Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly All The Hits
Concentrating on their singles career, this 25 track collection appeared on the Motown label in 1997 when it was licensed to Polygram, and covers the period from their first Motown single, Baby I Need Your Loving, up to 1972 when they first left the label (they were back between 1983 and 1986).
Nearly all the hit singles are present so it is easier to itemise what...
Published on 2 Aug 2005 by Lozarithm

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Purchaser
As noted in another review, all but 2 tracks - Still Water (Love) and (It's The Way) Nature Planned It - are mono versions, and it's possibly this that leaves me dissapointed.
I was foolish enough to belive this was the great offer (MP3 download cost as compared with indiviual tracks)it initally appeared however it turns out this download is, as always, a case of "If...
Published on 21 Oct 2010 by GG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly All The Hits, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Concentrating on their singles career, this 25 track collection appeared on the Motown label in 1997 when it was licensed to Polygram, and covers the period from their first Motown single, Baby I Need Your Loving, up to 1972 when they first left the label (they were back between 1983 and 1986).
Nearly all the hit singles are present so it is easier to itemise what isn't: their cover of Tim Hardin's If I Were A Carpenter, a bigger hit here than in the US; Do What You Gotta Do, not a single in the US; Don't Let Him Take Your Love From Me, not a single in the UK and only a minor hit in the US; Just Seven Numbers, and In These Changing Times, both only minor hits, extracted from the Changing Times album; Walk With Me Talk With Me Darling, not a single in the US; and their two-part version of MacArthur Park, a non-album single that wasn't even released in the UK and which one probably has to buy Anthology to get hold of on CD.
It also includes 4 popular B-sides including their great original version of I Got A Feeling, better known in its cover by Barbara Randolph. Three of these were taken from albums but one, If You Don't Want My Love, was only ever the B-side of You Keep Running Way, perhaps making its debut on CD.
Most of the songs were produced by Brian Holland and Lamont Dozier, with whom they had a string of huge hits, but a handful were produced by Mickey Stevenson, Ivy Jo Hunter, Johnny Bristol and others.
It states in the liner notes that "The Ultimate Collections feature the original 45 rpm versions. Album sources are issued for reference purposes; the LP versions were very often different mixes, and sometimes different performances." What this means in practice is that all but 2 tracks - Still Water (Love) and (It's The Way) Nature Planned It - are mono versions which I suppose means that Motown hope to have us buy the parent albums as well to get the stereo mixes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strong collection of Four Tops music, 9 Feb 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A strong collection of Four Tops music

One of Motown's finest groups of the sixties, the Four Tops will be forever remembered for Reach out I'll be there, a timeless classic which opens this set. It was number one in Britain, America and many other countries.
This collection includes many other big hits, including Bernadette, I can't help myself, Standing in the shadows of love and Its the same old song, all huge hits in Britain and America.
Their first success came via Baby I need your loving, which gave them a top 20 American hit, but the song was covered by the Fourmost and it was their version that charted in Britain.
This is not a complete collection, as it omits If I were a carpenter and River deep mountain high, a song they recorded with the Supremes after Diana Ross left that group, but it really requires a double-CD to do full justice to this excellent group. Nevertheless, if you just want a single CD, all the tracks that really matter are here, superbly re-mastered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Motowns Best Male Groups Of The 1960's, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Four Tops were formed in Detroit, Michigan in 1953 though they never really struck lucky until they signed to Berry Gordys pioneering all-black record label, Tamla Motown Records, home to many legendary soul acts including Diana Ross, The Supremes, The Temptations, Marvin Gaye, The Isley Brothers, Stevie Wonder, Martha Reeves And The Vandellas, Gladys Knight and the Pips, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, The Marvelettes and many, many more.
The Four Tops were just simply a KNOCKOUT! Lead singer Levi Stubbs rocketing vocal delivery was capable of such impressive, immense power and volume and were one of Motowns best male acts during the companys heyday in the swinging sixties.
The Four Tops, like Diana Ross and the Supremes, enjoyed an extensive and dynamic collaboration with the genius songwriting and production trio, Holland-Dozier-Holland. Holland-Dozier-Holland helped put Motown Records on the map by creating and defining that classic Motown sound of the 60's along with the legendary muscian team known as The Funk Brothers. The Four Tops enjoyed a river of classics through the duration of the 1960's with the most magical of these offerings recorded under the guidance of Holland-Dozier-Holland.
I Can't Help Myself, one of The Four Tops signature tunes, contained a hooky melody and lyrics that could appeal to both the spirited and the saccharine. Levi Stubbs inimitable and persuasive voice on this classic is just pure SOUL! I Can't Help Myself shot up the charts landing at No.1.
The follow up to I Can't Help Myself, the appropriately titled It's The Same Old Song admitedly lacked the initial immediacy of that track but still holds its own individual merits and became another classic to their credit.
In 1966 The Four Tops literally exploded onto the charts with the far more adventurous and highly ambitious Reach Out I'll Be There. Reach Out I'll Be There was haunting and atmospheric in its tone. Levi Stubbs puts in another phenomenal, breathtaking performance with his grittily earthy, soulful delivery seamlessly surfboarding along the tidal wave of musical arrangements that consists of flutes, oboes and tambourines. It also delivered The Four Tops their first real taste of big chart success in the U.K. In the U.S Reach Out I'll Be There became their second chart topper.
The Four Tops music was always dramatically orchestrated that lands somewhere between soul,r&b and pop. Their staggeringly impressive run of hits continued with the magnificent Standing In The Shadows Of Love where there diverse and unique blend of harmonies gel remarkably well together which adds to its dazzling, magical effect.
Bernadatte was yet another infectious classic with its masterpiece musical production and astounding delivery from Levi Stubbs but there is a far darker and more atmospheric mood on the chilly and haunting 7 Rooms Of Gloom. Stubbs' whips along the verses with utter conviction that's literally spine-tingling across the rollercoaster and stark musical arrangements.
Holland-Dozier-Holland swiftly left Motown Records in early 1968 after a bitter dispute over back royalty payments with Motown boss Berry Gordy (many of Motowns stars subsequently sued the company years later for claims of unpaid record royalties). The Motown sound was slowly dissolving after their departure and was virtually extinct by the early 70's following Motowns headquarters move from downtown Detroit to swinging L.A. As a result The Four Tops chart-action became erratic.
They did still manage to come up with some winners. Their divine, unique cover of The Left Bankes' Walk Away Renee, which is arguably far more effective than the origanal and mereley conveyed Levi Stubbs versatile vocal approach. Walk Away Renee commendably proved that Stubbs' unforgetable voice could be just as effective when working on ballads. Walk Away Renee may have been sombre in its tone though still had a touching quality.
Another excellent ballad from The Four Tops that emerged in the late 60's was another atmospheric number, Still Waters Run. This classic hit was a remarkably exhilirating masterpiece featuring an exuberant performance from Stubbs. Still Waters Run also captures Stubbs' at perharps his smoochiest.
It's All In The Game and If I Were A Carpenter both encapsulate that swinging Motown sound and both are of significant value to this collection. However by the early 70's their once unstoppable momentum was now sadly beginning to wear thin. The Four Tops fled from Motown Records in the early 70s and had a number of record deals that didn't amount to too much and gradually they faded from view (though enjoyed a few minor revivals in the 1980's).
To this day The Four Tops continue to sporadically perform on the customary golden oldies circuit but its their glorious, golden 1960's era for what they will always be remembered for. This compilation titled The Ultimate Collection guides you through these fabulous, ground-breaking classics and capture the group at their prime. The Four Tops - The Ultimate Collection is ESSENTIAL to any serious soul music collection!
Ian Phillips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Tops ARE Tops, 22 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the 60s and 70s i wasnt really in to Motown but having hit my 50s for some reason im really now into it all and i really love it! Four Tops and the Temptations are my favourite. If you have never been in to Motown then this Album is a good place to start..the Harmonies and the Productions of theses songs are so powerful you feel like its gotten in to your Soul!!They may only have one original member i believe in their current line-up but the Magic of their songs will live on for ever to many more generations to come...
Amanda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I had to buy this CD because my collection was missing certain tracks that are on this CD.....marvellous !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The same old songs - but in mono, and with a few omissions, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Like the compilation from the same series by the Tops' stable-mates, the Supremes, this compilation is unfortunately in mono. However, there is a more serious issue. The Supremes Ultimate Collection faithfully mirrored the US charts, including - in almost perfect sequence - all their Top 40 hits up to Diana Ross' departure. This collection, however, is out of sequence, and omits four of the Tops' Motown top 40 hits, including their immortal take on If I were a Carpenter, in favour of less notable songs.
With these reservations, it is still a reasonable selection, showcasing the first three stages of the Tops' chart career: the early hits, funkier than the Supremes but more restrained than the Temptations; the middle period, beginning with Reach out I'll be there, which took Tamla to a new and higher level; and the fascinating era of the late 60s, where they became perhaps the "best covers band" ever, with such diverse songs as Walk away Renee, Simple Game and All in the Game (plus the sadly missing "Carpenter".
There are better collections of the Tops available, though you would need to do some careful research on whether they are in stereo, and (crucially) whether they are originals or the infamous "re-recorded to enhance your listening pleasure". This album does, at least, give you the genuine article, even if only in mono.
To end on a positive note, I had never heard Something About You before, as the single missed the UK charts; the backing is a classic example of a repetitive, hypnotic Motown riff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sunshine music, 15 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to take a walk in the past and buy this collection - it's superb. It's sing-a-long as every track is well known, well remembered. None of it has dated, none of it. The voices are superb, blending so perfectly on every track. My only complaint, it isn't long enough but then the CD player will keep repeating it until I stop it, so that isn't too much of a problem...
It's sunshine music. It's memories and good listening, it's sing-a-long and listenable, it's every cliché in the book and then some.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy listening, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
original album destroyed by flooding how can you not love the four tops, slick harmonies, beautifully sung songs, beautiful songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tops!, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Jay (New Romney, Kent, ENGLAND!!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you remember them or if you just like Motown then these are some of their best hits from their heyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four Tops, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic CD. I didnt realise that I knew so many of there songs. It brought alot of happy memories back and I have it in my car to sing along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaeb31018)

This product

Only search this product's reviews