Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2000
There are two sorts of these "Greatest hits" packages; a) a couple of hits and lots of cover versions, b) all the hits and useful album tracks. This is an example of b). All of their big hits, the smaller ones (Nevertheless, Goodbye is Just Another Word) and some great "fillers". The penultimate track, The Greatest Song I've Ever Heard, is the best song on the album. If you like your pop music with great harmonies, arrangements and melodies, then give this a listen!
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2012
If you remember the 70's then The New Seekers are part of that era's musical history with a range of easy to listen to MOR hits. This collection has all of their hits and many songs I had not heard before. For Amazon's current cheap price it is worth buying this CD rather than paying for individual MP3 downloads.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2004
For those unfamiliar with the New Seekers this CD provides a plaform to experience a range of material recorded by the group between 1970 and 1974. Four of the five members are featured vocalists on these tracks, and they include all the hit singles and then some. Top prize however goes to Eve Graham (the brunette)who manages to be lead or featured vocalist on 12 of the 20 tracks. But what of the music? This compilation features 10 UK hits and two USA hits with the remainder being culled from a range of albums. You can hear the New Seekers interpret songs by Melanie Safka, Neil Diamond, James Taylor, , Harry Chapin, Pete Townsend, Roger Cook and Tony Macauley. Ms Graham probably has the most adaptible voice and turns her hand to a variety of songs - the tour de force being Dick Holler's 'The Greatest Song I've Ever Heard', initially hidden on a UK album, but issued as a single in the USA and the Far East. Or listen to her share the spotlight with Lyn Paul on 'A Brand New Song' - probably the most 'should-have been a single' song they recorded. The tracks additional to the obligatory hit singles, give the other group members a chance to shine in the spotlight. The album is polished and really does have a timeless quality about it. Whilst it's great to hear these songs, one can't help but wonder about the tracks the group recorded that never seen the light of day - now that would be a special album, giving us a glimpse of the full range of their talents.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2000
This is a great collection of New Seekers hits, some of the tracks are not well known, others are known because they have been recorded by other groups in the past, and some are known because the seekers recorded them, like Dance Dance Dance, Circles and the famous song that was advertising a famous soft drink ...I'd Likw To Teach The World To Sing. It is a great cd, well worth getting.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The New Seekers were a revival of the successful Australian folk outfit The Seekers that achieved major success in the UK and USA with songs like Georgy Girl, although none of the original members of the Seekers sang in the New Seekers. Their hit-making career started in 1971 with a cover of Melanie Safka's What Have They Done To My Song, but the real breakthrough came later that year with the exuberant Never Ending Song Of Love. The original, by Delaney and Bonnie Bramlett, also made the charts but the New Seekers' lively melodic version with its bright vocals was clearly the more commercially appealing. Other tuneful hits here include Beg, Steal or Borrow (A UK Eurovision Song Contest entry), the beautiful Circles and a stunning, genuine rock version of Pete Townsend's Pinball Wizard (See Me Feel Me). They also had hits with You Won't Find Another Fool Like Me and I Get A Little Sentimental Over You but these were tepid ballads in my opinion and I'm still not fond of them. The cover versions of famous 60s and 70s songs are better. And then there's their biggest hit that started out as a famous soft drink commercial: I'd Like To Teach The World To Sing. Erm, not my favorite either, probably because it was overplayed then and I've had enough of it forever. It's just a singalong ballad and does not compare well with their best songs like Never Ending Song Of Love and the stunning Pinball Wizard. This album is a great collection of their hits and best album tracks and I recommend it to all who love bright pop music and the poppier side of 60s and 70s folk.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Group was originally formed in 1969 to fill the gap left by 'Australian'
Folk-Group 'The Seekers' who had disbanded a year earlier, however
the line up was re-formed in 1970 the line-up was 'Eve Graham' 'Lyn Paul'
'Marty Kristian' 'Peter Doyle' and 'Paul Layton'
The group achieved their first U.K Chart entry in 1971 with 'Never Ending
Song of Love' (Chart '2') which was famously followed up with a re-worded
'Coke' advert 'I'd Like to Teach the World To Sing' again Topping the U.K
Chart, in 1972 the group continued to Chart, the first of these was the U.K
Eurovision song-entry 'Beg Steal or Borrow' which came second in the Chart
it peaked at Number '2' they followed this success with another number '4' Hit
'Circles'
The Following year they done a re-hash of the 'WHO' classic 'Pinball Wizard/
See Me Feel Me. which was probably a bit more 'Rock' than 'Folk'
Still in 73' they achieved their third Number '1' with 'You Won't Find Another
Fool Like Me' their last notable success coming the next year with 'I Get
A Little Sentimental Over You' (Chart '5')
The 'New Seekers' like their namesakes before them had World-Wide appeal
and Success' a great vocal outfit of the times.
The New Seekers' give many of us fond memories of the 70's music-scene in
which they played a significant part.
55 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
I love to reminisce to old music. This is a Classic CD great tunes you can sing a long to. you will be surprised just how many songs you will know by The New Seekers and you can understand the words,its just great fun.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
This takes me back to my early teens when it would have been a BAD IDEA to let anyone at school know you even grudgingly admired the New Seekers. I've got to the age now when I'll not worry about admitting to once liking this M.O.R. stuff. As long as you take it for what it is, you have to admit that it was well sung (with a special mention for Eve Graham, I think).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
I'm not the world's biggest New Seekers fan but this comp is a lovely place to start. It features all the hits from the Lyn Paul/Eve Graham years and the CD is really cheaply priced. You can't really go wrong.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
The New Seekers were connected to the original Seekers via Keith Potger who set them up.The biggest hit was previously made by the Hillside Singers-the coke commercial which had begun as I'd Like To Give The World A Coke and was followed by a series of covers and revivals and songs written by Tin Pan Alley writers like Geoff Stephens.Some of the covers were unpredictable like Pinball Wizard.
They had just 2 hits in the States one of which had already hit for Melanie Safka-What Have They Done To My Song and which was their 2nd single.
The New Seekers lasted to the end of the decade but with a totally different lineup
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)