For me, therefore, although Weller's band was obviously headed in a different direction, this debut sits alongside the debut albums by The Clash, Sex Pistols and The Damned as one of the definitive records from the era.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2003
In The City was the Woking boys powerful angst ridden opening shot and was seen by many as the LP that jump started the Mod revival in the UK.
Weller's emotive political lyrics were yet to fully take form but there are flashes of what was to come in the songs 'In The City' and the pithy 'Bricks and Mortar'
The Jam's music at this time owed a lot to the harmonies of Motown, the energy of the early Who and the anger of the current Punk scene.
Along with 'Bricks & Mortar', and 'In The City' the powerfully assured 'Art School' and the venomous 'I've changed my address' are the best tracks although the energetic cover of 'Slow Down' and the poignant 'Away From The Numbers' are also worthy of mention.
This was a stunning debut and a rallying flag for the coming Mod revival.
Vital Stuff
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This is my second copy of this cd as my first one died! A great amalgamation of punk/power pop and rocking soul dance tunes. The youthful energy is amazing as were the band live (I saw them on the All Mod Cons, Setting Sons tours). Whilst Weller would go on to write better songs in The Jam - as a period in time this is my favourite Weller moment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
A bit corny I know but I attempted to use a few words from the title of one of the songs for this review. Not too sure if it works though, but I supopose my neighbours wish I would after a few airings of this CD played loud! Without much doubt The Jam were one of the tightest bands of the too short punk era, but to this day I feel that they were a little misplaced. Either way there is no shortgage of sheer power even if it is over all too quickly. Before he got distracted Paul Weller wrote some extremely adept and observational songs. Like the Damned's 1st album running time is barely more than 30 minutes. To have seen them live in '77 is still classed as a privilege.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2001
a powerful combination of 60's style mod songs (I've Changed my address, Non stop dancing) bizzare covers (the "Batman" theme) off the cuff punk (Art school, In the city, Sounds of the street, Bricks and mortar) and the anthemic climax (Away from the numbers) all contribute to making the Jam's debut an essential purchase. The raw feel of the record gives it an almost "live" feel to it, and Paul Weller's Pete Townsend style windmill chords and riffs are in evidence here. An outstanding piece of work by the young men from Woking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
A great first album full of passion and no doubt influenced by the Who, in fact they do the Batman theme which the Who also covered years before. Well, everyone has influences and the songs are really racey and make you want to dance and flies the flag for the mod revival aswell as being part of the new wave of bands in 1977. Politicially it was a time of change and speaking your mind. Buy this album !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
The time for truth - nothing special, just a good digital version of a 'must have' album.
If you loved the Jam you've probably already got this and if you didn't then you are not going to buy it now.
Worth every penny to re-visit this album and my youth! Its actually even better than I remembered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2003
This was the one !!
The album that turned me into a Weller fan for life.
I can vividly remember going to buy it, the day it was released, and it blew me away.
The punk aggression mixed with rocking tunes and every beat of the album telling me that "this was the time" !!
And it certainly was. All Mod Cons is the most accomplished Jam album but nothing touches the raw energy of this one.
Anyone into Punk, Mod, Rock music will realise what an album this is once they have graced their "turntable" with it.
If you want power and energy, dance and aggression,..........LOOK NO FURTHER !!
A MUST for any music fan !!
This is Weller at his most potent, make no mistake !!
Superb !!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)