Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant package
This is a review for the blu-ray set.The package consists of 3 blu-rays and has shows from March 12th and 13th(2 sets each),and the 3rd blu-ray is from the closing night.
Although much of this has been issued before you also get 15 un-released tracks from the Fillmore run and while it is easy to see why some were not released at the time,others could easily have made...
Published 4 months ago by laurence turner

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anyone who has the expanded 2 cd version of this and Eat a Peach has more than the best that this can offer
Having heard this album I cannot agree with the overall view. Anyone who has the expanded 2 cd version of this and Eat a Peach has more than the best that this can offer. Whilst the playing of Duane Allman is amazing a good deal of the album just becomes repetitive with little variation. Only 3 stars from me, not enough to make me buy it.
Published 3 months ago by Charles 0151


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant package, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a review for the blu-ray set.The package consists of 3 blu-rays and has shows from March 12th and 13th(2 sets each),and the 3rd blu-ray is from the closing night.
Although much of this has been issued before you also get 15 un-released tracks from the Fillmore run and while it is easy to see why some were not released at the time,others could easily have made the final selection.
A word about the audio.On the blu-ray there are 3 audio choices;Master surround,True surround and Uncompressed stereo.It is the latter that I am using and it is absolutely superb;clear crisp and every instrument audible.In particular Greggs subtle organ fills are much clearer than any other version I have including the excellent Deluxe editions from a few years ago.
I chose the blu-ray edition because I already have the Deluxe cds and if I ever get a surround set up I have the option of listening to the other audio offerings.
The alternative versions are suitably different from the previously released ones with different solos and additional saxophone, which Tom Dowd hated,hence their exclusion at the time.
All in all this is a fantastic package and come with a well written booklet which takes you through each nights performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album for guitar lovers and blues lovers alike., 2 April 2002
By A Customer
This album is the guitar lovers ultimate CD. Duanne Allman is superb, there is no other word to describe his slide work and playing. Betts has never played better and complements the slide work. The interaction between the two is amazing. From the opening Statesboro Blues to the ending Whipping Post the guitar work is awesome. Statesboro Blues starts the slide guitar show with an amazing solo that is restrained but completely natural,flowing with the rhythm and vocals, followed by Betts with a shorter but equaly inspired solo. As the album moves on Duanne's guitar work follows his brothers vocal lines with a natural ease, interdispersed with Betts who appears inspired to fantastic heights by Allman. To blues lovers and guitar fans alike this album is a must. There are fewer live albums that come near it and when during a marathon solo a fan calls out "play it all night" there is no doubt you will nod your head and agree. Buy, listen, enjoy and hit the play button again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Allman Brothers Heaven, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review refers to the 2014 re-release.

There are two Allman Brothers titles that are in my top 100 of guitar rock albums.The album this review is about "At Fillmore East" and "Eat A Peach". So when I learned that ALL of the legendary Fillmore East gigs were to be released I got excited. You see the original double vinyl album was made up of the best bits from a multitude of performances recorded over two nights,expertly edited together by producer extraordinaire Tom Dowd giving the listener a seamless and mistake free show. Ever since I'd learned the history of this classic live recording I was very interested in what the bits,that were obviously in the vaults sounded like. I was under the impression that there would only be remnants and was very pleased to learn that all four gigs were still intact on tape.

Some of this leftover material was released in bits and pieces over the years and most recently collected together as a two cd "At Fillmore East (Deluxe Edition)" in 2003. Some other takes were also compiled on to cd for the second disc of the "Eat a Peach -Deluxe-" set released in 2006. I thought that was all we'd ever hear.

In 2014 we have this mammoth six disc set that gives you complete recordings of all four gigs from March 1971 and that other legendary Allman Brothers gig from June 1971,when this iconic venue closed for good. Extra sugar in an already sweet box set. Apparently The Beach Boys turned up wanting to play the closing set and were told by the venue's owner Bill Graham to either play the spot that was already marked for them or pack up and go."I've got my closing act" referring to The Allman Brothers,he's reported to have said according to the wonderful essay that comes with this 36 page hardcover book style set. Imagine telling The Beach Boys they were not wanted!

Is this new release of Allman Brothers performances essential? Not for the casual fan,the 2003 deluxe or the "At Fillmore East Sacd" set will suffice. But if your desire for a piece of music history tempts you to delve a little deeper I highly recommend this set. It's not 100% perfect but it's a lesson in how to rock'n'roll until you get it right.

ps If you like your music in hi-res smaller packages this title is also available on a three disc blu-ray audio set "The 1971 Fillmore East Recordings" with surround sound mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of southern rock, 10 May 2007
By 
bbjazz (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
Actually this album is more than the pinnacle of southern rock - it could well be the finest album I've ever heard. The Allman Brothers' guitarists Duane Allman and Dickey Betts were two of the finest players ever, and the twin drummers Jamoe and Butch Trucks, amazing bassist Berry Oakley and hugely underrated voice and keyboards of Greg Allman made this band untouchable then and now. I appreciate this is a lot of hyperbole to deal with, but just listen and you will not be disappointed. I play this music often and am still completely in love with it. I'll bet you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Rock Magnificence, 4 Nov 2006
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
It was the fashion in the `70's to issue a live album and the Allman Brothers Band was no exception. However, the quality of some of these was extremely questionable and a significant amount did not do any justice to the artist. This was most certainly not the case with this album.

The sensational Allman Brothers Band - Live at the Fillmore album blasted onto the streets as their third album in the summer of 1971. It was and remains a sublime live performance highlighting the individual and collective quality of these fine musicians. One of my all time favourite tracks is "In the Memory of Elizabeth Reed", 13 minutes of sheer rock genius that builds to an astounding climax, fronted by Dickey Betts's wonderful guitar.
The distinctive sound of the Allman's, whether it is Greg Allman's superb organ, the amazing procession section or the unique guitar sound of Dickie Betts and of course the late and great Duane Allman is a joy to hear throughout the album. It is impossible to single out any weak tracks, there simply are none, the sheer power of the band coming over in every track.

The Allman's were really at their peak at the time of this album - bear in mind that by the time this album was released, Duane Allman had already played beside Eric Clapton on Layla and with Laura Nyro on her Christmas & the Beads of Sweat album.

One of, if not the greatest US rock band of their time, this album is truly magnificent and a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Difinitve for Blues-Rock, 9 Sep 2009
By 
S. Roche (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am at a loss to describe how definitive this album, or this band really were or are; it may just be that I am in awe. I am in awe of the legendary peak of the mountain that was the musical genius of Duane Allman. Although he alone cannot be credited for the high impact experience that At Fillmore East really is; one man could not make this sound, no matter how hard he tried, alone: the rest of the band are solid as a rock.

Rated at 49 in Rolling Stones 'Greatest Albums Ever' it's not hard to hear why; not only the skill but also the passion of The Allman Brothers Band makes this album something that you will undoubtedly come back to many, many times.

Having delved into the dark abyssal depths that is the blues, and having heard the argument that the Allman Brothers Band are somewhat better on the shallower side of things, I will summarise by saying that this album can only be described as a musical gem; inspirational rock, a tribute to the blues and a leviathan in the genre. Listen to it.

King Curtis: Live At The Fillmore West This too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic, 21 Aug 2009
If you want to hear the benchmark in live modern rock music this is it. It's Duane Allman at the height of his powers. A must own for anyone with an appreciation for great rock bands like the Stones, Hendrix or Creedence. A true guitar masterclass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The killer live rock-blues set of all time., 1 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
The Allmans were the ultimate live band, playing with great energy and imagination. "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" from this set must be one of the best instrumental tracks of all time - the Allmans were famous for "Jessicca" but this is far better. If "Whipping Post" doesn't get you dancing then you haven't any soul. If blues is your music then give "Statesboro Blues" some plays. It's also nice to get a couple of extra tracks from the original double LP version, and the booklet provided is an interesting read On the first hearing you may find some of the tracks rather long but turn down the lights, get a large glass of your fave drink and play it loud, very loud and you can see yourself at the Fillmore with your long hair dripping sweat as you shake your head in time to "You Don't Love Me"! Buy it now and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Album ever?, 11 May 2012
By 
R Raybould "richard17025" (Newport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, in this version, YES. If you have no other ABB record this is the one to get. The playing is sublime throughout and the recording is fantastic for the early 70's. I never ever tire of listening to this: Allman and Betts duel away; Jaimoe & Trucks sync so wonderfully well; Oakley plays some great bass lines, Gregg Allman's Hammond Organ just fills those gaps a treat and his vocal delivery is unique. Brilliant from start to finish. Don't hesitate to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 16 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: At Fillmore East (Audio CD)
What an album. Some astonishing guitar work. The version of Stormy Monday is perfection. You Dont love Me weighs in at 20 minutes but with not a wasted second. After about 10 minutes the guitars kick in with the drums and what an astonishing piece of live music this is. On Elizabeth Reed the guitar actually sounds like its about to melt at one point - indescribably brilliant. Whippin' Post at the end maybe does get flogged to death but that is my only negative point. My favourite live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Fillmore East
At Fillmore East by The Allman Brothers Band
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews