Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars14
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2010
Although the Amazon page for this song gives the original release date as May 2004 it was actually first recorded by Bernard Cribbins in 1962, which is when I first remember it from. My wife and I sometimes sing snatches from half-remembered songs and it was after such an outing with this one that I checked on the lyrics and finally bought it as an Amazon download - much cheaper than iTunes and already in MP3 format which saves the trouble of converting it. It's a classic of its time and paints a living picture of the struggles of the three men with their piano. And ultimately, of course, there's the abiding sadness for the fate of poor Fred - though not too much since we know he's a fictional character. If you don't know it, buy it. And if you do know it, don't let it get away again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Cribbins is a treasure and this song is a warming reminder of the joyous innocence of (my) childhood.
Stick it on whenever you want a warm and fuzzy giggle :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Great song, great lyrics, and executed so well. There isn't enough of this type of music around. Bernard Cribbins should have a national monument built of him.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Another song I remember from children's favourites in the 60's...
This has also gone into a playlist to give me a smile amongst the more usual stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
This is just one of those tracks that just makes me smile whenever I hear it. Great to have my own copy of it now!! Bernard Cribbins at his best!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great song. Everyone knows it, everyone loves it. And with good reason - it's catchy and fairly amusing. Good job Bernard.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Fabulous, I'm really pleased to have been able to purchase this, great price too. I might even buy the album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
It's great to still be able to get these songs after all these years. Downloaded in a flash and a fun tune.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
I've not had the chance to listen to this as yet as is a present for someone, but I'm sure it will be fine
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Addictive song - in fact, so addictive I had to count up how many cups of tea they had combined!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.