Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Rock Albums of all Time, 26 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
KISS' self titled debut record is not one of KISS biggest sellers, and certainly shifted far less copies than more recognised classic by other bands. But don't let that fool you, it's one of the best albums of all time.

I don't praise it lightly, almost every track is pure gold. It's mid 1970s hard rock with Klassics like Deuce, Strutter, Cold Gin, Firehouse and Black Diamond being the standouts. Others such as 100,000 Years, Nothing to Lose and Let me Know are also fine songs. The only let downs are Kissin' Time and Love Theme From KISS. The former (recorded purely for promotional reasons) was not originally on the album and only stuck on later pressings against the wishes of the band. The latter is one part of a nearly lost song called Acrobat which is superb.

Had the band left off KISSin' Time and put on the full version of Acrobat you would have a flat out masterpiece. As it is, it is still KISS's best album and jam packed with brilliant rock tunes anyway. It is the album that started a mania and one that no rock fan should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really good start of this legendary band., 14 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
This one more than any other kiss cd is true glam rock. It sounds like glam rock and plays like the best of it. There's alot of songs on here that could be on many glam rockers release. Only the way they played them live was more melodic metal style!. But glam rock was a form of hard rock anyways. so who cares. There isn't a bad song on here if you like 1970's metal or glam. THe songs were played slower back then and I still love that decades hard rock. But thrasher type fans who can only stand really hard rock need not apply. This has wonderful versions of many kiss Klassiks on here , like 'black diamond' , 'cold gin' and 'strutter' , the next one was more raw sounding and less glammy , this one is a better recording imo though. Kiss was on the scene and they were out to conquer. In fact they still put cd's into the number one or two spot around the world even today. few bands this old can do that. the stones, the beach boys and a very few others. although kiss is not at the 50 year mark like those two greats are. Because they make fun hard rock that is in reality family friendly and just good fun. This is a great one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you always remember your first kiss, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
despite the really poor (by 1973 standards)production the class of this recording shines thru,the consistent quality of the songs allows you to forget the audio limitations,duece/strutter/black diamond/firehouse/nuthin to lose and cold gin classics one and all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Got Got Nothin' To Lose!, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
Five big fat gold stars for this Kiss classic. What's not to like about this debut album the songwriting is stellar the street savvy attitude leaps out at you right from the ultimate glam anthem Strutter to the bombastic Black Diamond. Every track catches fire in a good way with possibly the exception of the short and only instrumental Love Theme from Kiss. The full track Acrobat where this comes from is longer but has more about it tempo wise and has a sung section called Much Too Young. Would love to hear a studio version of this but for now check out the Kiss Box Set for a live version.

Some bands take a while to find their style and sound but Kiss came out of the blocks fully formed both musically and visually Deuce, Firehouse, Ace's Cold Gin, 100,000 years need I say more? Yes, well what about Nothin' To Lose, Kissin' Time, and Let Me Know, knockout. Buy it you will not be disappointed.

The 97 Remaster is a huge improvement sound wise over the original CD release but wouldn't an expanded version be a fitting way to celebrate it's and Kiss' 40 year anniversary in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First. The Best. Long live the Kings..., 8 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
WOW! Its classic from start to finish and they've never, EVER done a better studio album than this. This was the first KISS I ever heard. Track one, STRUTTER, being my first KISS track and I was converted forever. The production is GREAT, if of its time, but that only adds to the magic of this album. So many classic tunes, such as DEUCE, FIREHOUSE, BLACK DIAMOND, COLD GIN, NOTHIN' TO LOSE, and my favourite, yes, its LET ME KNOW, which is apparently the first song they wrote. And check out the exit of that track, which they would later use when they played 'SHE' live. Its such a killer.
Why they had to wait until after the release of ALIVE to be a huge band is a mystery (don't get me wrong - if i'm trying to get anyone into KISS, then I recommend ALIVE, but this is definitely their finest studio achievement). Its a work of genius and you must own it. It'll brighten your life. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Debut, 23 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
Kiss started with an album full of classics.
The production is very stiff and great tracks like Deuce, Cold Gin and Firehouse do not have the drive as you know it from live recordings.
You have the feeling that the whole thing had been recorded in a cardboard box. Whatever...
After years of listening you even start to like tracks like 'Kissin' time' and 'Love theme from Kiss'. It's meant to be fun and that's what it delivers. Seven classics out of ten and a band that just learns how to play.
Those songs are the fundament of Kiss' career and the best of them are on Alive, anyway. But the versions of 100.000 Years and Black Diamond are worth a comparison.

(I have to add that I never heard the full remastered version that is on display. But I heard a few of the songs and I think there's not a big difference compared to the vinyl version.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st And Perhaps Of Best Of Hsitory's Best Ever Band-KISS, 18 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
Most albums contain no classics at all, this album has five! The show-opener Deuce crackles with heart-pounding energy with a strong Simmons voice and speedy Frehley solo. Strutter (the first song ever demoed by the band) is a tribute to classy women the world over and comprises a killer riff and superb vocals. The monster riff and growling vocals make up the Frehley anthem Cold Gin with the Criss vocals and heart-stopping solo from the Space-Ace forming Black Diamond. The list is endless. It is an early heavy-metal classic with some of KISStory's best songs such as Deuce, Black Diamond, Strutter, 100,000 Years, Cold Gin, Nothin' To Lose and Firehouse - later all staples of the KISS revolutionary stage show. Get it, at all costs and at whatever price, this album is worth the cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent debut album, 1 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
It took a bit of time getting into this album. But once i did i found this to be one of my favourites in my CD collection. It is argued by many that this remains KISS's finest hour, well in the studio anyway. The reasons for this are due to the amount of classic songs on here. Strutter starts the album off brilliantly and all the way through you are treated to great rock music. My personal favourites are Strutter, Black Diamond and cold gin. Though all this album is great. I even enjoy the throw away instrumenatal and the rework of kissin time. So overall an excellent album and worth checking out especially if you just like listening to rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It started with a Kiss, 28 Feb. 2014
By 
maz "maz" (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
With a cover sleeve which mimicked the With The Beatles album, but with a quartet of war painted drag queens introduces us to one of the greatest American rock bands.

Kiss's debut album contains 10 songs of which 8 are classics. Strutter, Deuce, Cold Gin to name but 3. Kiss are as American as Apple Pie but they were influenced by the great British bands such as Zeppelin, The Beatles, The Who and most interestingly glam rock stars Slade.

The sound quality isn't great which is perhaps why this doesn't seem to crop of in "classic album" polls. But don't let it put you off. A great album by a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...Pure Gold Debut!!!.................., 13 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Kiss (Audio CD)
Kiss....To have songs of the strength of " Duece", " Cold Gin", " Firehouse", " 100,000 Years", " Strutter" & " Black Diamond" on your debut album is no mean feat. Sure there are a couple of fillers, but the pure gold on here outweighs any tin.......This proves that something very special was there from the start. Future recordings may of ranged from iconic to diabolical, but this is an excellent start from one of the greatest and original live/ studio bands ever.

Pure Gold: AAAAA+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews