Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good
I saw the Strawbs in concert way back, when Part of the Union had just got to number 1 in England - happy days! Great then to hear this CD in all its glory rather than on a clapped out tape!
It's hard to be objective when you know the songs so well, but Down by the Sea still sends a shiver down the spine, and now in digital sound...
This is an album that manages...
Published on 18 Feb 2004 by Rev Robert D Goode

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Brings back many happy moments of my youth in the 70's! Great original sounds for me.
Published 2 months ago by kas adam westray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds good, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
I saw the Strawbs in concert way back, when Part of the Union had just got to number 1 in England - happy days! Great then to hear this CD in all its glory rather than on a clapped out tape!
It's hard to be objective when you know the songs so well, but Down by the Sea still sends a shiver down the spine, and now in digital sound...
This is an album that manages to mix some very varied musical styles, but does so because of great songwriting, excellent musicians and a fabulous production. Stills sound as good now as it did when my hair was much longer!
If you are new to the Strawbs buy this album, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of folk-prog, 26 May 2000
By 
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
The commercial peak of the group in UK, 'Bursting at the Seams' shows the group combinig folk (Lady Fuschia), pub songs (Part of the Union), folk-rock(Lay Down) and prog epics (Down by the Sea). The central piece is the magnificent 'The River/Down by the Sea', easyly one of my all-time favourite songs. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest from the greatest, 16 April 2007
By 
R. LONG "MEMEME" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
The album that marked Strawbs' greatest success and highest profile in Britain. Subsequent albums attracted greater following across the Atlantic. Two chart hits - Lay Down being the far superior and again (sorry about the over-use) one of the greatest and most genuinely uplifting pop-songs of all time. Most of Bursting is sheer life enhancing magic - haunting and disturbing - Down by the Sea, and The River. 'Tears and Pavane' is the track that has stayed with me for thirty years - an exquistite masterpiece. In fact Strawbs are still about and often tour as an acoustic trio, still performing Tears, while the rest of life stands still for six and a half minutes.

Of the bonus tracks, their working of 'Will You Go' is the most worthwhile.

All who know Strawbs will claim they were the most underated band ever - it's a mystery - although I have my hunches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally Bursting At The Seams, 30 Oct 2001
By 
Mr. D. M. Eynon "derek_eynon" (Bromsgrove) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
The sheer sublety of the Visconti production spent many a year waiting for CD, and waiting to be digitally remastered. It was so far ahead of the game. The songwriting is par excellence, the perfomances likewise. A classic, which I have bought 3 times (2 vinyls worn out, and one CD bought).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The breakthrough album for the old/new Strawbs lineup, 10 Mar 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
It is ironic that "Bursting at the Seams" was the break through album for the Strawbs because it marked the last major transformation of the group as Lambert replaced Hudson & Ford as the secondary creative force behind David Cousins. Hudson & Ford provides the diverse offers of the airy "Lady Fuschia" and the pub favorite "Part Of The Union," while Lambert's first offering with the group, "The Winter and the Summer" is his best for my money. Hudson & Ford also team up with Cousins on the Pavan half of "Tears and Pavan," which is a personal favorite (I used it as music for scene changes in a one-act production of Christopher Fry's "The Lady's Not For Burning").
"Down By The Sea" is not only one of the first big hits for the group, but perhaps their biggest as well. One of the DJs in Albuquerque gave the song some serious airplay and as a result the group was able to do a concert in that particular neck of the woods. "Flying," "Stormy Down" and "Lay Down" are the other major Cousins efforts on the album, featuring his diverse vocal stylings, which always tended to remind me of Cat Stevens for some reason, but admittedly not everyone hears the similarities.
One interesting retrospective quirk to note: when the Strawbs performed in concert their encore usually consisted of doing "The River" to set up the pounding notes of "Down By The Sea." On the album the songs appear in the reverse order, so just program your CD player accordingly. The bonus tracks are okay, although they do take away from the children singing the last track, "Thank You," one of the more interesting ways to end an album since "Abbey Road."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Gem, 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
I was looking through my collection to restock the car with music (longish drive to work) and had a what happened to them moment. imagine my joy when I found this in cd form. This album for me, is the blend of folk-rock that can only be English. If the medeival bards had a rock band as backing group this would be the sound. Fantastic. Eyes glued on the letter box, can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burst your seams here!, 16 Oct 2008
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. It has to be one of my favourite albums of all time. Admittedly I only came to Strawbs in 1998 (when the first batch of remastered CDs hit the market) but I feel i've known this album for many more years.
Elegant, emotional and enlightening - I can't describe it any fairer than that. It is hard for me to pick any particular song here that stands out. They all do. Lady Fuschia, Tears & Pavan and The Winter & The Summer are all bursting (sorry for the pun) with feeling. I escape to a better place when playing this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 11 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
One of the best Strawbs' albums along with Grave New World. A tremendous mix with Lay Down and Part of the Union being the most commercial and up-beat and with Tears and Pavan and Down by the Sea more moody and dark. But really there is not a bad song on this album. One thing does disappoint and that is the sleeve notes. Although they give great background info they do not give the words to the songs whereas the original vinyl did (same complaint for Grave New World).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album expertly remastered, 30 Jun 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
One of a string of big hit albums by the Strawbs, their sudden fame brought on by the single Part of the Union, which any true Strawbs fan will tell you, is about as unlike the rest of their musical output as you can get. That track is here and rather sits out on its own among its brethren, a sort of melodic glam prog. I'd never actually liked that song until recently, when someone told me it isn't actually a rabble-rousing beerglass-smashing call to arms, but rather a very subtle tongue-in-cheek poke at the state of the Unions in the early 1970s. The remastering has given the guitar work a fresh acid sharpness and brought out details only muffled before. Down By The Sea marked an epic new direction for Cousin's songwriting, while Lay Down really should have been the international mega-smash that the Union song became. One of a very few albums that will never go out of fashion, however pop and rock music may evolve today and tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Bursting At The Seams (Audio CD)
Brings back many happy moments of my youth in the 70's! Great original sounds for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bursting At The Seam
Bursting At The Seam by The Strawbs
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews