Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bassey
Disagree with the previous reviewer. I think this is pretty much the finished article here and there is no denying the power and quality of Shirley's voice. The songs are wonderful as well, long before all that Hey Big Spender crap. I wouldn't have minded a magnifying glass to read the original sleeve notes though.
Published on 12 May 2010 by A. Forbes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks omitted
Ordered this CD purely for the Let's Face the Music album. I already have it on vinyl, so was disappointed to discover that 3 of the original tracks have been omitted
Published 22 months ago by john knights


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bassey, 12 May 2010
By 
A. Forbes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disagree with the previous reviewer. I think this is pretty much the finished article here and there is no denying the power and quality of Shirley's voice. The songs are wonderful as well, long before all that Hey Big Spender crap. I wouldn't have minded a magnifying glass to read the original sleeve notes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great albums by a GREAT voice, 10 Aug 2004
By 
D. W. Peirce-hendriks (DRUTEN, (Gld) Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These two albums are Shirley Bassey in her early days as a
performer - recorded both in the early 1960's.
Great musical accompaniment, the voice is not the full developed Bassey of the late 60's early 70's but the promise is there!
Wouls have given the cd 5 stars BUT for one.....small point BOTH albums have already had a cd release (Individually) and several Shirley Bassey albums are yet still to be issued on cd. So come on please EMI release more digital Bassey from the vinyl vaults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shirley / Lets face the music., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent value CD with two early LP's contained on it. 'Shirley' is a very early LP and contains many 'standards' well rendered in the early Bassey style - clean and well sung and with more or less standard arrangements. 'Lets face the music' was, I think, the first she did with a big American conductor/arranger (earlier she was with Geoff Love) and I feels it suffers with more emphasis on the orchestra than to her and both she and the songs consequently suffer. Certainly not one of my favourites but I'm glad to have it nevertheless. ACD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Burley Chassis back in my music collection-brilliant!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had the LP's back in the day...so no surprises there, except for the fact that we had to lose a couple of tracks due to time constraints.For me it lost a star for that reason only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tracks omitted, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this CD purely for the Let's Face the Music album. I already have it on vinyl, so was disappointed to discover that 3 of the original tracks have been omitted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shirley bassey review, 26 April 2011
By 
Arthur Byrne (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
great music. great price. 2 songs missing off the nelson riddle album.
would have left them on and took 2 from geoff love album. mentions
this in the booklet. one is recorded with riddle, the other with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shirley/Let's Face The Music
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews