Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back when we had summers.
As Billy Bragg once pointed out, the sun always shone when Dodgy played the festivals and, in many respects they never managed to shake off that novelty tag. This fine album should however convince anyone of their musical value.
It's a filler-free collection which doffs a cap to 'Sell Out' period Who. Upbeat and eager to please, there is a definite Englishness to...
Published on 26 Oct 2001 by treaclemine.hereord@barbox.net

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Has anyone seen my cd? Royal mail must've robbed it!
Well i'd love to tell you all what a cracking collection of songs this is but as it never turned up i'm afraid I can't! However i'm happy to be improving the music collection of postmen somewhere
Published on 19 April 2012 by matt the milk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back when we had summers., 26 Oct 2001
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
As Billy Bragg once pointed out, the sun always shone when Dodgy played the festivals and, in many respects they never managed to shake off that novelty tag. This fine album should however convince anyone of their musical value.
It's a filler-free collection which doffs a cap to 'Sell Out' period Who. Upbeat and eager to please, there is a definite Englishness to this album. The lament of 'UK R.I.P' is at odds with the general feeling of optimism here - as though something better is always just around the corner. For Dodgy there wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking, 2 Mar 2008
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
This album is amazing i love every song, this is the sort of album you can listen to over and over for years and it will still sound amazing, with loads of feel good guitar riffs, fast energetic drumming, good backing vocals, really good keyboads and nigels lead vocals balances everything out nicely,when you combine all this you get a mighty dodgy vibe

All of the songs on this are good not just the ones that got realeased, this album also has the famous "Good Enough" one of the most catchi and feel good song ever! "Long Life" comes on just at the right time and is one of the most beautiful and emotional song ive ever heard and sounds amazing when dodgy play it live

The last song is a really good relaxing summer song. "Free Peace Sweet" has loads of feel good and fast songs, this album is 10/10 im never going to sell my copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough For You, Its Good Enough For Me., 4 Dec 2003
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
This is a good album from a very underated group but it just feels like its missing somthing.
In A Room, and If Your Thinking Of Me are the best songs on this album with everyones favourate Good Enough also showing its face.
I was given this album by an ex who didnt like it which is madness there isnt anything to dislike but as I say it is missing somthing but its still, Good Enough For Me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I miss Dodgy, 22 May 2009
By 
Tharg, Leader of the Mudmen (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
Free Peace Sweet is one of my top 5 albums, better than the Collection in my view. Missed them on tour in the 90's but had the privelege of seeing them on stage in a room (no pun intended) above a pub with the original line up a few months back, excellent and thank you, will be there if you do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nostalgic Slice of Brit Pop, 22 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
Brit Pop was certainly a by-word for any kind of guitar rock and pop during the 1990s, which is when Dodgy released Free Peace Sweet back in 1996, and has all the ingredients to make an album of this calibre. Acoustic-led tracks (Long Life), catchy tracks destined to become radio-friendly singles (Good Enough, Found You, If You're Thinking of Me), and even stuff that just sounds enjoyable and memorable to the ear (Jack the Lad, In a Room, Ain't No Longer Asking).
Free Peace Sweet is certainly a nostalgic slice of Brit Pop from the mid 1990s that is definitely worth a revisit, with its catchy songs, quirky lyrics, and memorable music. If you are not aware of Dodgy, this is certainly worth a look mainly as it contains the hit singles 'Good Enough' and 'Found You', which is probably what the average listener to Brit Pop can recall from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite ever album!, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
Ive owned several copies of this album, as wore out the CD's

it is an essential part of my music collection, and the most listen to album by myself for the last 13-14 years

Every song is strong, and theres a few absolute classics in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not dodgy at all, 7 April 2010
By 
I. Le-luan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
Wasn't smitten first time round in the 90s, but recently bought it after borrowing a copy from a friend. Perhaps not the finest crafted tunes, but really catchy and great for sticking on in the car. I think it would make a really good summer album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insert disc, turn off shuffle, press play, 22 Jan 2009
By 
James Allison "usually easily pleased" (Forest Hill, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
One of the few albums I could put on and play in order, all the way through. I swear every song on this album could have been a single.

The linking of Jack the Lad and Long Life is the album's highlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, 2 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
I was introduced to Dodgy a little while back by a friend and promptly went and bought their first two albums. I was very impressed. The great thing about Dodgy's music is the fun and energy you feel from it. And this album is full of both.
Definately recommended to lovers of Brit Pop but people who like good catchy tuned pop music in general should appreciate this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy Album, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Peace Sweet (Audio CD)
Bought Album as the original was scratched due to over use (which is now signed by dodgy :-)) Was first album bought so knew what to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free Peace Sweet
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews