Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KISS Get Naked
I like this album. It is famous in its own right as the album where the band ditched its face paint and started to look just like everyone else. As an record, it's a more than respectable effort.

With the same producer as the previous record (Creatures of the Night) it is suitably heavy. The standouts are the title track, All Hell's Breakin' Loose and A...
Published on 28 Jun. 2006 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars KISS Unmasked,Naked & Struggling.... 3.5 stars
Following on from the Creatures album,many view this as a companion piece,i couldnt dis-agree more,this album was doomed to fail from the moment lead track Exciter finished,nothing on this disc comes close to it,god i wish it had featured on the creatures album and it certainly should have featured more, live,(yet another for the fantasy set list im afraid),the title...
Published on 27 Dec. 2008 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KISS Get Naked, 28 Jun. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
I like this album. It is famous in its own right as the album where the band ditched its face paint and started to look just like everyone else. As an record, it's a more than respectable effort.

With the same producer as the previous record (Creatures of the Night) it is suitably heavy. The standouts are the title track, All Hell's Breakin' Loose and A Million to One (ignored by the band but a cracking song). Others are equally fine like Young and Wasted, On the 8th Day and Exciter. There are no really weak songs but unfortunately no absolute barnstorming classics. While the song Lick It Up became a mainstay in the live set it could never quite match up to the classics before and since. Although the rest of the album is strong enough to make this worth buying.

KISS would change after this, their music dropped in quality and they went it without make-up for 13 years and got through numerous personel changes, but they started with a good record, if not trully great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Of The Food Chain..., 13 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
Lick It Up....KISS ditch their trademark face paint and Vinnie Vincent comes to the fore...The world waits & the fans get restless....

The result is an incredible piece of sharp metal that pierces your brain from every angle....The title track is an instant classic, an anthem for every bedroom & stadium. " Not For The Innocent" is pure KISS, " Exciter" Is excellence of execution personified, " Young & Wasted" is a new ballad of 80's youth, " Fits Like A Glove" is classic Gene, " On The 8th Day" is an incredible piece of heavy metal and it's one hell of a statement for Vinnie Vincent's last recording under the KISS name. It is always the way: When tensions are at breaking point in a band, some of the finest, most powerful work appears. This is testament to it.

It's a crying shame that great Vinnie Vincent's ego got the better of him and led to his sacking in 1984, because i believe that if he stayed, then KISS would of scaled even greater heights.

PERFECTION: AAAAAAAAAA++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 OF THE BEST KISS ALBUMS, 11 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
FIRSTLY THEIR IS A LOT OF BULL ABOUT THIS ALBUM AND TO WHY KISS TOOK THE MAKE UP OFF .
FIRSTLY AFTER KISS PROMISED THEIR FANS A PURE ROCK ALBUM IN 1981 BUT RELEASED " THE ELDER " WHICH TURNED A LOT OF KISS FANS AGAINST THEM . AND MADE ACE FREHLEY WANT TO LEAVE KISS .
THEN KISS RELEASED THE CREATURES ALBUM IN 1982 WHERE 75 OF THE GUITAR WORK WAS DONE MY VINNIE VINCENT . AND AS KISS WERE STILL UNDER CONTRACT THEY HAD TO PUT ACES FACE ON THE COVER ~ NOT VINNIES FOR LEGAL REASONS .
AFTER THE CREATURES TOUR WHERE KISS HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO HIRE VINNIE WHO APERANTLY QUIT AFTER THE TOUR BECAUSE HE ASKED FOR A PERCENTAGE OF THE GROSS INCOME BUT WAS DENIED .
ANYWAY THE RECORD COMPANY HAD CONTRACTED KISS TO DO THEIR NEXT STUDIO ALBUM " LICK IT UP " AND WITHOUT A GUITAR PLAYER THEY WERE FACED WITH A VERY TOUGH CHOICE REHIRE VINNIE OR MISS THE DEADLINE FOR THE NEW ALBUM AND GET DROPPED BY THE RECORD COMPANY ?
APARENTL VINNIE WOULD ONLY RETURN IF HE COULD SHOW HIS FACE ? SO REHIRE VINNIE / REMOVE THE MAKE UP / MAKE LICK IT UP OR GET FIRED BY THEIR RECORD COMPANY AND AFTER A BAD FEW YEAR OF HARTY FARTY ALBUMS - THEY WOULDN'T GET ANOTHER RECORD COMPANY BECAUSE NOBODY LIKED THEM AT THE START OF THE 80s ?
THIS IS THE SAME BAND WHO SAID WE WILL NEVER TAKE THE MAKE UP OFF / WE'LL NEVER PUT THE MAKE UP BACK ON ?
WE ARE 100% LOYAL TO OUR FANS ~ BUT WHEN I CONTACTED KISS ABOUT WHAT'S WRITEN ABOVE I WAS IGNORED & I'M A FAN !
AFTER THIS ANIMALIZE CAME WITH ANOTHER NEW GUITAR PLAYER WHO BECAME BIGGER THAN KISS & HAD TO GO . THEY HAVEN'T MADE ANYTHING GOOD SINCE 1984 .
IF YOU CAN LISTEN TO THE INTERNET MARK ST JOHN INTERVIEW .
AND THE INTERNET INTERVIEW WHERE A CERTAIN MEMBER OF KISS CLEARLY STATES PETER CRISS LEFT BECAUSE HE WANTED TO START A FAMILY ~ BUT HAS SAID FOR MANY YEARS HE WAS FIRED !
THIS ALBUM SHOULD BE RENAMED THE VINNIE VINCENT ALBUM AS SHOULD CREATURES OF THE NIGHT BECAUSE THIS WAS THE BEST LINE UP KISS EVER HAD AND THE BEST ALBUMS .
WHEN VINNIE DEPARTED " FOR WHICH EVER REASON YOU WANT TO BELIEVE ? " I CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE L8 GR8 ERIC CARR " R.I.P " NEVER LEFT WITH HIM TO FORM A BAND TOGETHER ?
OVERALL KISS WERE AT THEIR PEAK DURING THE VINNIE VINCENT YEARS BUT CLEARLY LOST THEIR MAGIC WHEN HE WENT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars KISS Unmasked,Naked & Struggling.... 3.5 stars, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
Following on from the Creatures album,many view this as a companion piece,i couldnt dis-agree more,this album was doomed to fail from the moment lead track Exciter finished,nothing on this disc comes close to it,god i wish it had featured on the creatures album and it certainly should have featured more, live,(yet another for the fantasy set list im afraid),the title track and all hells breakin loose are passable ,fits like a glove is adequate,certainly the only other genuine class on the album is a million to one,everything else is just dross - young n wasted,gimme more cmon gimme a break,vinnie vincents style was so one dimensional so of the 80's,saw the band at the glasgow apollo in '83 and it was apparent even then that he couldnt play ace's solos nor reproduce his own solo's live,but it was just great to see kiss in scotland for the first time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinnie makes this album spectacular, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Alan Frehley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
New image and a new co-writer. I believe this is the ONLY KISS album that featured JUST themselves as writers of the songs, NO outside contributions at all......and who needs them when you have Vinnie Vincent firing on all cylinders?
Brilliant from a new-look KISS, and something they can look back on with pride......and regrets of having let Vinnie leave. Just imagine what the next album would have been like if Vinnies' solo album was anything to go by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First bare-faced album for shock rock giants, 1 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
1983 saw Kiss remove thier make up in a move that shocked thier fans . Thier new album confounded them and the critics alike . A fresh direction of modern heavy metal was ideal at the time . New guitarist Vinnie Vincent came in with new songwriting ideas and numbers like `Lick it up` , `Fits like a glove` and the aptly named `Exciter` had us all in a headbanging frenzy . The sound is maybe a bit light on the drums but that is nit picking . Anthemic tracks abound in this excellent hard rock opus . I say `Lick it up` with gusto !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kiss does it right., 2 Aug. 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
This one was a monster hit and every release from this point on would go top ten too. The title song was a hit and this even has the first rap rock song. which is strange but interesting. There isn't a weak song on this one and vinnie vincent was a awesome talent that wouldn't last due to substance problems. It's a top grab for fans of 1980's metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 21 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Lick It Up [VINYL] (Vinyl)
They departed the disco albums and took on the 80's in style! This kept the momentum after Creatures Of The Night left off. It set the stage for a brand new band, and they pulled it off in true Kiss style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KISS - LICK IT UP, 13 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
I just got the KISS "Lick it up" remastered on cd and it sounds like when I got the vynal when it came out, get it as it's hard to get in the stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Lick It Up (Audio CD)
well when we hear --not for the innocent,lick it up and hell breakin loose---- is enough
the best kiss album of all
thanks guys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews