Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Discovery
I was never really a fan of Genesis until I bought this album for my Dad, and then stole it from him one night because I was bored. He highly recommended that I particularly listen to disc 3 because he thought that I would get on with that Genesis style best - and did I ever! This platinum collection must be one of the best around. The carefully chosen combination of...
Published on 15 Sep 2006 by Shazzeth

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Every Album Tells A Story...
What an absolutely brilliant listen this CD is! Well to be more accurate I mean CD3 of this compilation. As a long-time genesis admirer from the 1970's i.e. when they were actually putting their best work together, it is a very useful reminder of the times. If you ever wanted to see (hear) what difference it made when Peter Gabriel left Genesis, and just how the band slid...
Published on 6 April 2006 by Euler's Best Friend


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Discovery, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I was never really a fan of Genesis until I bought this album for my Dad, and then stole it from him one night because I was bored. He highly recommended that I particularly listen to disc 3 because he thought that I would get on with that Genesis style best - and did I ever! This platinum collection must be one of the best around. The carefully chosen combination of songs work so well and in a way different to nearly every other band's "greatest hits" this travels backwards. Disc 1 being the most recent, and 3 being the earlier work featuring Peter Gabriel. This is a stunning collection of songs for any fan of Genesis and I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking to find out more about the band, as it converted me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 22 May 2005
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
What can i say. I am 16 and i'm supposed to like the R and B rubbish but this album is brilliant.I listend to tracks of my dads old lp's when i was much younger and i loved them so i decided to buy this album. It has songs that are very hard to find and great instrumental tracks e.g. Behind the lines. The album also features tracks that are from the very early period like the knife taken from the album trespass which was there first album. The album also has a book which has a kind of story of genesis, telling you how they started and what happend when Phil Collins started to be a singer. in the whole A GREAT ALBUM FULL OF BRILLIANT SONGS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Genesis to Revelation!, 30 Dec 2004
By 
Neil Watt (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
The ultimate Genesis album? YES! Platinum Collection? DEFINATELY!
This has to be in your collection if you are a Genesis fan. A little bit of everything is here, from the earliest days to the very last album.
It reminds you of the diversity of the music Genesis has produced over the years, Gabriel, Collins and Wilson doing the vocal bits, Banks on the Keyboards, and Hackett and Rutherford on the Guitars, with one or two people you never knew were in Genesis! All wonderfully remixed and re-brought to life.
Highlights are a plenty, to me all of the third disc (best on the album with the very early stuff - Pre Collins on voice!). All the classics are here - suppers ready, the knife, cinema show, carpet crawlers.... Abacab and Duchess on the second disc, some of the recent stuff you forget about that is actually good - Phil before he was famous! The first disc is probably the weakest of them all, too much of "Genesis" (apart from Mama) and not enough from "Calling all Stations".
The reworking and production is superb, all the bits you never heard on vinyl because you've played it so often and your LP's were scratched, or the originals were so poorly recorded.
The only downside is - it leaves you wanting more, more of the oldies, more of your favourites they didn't put on, why wasn't it a four or five CD collection?
I come back to my original point, the ultimate Genesis album? For me yes, but buy it and you decide. But can we please have all the old albums (up to Wind and Wuthering) reworked and re-released in this format? Please......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value - not always the right songs, 20 Feb 2006
By 
N. Mason (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
For anyone wanting a great value album covering all of the career of one of the most successful bands of all time this is a great place to start. There are some excellent tracks on the 3 albums but too often the selection appears to be the ones which are verging on commercial rather than the best songs from the various albums. This is particularly true on CD's 1 and 2 where the epics such as 'Dreaming While you Sleep' and 'Living Forever' from 'We Can't Dance' are left off for more commercial songs such as 'Hold on My Heart'. It is not until you get to CD3 that the real power and beauty of Genesis shows through with some excellent tracks from their earlier albums - unfortunately there are not enough of them and the album would have benefited from more tracks from 'Trespass' and 'Nursery Cryme'. This would have allowed the casual listener to hear something more interesting which may have helped give them greater insight on what Genesis were like 30+ years ago.
However, as I said above this is fantastic value and worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Genesis - Revelation!, 16 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. M. Haskell "Martin H" (Maidstone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
The the writer of the sleeve notes on this album assumes that you won't find many die hard Genesis fans who have every track on this album. Whoops.
So if I already have all the tracks contained within, why did I buy it?
I heard "A Trick Of The Tail" on the radio, and even through the airwaves to my car stereo it became clear that Nick Davis' re-working of most of discs 2 and 3 are an absolute revelation, if you'll pardon the pun.
Hearing classic pieces first played on 1970's 'stereos' in their newly re-mixed form is like having a classic oil painting cleaned, or having your ears syringed!
Many of the previously inaudible secrets of these songs have been revealed to give even those who have enjoyed these pieces for more than 30 years a fresh perspective.
Ignore the pointless politics of the Gabriel v Collins v Wilson arguments and just enjoy.
You might think you already have many or all these songs in your collection. Trust me - you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent chronology from a great band., 15 Jan 2005
By 
Schnauzer fan (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This is an excellent compilation, featuring the right amount of music from all eras from 1970 - 1997. I shall review the 3 discs separately.
Disc 1 contains all their major hits from the "Genesis" album onwards, with one or two classic album tracks - "Home by the sea", and "'Second' home by the sea", and the great "Illegal Alien". The only snag is the edited version of "Tonight, tonight, tonight" and the lack of material from their last album, "Calling all stations", although "Mama" and other tracks, that may have been edited for single releases, are there in their entirety.
Disc 2 contains the music from my favourite era, 1976-82, which an excellent selection of tracks from "Duke", my favourite three tracks from "And then there were three" and "Wind and Wuthering". Just a pity that they didn't include anything further from "Abacab", although they have included the longer version of that song to justify for this.
Disc 3 contains all the early stuff which featured Peter Gabriel on vocals, an excellent choice of tracks from "The Lamb lies down on Broadway", and "Selling England by the Pound", and one each from their previous albums, which are still growing on me, and personally, I would have preferred "Fountain of Salmacis" instead of "Musical Box" from Nursery Cryme, but all in all, a great selection of tracks.
I would strongly recommend this collection for any Genesis fan, even if you have all, or in my case, most of, their albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis in reverse, 14 April 2005
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I must be one of the few people around who actually liked Genesis in all their incarnations, from the prog-rock of the Peter Gabriel era, through the transitonal period when he left but they still sounded like a rock band, to the more recent times when the output became thinly disguised Phil Collins solo albums.
This collection is unique (as far as I'm aware) in that it is compiled in reverse chronological order (with the exception of the post-Collins "Calling All Stations", which is inexplicably tacked on to the end of CD1) going back as far as the start of their contract with Charisma. The most popular or commercial numbers from each of their 14 studio albums are included, plus "Paperlate", from the "3x3" EP, which is the nearest thing to a rarity.
As has already been observed, most, but, oddly, not all, the tracks pre-1983 have been remixed, and this does give them more body, a fuller sound, like using the loudness button you used to get on cheaper hifi amplifiers. The tracks that miss out on the treatment - "Behind The Lines", "Your Own Special Way" and "Supper's Ready" - sound leaner but clearer to my ears.
Long gone are the days (as a bachelor) when I could spend a whole evening and fill the house with the sound of the complete "Lamb Lies Down..." or "Trick Of The Tail". At just six minutes under four hours long I may be pushing it to play much of this collection in mixed company, but it is great to have this summary of the band's material to dip in to now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Every Album Tells A Story..., 6 April 2006
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
What an absolutely brilliant listen this CD is! Well to be more accurate I mean CD3 of this compilation. As a long-time genesis admirer from the 1970's i.e. when they were actually putting their best work together, it is a very useful reminder of the times. If you ever wanted to see (hear) what difference it made when Peter Gabriel left Genesis, and just how the band slid into pop mediocrity then I suggest you listen to the CDs in reverse order. The work from "Selling England By The Pound" is often under-rated, but here the selections are excellent, and lead nicely into Suppers Ready and Musical Box. If you are fond of the 1980s sound-bite music that Genesis produced there is also plenty for you. All the commercial hits are covered. To be fair there is still some good music mingled in on Cds 1 & 2. I personally feel that the tracks from "Trick of The Tail" and more particularly "Lamb Lies Down..." seem a bit lost out of their context but you can't help but enjoy tracks like Ripples & Carpet Crawlers.
This is definitely a good buy at the price. You'll enjoy the quality of the instrumentations on all three CDs and its so easy to skip those annoying tracks - thats what CDs are for. My overall advice is to buy it for CD3 alone and then you can decide on whether to buy any of the back-catalogue. I'd disagree with earlier reviewer about the very early work. I think there's enough from the first three albums. Once you've got "Suppers Ready" you've really got the essence of Foxtrot. Finally one thing they could have put on - "Match Of The Day" - you never seem to hear that one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying overview covering prog to pop, 23 Dec 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
A 3 CD best of compilation, it must be Christmas!! Yes it's that time of year again, when artists put together, or in some cases throw together their "best" bits to cash in on the Christmas market. So how does this 3 CD retrospective by Genesis fare. It's interesting that the tracks are ordered in reverse chronology. I assume the logic here is that best to showcase the more commercially successful material up-front and put the more "difficult" progressive stuff at the end. I will be honest and say that I left Genesis after "Duke" and didn't take to the "pop" approach of later works. However, over the years I have warmed a bit more to what the trio were doing in the latter part of the bands existence. They did do some good stuff on the later albums.
Any compilation like this is going to be aimed at the mildly curious. Those who don't want to fork out for the whole back catalogue but wouldn't mind having something that acts as a taster. This is not for the die hard fan looking for unreleased, hard to find material. The material here is a good mixture of single releases and key album tracks. Nice to have the whole of "Suppers Ready" here for instance. For me CD1 is mostly unfamiliar apart from the hit singles. But listening to this now, the essence of what made Genesis great during their whole career is still present. That is good, individual songwriting. What is missing is the distinctive instrumental sound. Listening to the drums on these latter tracks, it could be anyone playing. There is none of Phil Collins inventive drumming here. The same with Tony Banks digital keyboards. Quite formulaic in places. But they did what they did well and you cannot take that away from them.
Genesis fans will be interested to know that a large percentage of the tracks here, mostly the earlier stuff have been newly mixed by in-house engineer Nick Davis and this is where this set scores huge points. The sound is fantastic. Listening to those tracks is a revelation. Older material sounds as if it was recorded yesterday. The amount of detail and depth brought out of these mixes is like listening to them for the first time. I thought Nick did a great job on the Definitive Remasters of the back catalogue back in the early 90's, but the sound offered here is nothing short of a revelation, especially in the vocal department. For instance I always found "And Then There Were Three ..." sounded brittle and harsh. But the tracks from that showcased here sound full and lively. Collins voice on "Follow You, Follow Me" sounds much more earthy and really makes this a different sounding song to the more throwaway pop feel of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse collection from prog rock to pure pop, 29 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Three very different CD's make up this impressive collection. The first - covering most of the 80s and 90s - is Genesis of the top 20: a mix of well crafted, pop songs. Many mistakenly assume that Phil Collins - the band's drummer and singer - was responsible for this poppier sound, but the other two surviving members of this time, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford (of Mike and the Mechanics)were in on the act. Tonight Tonight Tonight, No Son of Mine, That's All and Mama are the highlights.
Most of disc 2 features the band in the late 70s - the sort of adult, lush, tuneful rock that Radiohead, Coldplay, Keane and others have rediscovered. This is a world away from the Genesis most people know from their 80 radio play and there are real gems here - such as Afterglow, Ripples, Undertow and Duchess.
Finally, and for me the best, is the very different Disc 3 covering the era when Peter Gabriel was lead singer. Experimental, long tracks, but not always accessible on first hearing, these are some of the best crafted songs of their time. The epic 20 minutes of Supper's Ready, the menance of The Knife and the stunning Cinema Show are mindblowing. Phil Collins proves here that he was one of the best drummers of the era.
Over the three discs, all tastes are catered for and the new stereo mixes are an improvement on the originals. Essential stuff and don't let Phil Collin's involvement put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews