Customer Reviews


144 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodious pop reggae
It might not be roots, but UB40 has mellow pop reggae down to a T. This hit-packed compilation includes their early ska-based songs King and Food For Thought, plus all their later successes. Most of their biggest hits were covers of older classics, but they always did a good job in the interpretation. Red Red Wine, for example, is absolutely brilliant and the same can be...
Published on 15 Feb. 2004 by Peter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars UB40 CD.
Well packed. Arrived on time. Brilliant CD. Will recommend to family. Easy listening.
Published 6 months ago by Jane Macqueen


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodious pop reggae, 15 Feb. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
It might not be roots, but UB40 has mellow pop reggae down to a T. This hit-packed compilation includes their early ska-based songs King and Food For Thought, plus all their later successes. Most of their biggest hits were covers of older classics, but they always did a good job in the interpretation. Red Red Wine, for example, is absolutely brilliant and the same can be said for Kingston Town, Cherry Oh Baby and I Got You Babe with Chrissie Hynde on guest vocal. I also love the humorous Rat In Mi Kitchen and their excellent interpretation of The Doors’ Light My Fire. Although not completely comprehensive, this compilation offers excellent value for money in that these tracks really were their greatest hits from a 20-year career. There’s not one filler track and every song is catchy and hummable. If you like your reggae melodic and mellow, this album is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Get Any Better, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
For me, UB40 are at their very best when writing their own material. But there are certain exceptions to that rule - Red Red Wine, Can't Help Falling In Love With You. UB40 are a band who remain true to their roots, still living in Birmingham, they also remain close to their musical roots and give due respect to their idols. This album represents a commercial Best Of, songs which have either sold by the bucket loadand is guaranteed to make you dance and sing along. The perfect album by a vastly underrated band, to introduce someone to UB40, every song is infectious and you'll play it again and again.
For me, the highlight is Sing Our Own Song, a tribute to the Freedom fighters primarily in South Africa, but could also apply to other oppressed parts of the world. This is followed closely by King, which is in a word - SUPREME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding album, by an outstanding band, 25 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
Having been a UB40 fan for 15 years, I decided to buy this album the day it was released, even though I had all the songs on other albums. This album really does show how talented this band really are. Their new single "Light My Fire", is an outstanding contribution to the album, which I am sure will do well when released as a single.
For any UB40 fan this album is a must and for anyone else, buy it you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 31 May 2009
By 
W. Rolland (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
This album really is the best of.... None of the rubbish thrown in to make up the numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of UB40, 9 Oct. 2000
By 
S. J. Cummins "Steve Cummins" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
It's compilation time again. This is UB40's third pre-Christmas greatest hits album, but that does not detract from the quality of the content. The Birmingham based reggae band have released a definitive collection from a twenty year career that has produced three UK number 1's and thirty four Top 40 hits.
This 20-track CD collects together the pick of The Best of UB40 Volume One and Volume Two, released in 1987 and 1995 respectively. It also features recent hits such as 'Tell Me Is It True' and 'Come Back Darling', as well as their new single - a cover of the Door's classic 'Light My Fire'. The compilation comes at a time when Virgin hope to raise the profile of the band, ahead of the release of an album of new material some time in the new year.
For anyone vaguely interested in UB40, this is indeed a worthy introduction to their music. Hits from the three popular Labour of Love albums are featured, including 'Red Red Wine', 'Kingston Town' and the gorgeous 'Homely Girl'. Other cover versions include their rendition of 'I Got You Babe' and the world wide hit from the summer of 1993, 'Can't Help Falling In Love'.
However, this CD does much to shatter the myth that UB40 are nothing more than a cover band. Twelve of their finest self-penned compositions are included, which serve to highlight the bands' song-writing abilities. From the early years comes their first single 'Food For Thought' and 'King', whilst the album opens with the anti-unemployment hit 'One In Ten'. Other classics include 'Don't Break My Heart' and the African liberation anthem 'Sing Our Own Song', which was performed live at the Nelson Mandela concert at Wembley in 1988.
The distinctive voice of singer Ali Campbell takes the lead on most tracks. However, the toasting vocals of Astro feature on 'Bring Me Your Cup' and 'Rat In Mi Kitchen'. Long-standing fans of the band will be critical, no doubt, of the absence of some of UB40's other classics, especially more of the political songs of their early years. Yet this CD is intended to represent the wider appeal of one of Britain's most successful, and often underrated, groups. For two decades UB40 have built up a fan base from all ages, races and social groups, selling nearly 50 million records in the process.
Whether you are new to their music or not, The Very Best of UB40 is an album that will look good in any Christmas stocking this year, and will delight listeners both old and young.
Steve Cummins, October 2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Food for Thought, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
This UB40 CD is the kind of greatest hits which has most of their best songs ie Food for Thought, King, The Earth Dies Screaming, One In Ten, Red Red Wine, Many Rivers To Cross, I Got You Babe, Dont Break My Heart, Cant Help Falling In Love, Higher Ground, but includes a few less than great eg their cover of The Doors' Light My Fire, Bring My Cup at the expense of key songs like My Way of Thinking, Please Dont Make Me Cry, Breakfast In Bed, Here I Am (Come & Take Me), The Way You Do The Things You Do which really should be on a highlights album.

Unfortunately a comprenhensive single CD of their best work doesn't currently exist, but whilst we're waiting for one, this is at least a highly enjoyable stop-gap and the audio quality is good. Some of their music is really great, and has aged well. Its true that - like all reggae music - it is a bit samey and their later music tends to the bland and MOR, but the quality of singing and playing in their best material is outstanding. My favourites here are Food For Thought (first single, which I dont think they ever bettered), King, One In Ten, Many Rivers To Cross, Dont Break My Heart, Sing Our Own Song, Rat In Mi Kitchen (which sounds a bit like Madness or The Beat), and Higher Ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good album, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
This is a really good album full of timeless hits. Bought the album and (thanks Amazon) I didn't have to wait for it to turn up as I also got the MP3 version for free.

UB40 is one of those bands that simply 'click' with the listener and, what I found most enjoyable on listening to them all over again, was the, sometimes very subtle, harmonies. Whilst often quite simplistic, the arrangements work and they work very well.

Recommended for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UB40, 5 Oct. 2011
By 
M. F. Hemmings (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
I saw UB40 at Cropredy 2011 and loved them. I went straight home to listen to my old vinyl copy of signing off. I then ordered the best of. I think I still prefer the vinyl copy of signing off but this is a great compilation of the best of with all the good early tracks. Some of the later ones are not as good which is a shame as some of the more recent UB40 offerings and their live performance remain outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
J. M. THOMSON (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
A great compilation CD covering all their best tracks and more. Just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bluebeat and Brum, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
I hugely enjoyed Signing Off and the first couple of Labour of Love albums; then a few weeks ago, for some unknown reason, One in Ten entered my head and wouldn't leave. So I bought the album. Five stars for that track alone, but because the rest of the album doesn't quite match it, I've given it four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews