Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. Work of genius., 29 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
Why is David Holmes so relativly unknown, even after producing work of this jaw dropping quality, when his emulators, such as Fat Boy Slim get so huge? This album just makes old Norm seem so...crass. Subtle, delicate, groovy and oh-so-cool, this album is a film, it's a huge hollywood blocbuster without pictures. It feels not like a collection of seperate tracks, but a continual narrative. An album in the truest sense of the word. I came across Holmes by accident and now just want everything he's ever done.
Buy this buy this buy this buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELECTRONIC HENDRIX, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
I've had this album for years and always go back for more. Constantly surprising, endlessly inventive, funky, funny and menacing all at once - reminds me of Hendrix in that way, if he'd had a synth, laptop and been born 30 yrs later. An under-appreciated classic - you'll wonder how you've gone so long without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, mate, 16 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
This is brilliant, plain and simple. A real mix of styles - some are plain funky (my mate paul), some are heartachingly beautiful (don't die just yet) and some make you want to laugh out loud with exhilaration (headrush on lafayette). All mashed together over a backdrop of the sounds of new york. Buy this.
And also buy his essential mix LP (it's on amazon, but not as david holmes. It's the essential mix 1998 one, I think, by various artists. The one that starts with contact by brigette bardot, anyway. That's even better than this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Apple through the night, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. C. Overend "SonnyMack" (NW England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
It's strange that on this, which is without doubt the best album I've ever heard, there is not a single track that would feature in my top 100.

But this is not a collection of songs - this is an album. As another reviewer has said, it feels like a trippy trip through the city at night, meeting colourful characters on the way. Some parts are funny, some dark. At the end you feel as if you emerge into a city morning, happy for it, the city goes back to sleep as the people take over, and life goes on.

Whatever you do, don't listen to any track in isolation, as the album works only as a whole, and, as I've said, it's probably one of the best albums ever made.

Can't recommend it enough to open-minded people who like their music strange and deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN ELECTRONICA MILESTONE, 12 May 2009
By 
N. Ferigkos (ATHENS GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lets Get Killed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
DAVID HOLMES IS A GREAT MUSICIAN AND DJ SO HE HAS MADE GREAT WORKS AND HIS PEAK WAS LET' S GET KILLED. IT IS A MUST HAVE ALBUM. WHAT MAKES THIS ALBUM GREAT IS THAT DAVID HOLMES FINDS THE PERFECT BALLANCE FOR HIS IDEAS AND HIS MUSIC INFLUNCES. THE SOUND THAT REACHES YOUR EARS FROM THE MIXTURE OF ELECTRONICA, FUNK & SOUL IS PERFECT. GREAT ALBUM FROM A GREAT MUSIC PERIOD. THE ALBUM HAS THE HYMN MY MATE PAUL. LISTEN IT AND THEN YOU WILL BUY IT FOR SURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 30 Oct 1999
By 
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
Varied New York American sound with a fantastic atmosphere; really makes you feel like you're walking around the streets of NYC. Wicked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Holmes; I'd shake your hand & say "fair play to ya"!, 9 Feb 2000
By 
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
What a superb album this is !
Bought it about 18 months ago.. & within about the 2nd/3rd airing of it, ABSOLUTELY fell in love with it.
Would MOST DEFINATELY now be in my "Top 5" CDs out of the 40+ that I own.
I rate it so highly that (about 2 weeks ago) bought his earlier album: "This flim's crap, lets slash the seats" (via this site of course ! ) just on the sound of this CD.
Favorite tunes for me are No. 3 and 12 - beautiful ! Moody, Mellow & Mysterious would be one way to describe all the tunes.
I say to all those who read this review:
"Enough of reading this - go buy it ! ".
You WON'T be disappointed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keep up the awsome funkytriphopjazz (whatever..)production, 4 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Let's Get Killed (Audio CD)
only a few understand , along with DJ Krush,DJ food and Tosca(opera) this is the most shiverring album of 'em all my hat off for you Mr.Holmes
Hugo (Tate ?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a8aae0)

This product

Let's Get Killed
Let's Get Killed by David Holmes
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews