Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primus are fantastic
The first album I bought from the strange little band known as Primus, wasthe brown album, and goddamn thats a good piece of music.
Soon I newthat my need for Primus could not be quenched with just one album, so Ibought Antipop. And it blew my head off. Fantastico! I would cry as Idanced around merrily to the funky ass tunes. I was not disappointed withTales from the...
Published on 26 April 2004 by hardcorelegendgrant

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some very high points and some lows as well.
This C.D is worth it's cost for "Wynola's Big Brown Beaver" alone. Great bass, funky guiter and spooky vocals. However, not all the songs have this feel good feeling and there are some slow, dull and meaningless songs. I would recomend this album because of it's high points.
Published on 16 Nov. 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primus are fantastic, 26 April 2004
The first album I bought from the strange little band known as Primus, wasthe brown album, and goddamn thats a good piece of music.
Soon I newthat my need for Primus could not be quenched with just one album, so Ibought Antipop. And it blew my head off. Fantastico! I would cry as Idanced around merrily to the funky ass tunes. I was not disappointed withTales from the Punchbowl either. Have Primus made a bad album? Not in myopinion. Standout tracks on this album include Winonas big brown beaverand southbound pachyderm but to be honest, after a few hours listening allthe tracks grow on you and you'll love them. Prumus are like no other bandon the planet. They are are uniqe, inventive group of musicians. Buyit!
God bless Primus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music that will make your head spin, 15 Mar. 2004
By 
When i first heard Primus, i had difficulty in understanding it, and grasping the concept of this drug induced techincally textured album. The more you persevere with Primus, the more you'll be absorbed into their crazy world. This is a good starting point for anyone getting into Primus, although you've gotta to start from somewhere. This album is a strike out at the mainstream, as the title may suggest. Les Claypool truly is one of the best bassists i've ever heard, besides Victor Wooden. Wynona's big brown beaver, Year of the parrot, Southbound pachyderm and Over the electric grapevine are the best tracks on the album. If you play an instrument you'll LOVE this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some very high points and some lows as well., 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This C.D is worth it's cost for "Wynola's Big Brown Beaver" alone. Great bass, funky guiter and spooky vocals. However, not all the songs have this feel good feeling and there are some slow, dull and meaningless songs. I would recomend this album because of it's high points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Primus' house of treats, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Tim "Tim" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
A bit more prog influence on this one with songs such as the frantic opener Professor Nutbutter's House Of Treats, the spaced-out Southbound Pachyderm and the all-time Primus classic Over The Electric Grapevine having more extended jams than the generally concise Frizzle Fry and Sailing The Seas Of Cheese. It's also more bright and cheerful than it's dark predecessor Pork Soda as exemplified by the silly hit single Wynona's Big Brown Beaver. In a way this was the last of Primus' 'classic' albums and although I love what came after, the run from Frizzle Fry to Tales From The Punchbowl marks their commercial and critical apex. And Tim Alexander left for the first time after it's release. The end of an era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but not their best, 29 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
this is one strange album, but if you like strange stuff then i definatley recomend this. les claypools bass playing is ofcoarse amazing, although if you're just getting into primus i would say that antipop should be your first buy, or perhaps seas of chease or brown album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a primus fan and you have got this...why?!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
earlier off-the-wall album from Les, Larry and 'herb'....as eclectic as they always have been. But then if you're looking at a primus review chances are you're already interested in the band (you love em or you hate em..there is no in-between).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST PRIMUS, 7 Aug. 2005
By 
Gm Linkson "olskoolnonumetal" (Mitcham/Surrey/England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this is'nt the best."Sailing"is cool but the award has to go to their 1st 1990 debut "Frizzlefry"as it's so raw and heavy and also kicks you're tush,go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Punchbowl (Edited Version) (MP3 Download)
Good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Album, 15 Aug. 2003
firstly, let me start of by saying that this is not Primus's best album. Their best album is easily "Sailing The Seas Of Cheese", but it is definately not their worst (that goes to "The Brown Album"). This album is very different from previous efforts but is just as good. You can't beat Les Claypool's bass banjo with his droning voice on "De Anza Jig" or the amazing slap n slash bass, almost psychadelic guitars and brilliant drumming on "Wynonas Big Brown Beaver" or "Proffesor Nutbutters House Of Treats". This album also contains a few slower songs ("On The Tweak Again"). This is not Primus's most accesible album and not good to get if your just getting into primus but for anyone who has heard their previous efforts then you know what your in for. It is also good to keep an open mind when listening to this as some may be put of by Les's extremely wierd and nasally voice.
All in all this is a brilliant album and a worthy buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews