Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE "MUST HAVE" ROD STEWART ALBUM..., 9 Mar 2006
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you could only have one Rod Stewart album, this would be the one to have. It is quintessential Rod Stewart: brash and raucous one minute, poignant and mournful another.
This CD contains some terrific songs, and they run the gamut in feeling from the folksy "Maggie May" to the lyrical" Mandolin Wind" to the pure, motown/rock refrains of "I'm Losing You" . It also contains one of the greatest songs ever written by Tim Hardin "Reason To Believe". That alone, in and of itself, is reason enough to have this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful blend of folk and rock, 11 Mar 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
If Rod Stewart had carried on in this vein, he would have been bigger than Elvis now and with his credibility intact, like Tom Waits and the Rolling Stones. These songs are real gems, from the hard rocking Maggie May, the stirring Reason To Believe and That's Alright to the more folky numbers like Tomorrow Is A Long Time, Seems Like A Long Time and the deliciously sad but uplifting Mandolin Wind. The music is moving and authentic, the lyrics are poetic and evocative and the melodies are beautiful. Maggie May/Reason To Believe was a double-sided single and one of the biggest hits of 1971 on both sides of the Atlantic. A perfect blend of superb material and passionate delivery make Every Picture Tells A Story a classic rock album and one of the very best albums of the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Rod Stewart, 8 Dec 2009
An excellent mix of self-penned and covers. Rod's voice is at its raucous and its sensitive best and the band (mainly Faces)is sensational. This is a must have album for all music lovers. If you think of Rod and write him off as middle of the road and disco (Do ya think I'm sexy et al)then do yourself a huge favour and buy this. You will not look back and will enter into the real world of Rod's excellent rocking, rhythm and blues and will be collecting his old albums (and those of the Faces/Small Faces) by the bucket load. Definitive Rod Stewart and an outstanding album - up there with the very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE "MUST HAVE" ROD STEWART CD..., 5 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you could only have one Rod Stewart album, this would be the one to have. It is quintessential Rod Stewart: brash and raucous one minute, poignant and mournful another.
This CD contains some terrific songs, and they run the gamut in feeling from the folksy "Maggie May" to the lyrical" Mandolin Wind" to the pure, motown/rock refrains of "I'm Losing You" . It also contains one of the greatest songs ever written by Tim Hardin "Reason To Believe". That alone, in and of itself, is reason enough to have this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Rod Stewart album; still a timeless classic, 8 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This 1971 album is far and away the best Rod Stewart album and one of the Top 10 albums of that decade. This was only his third album and it went to the top of the album charts both in the U.S. and the U.K., whereas "Gasoline Alley," released the previous year had only made it to #27 on the Billboard chart (it would not be until 1979 that Stewart would have another album reach #1, with "Blondes Have More Fun"). In the early part of his career Stewart managed to find interesting ways of mixing folk, rock, blues and country, both in his single career and as the front man for the Faces, who released both their second ("Long Player") and third albums ("A Nod Is as Good as a Wink...To a Blind Horse Faces") that year as well ("Stay With Me" was the big hit off of the later). So for Rod Stewart 1971 was a very good year.
The big single off of this album, of course, is "Maggie May," hit #1 for several weeks (this was the first song we played for our daughter Maggie, the day after she was born). This is one of the great songs about being seduced by an older woman. Two other singles charted, the rockin' cover of "(I Know) I'm Losing You" originally done by the Temptations, which made it to #24, and Stewart's poignant cover of Tim Hardin's "Reason to Believe," which ends the album on a quiet note and made it to #62. Then there is the exquisite "Mandolin Wind" (played by some guy Rod forgot the name of) and the frenetic energy of the title track, which lulls you into a false sense of security by beginning with an acoustic guitar part before the drums start drivin' this one hard and fast. Surprisingly, most of the songs on this one are covers, the exceptions between "Mandolin Wind" and the title track, the latter co-written by Stewart with lead guitarist Ron Wood.
Stewart exhibits a lot of range on this album and for me the only that could possible qualify as a misfire would be the cover of Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow Is Such a Long Time," which is a bit ironic because you would think that would work. "Seems Like a Long Time" is pretty good, as is the rollickin' "That's All Right" by "Big Boy" Crudup. I even love the sheet music on the "back cover" ("It's Full of Good Things and Loads of Suggestions"). As far as I am concerned if your choice is between this and a Rod Stewart "Greatest Hits" CD, get this one because it is all downhill for Stewart from this point on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the full album, 17 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic album - but what happened to Amazing Grace on the cd reissue? Unless my old mind is playing tricks it was on my original vinyl recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 10 best albums I own, 18 April 2011
Rod has perplexed me for many years and I still mourn the passing of one of the greatest vocalists and singers of the last 50 years. His decision in the 80s to go sailing to the USA meant the end of an amazing collection of fabulous albums and the death of Rod's musical contribution to the world. Every Picture is the Jewel in the crown, an album so perfect and well loved by so many that it cannot be improved upon. Every note, every instrument, every player is very much in a perfect place and together create an album that I have been listening to and enjoying since the first day I bought it. I have bought replacement vinyl, CD and downloads and still it rewards repeat listens. Every track is a singular and gratifying listen with Rod delivering lyrics that have been as much a part of my life as food and drink. If you have not heard this in all its fulness then please do yourself a favour and buy this 5 star gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'd just like to add a small note that highlights just a ..., 30 Sep 2014
By 
Robert Marshall "lavistas" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Everyone on here rightly recognising that this is, indeed a classic album, made by a singer at the top of his game. I'd just like to add a small note that highlights just a good the chap was: I first heard this album on Radio 1 (good grief) - John Peel was so taken by it, he played side 1 right through one night and side 2 right through on the following night. Tell that to kids nowadays ... and they won't believe you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Picture Tells A Story
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews