Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Stanley: KISS Saviour, Pop-Rock Genius And Ultimate Showman.
Crazy Nights....
Fact: Paul Stanley was the glue that held KISS together in the 80's & 90's. Through two original members and two replacement guitarists leaving KISS in a 4 year period, through the huge risk and pressure of dropping the trademark face-paint, through Gene Simmons being mostly absent for the best part of a decade , through the tragic and untimely death...
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by Tommo 18/7 ©

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tonight we'll be bon jovi
Finally the make over was complete,this is a decent selection of tunes but it could be anybody,yes crazy crazy nights is a catchy tune but it could be slade/quiet riot etc,reason too live a wonderful power ballad,although why foriegner never sued for the complete rip off of 'i want to know what love is' i'll never know,kiss were now completely souless aiming for the pop...
Published on 29 Dec 2008 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Stanley: KISS Saviour, Pop-Rock Genius And Ultimate Showman., 19 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Crazy Nights....
Fact: Paul Stanley was the glue that held KISS together in the 80's & 90's. Through two original members and two replacement guitarists leaving KISS in a 4 year period, through the huge risk and pressure of dropping the trademark face-paint, through Gene Simmons being mostly absent for the best part of a decade , through the tragic and untimely death of Eric Carr, the one constant that stopped KISS from self - imploding and being blown into oblivion was Paul Stanley.
His belief and genius created perfect pop - rock that MTV & FM radio couldn't get enough of and combined with his master showman skills, a whole new audience lapped it up in their millions. This album highlights that genius.

The opening track " Crazy, Crazy Nights" is a floor-filling slice of magic, with one hell of a catchy hook and chorus and a rush of quality in the solo department by an ever evolving Bruce Kulick. A huge European/ Worldwide hit and a huge KISS Anthem which went took KISS top ten in the U.K for the first time. " I'll Fight Hell To Hold You" is a piece of unadulterated Stanley genius, mixing hard rock with pop harmony and Kulick's ever growing guitar work. The thundering drums of Eric Carr grace this track and album 100 times more than " Asylum". " My Way" & " Turn On The Night" are feelgood, punchy, catchy and have Paul Stanley written all over them.

Gene Simmons almost shows up for this album. The excellent dark and sinister " Thief In The Night" is Simmons at his best." No, No, No" is dire, rushed and badly put together and Simmons at his worst. " Hell Or High Water" is solid but uninspiring however " Good Girl Gone Bad" is excellent. Compared to Simmons past genius, drive and contribution, this is an average show for his high standards. You would be more than forgiven for believing that his heart, soul, head and ambitions were a million miles away from KISS at this point in time. Gene Simmons owes a lot to Paul Stanley and he can thank his lucky stars that his front stage partner, Bruce Kulick & Eric Carr all carried him yet again with flying colours.

"Reason To Live" is one hell of a power ballad, pulled straight out of the top draw by Mr Stanley.

As with 99% of Kiss albums, the fillers ( " Bang Bang You" & " When Your Walls Come Down" spring to mind) are present. Suffice to say a lot of the purists were yet again far from amused by this release. This represented all that wasn't KISS in their eyes. But the way i see it, when an album is loaded with powerful pop-rock classics such as this, then all is forgiven!!!.

Brilliant: AAAAAA++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars tonight we'll be bon jovi, 29 Dec 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Finally the make over was complete,this is a decent selection of tunes but it could be anybody,yes crazy crazy nights is a catchy tune but it could be slade/quiet riot etc,reason too live a wonderful power ballad,although why foriegner never sued for the complete rip off of 'i want to know what love is' i'll never know,kiss were now completely souless aiming for the pop market,a transient audience which would desert them eventually,the band that had known no boundaries was now a tame bon jovi clone,how sad.On a positive note saw the band twice on the uk tour(Edinburgh) and they really seemed to be enjoying themselves,the newer tunes sounded heavier live and some old favs were creeping back into the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak and poppy, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Another one of KISS' atempts to follow the general market, this one too arrived just a touch to late. In trying to retread the steps taken by other late-80's hard rock/metal bands KISS lost much of their soul. There are a few stand-out tracks (the title track bounces nicely and as usual Paul writes beautiful ballads) but as a whole there's too much filler here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever a favourite, 12 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
'Crazy Nights' was the first Kiss album I ever bought, mainly due to the fact that I loved 'Crazy Crazy Nights' at the time. Other great tracks include 'My Way' and the strong ballad 'Reason To Live'. Listening to this CD brings back lots of good memories for me.

Since I bought this album, I have since purchased others by Kiss. After hearing those, I can see that 'Crazy Nights' is more pop and soft rock in comparison to their previous (and indeed later) albums which were considerably more heavier.

Nevertheless, this is a great album, containing one of their most famous hits. It's not their best by a long way, but it's a fun album and one that I would recommend to all fans of classic 1980s rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy, Crazy Nights!, 31 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Crazy nights, what a good album by Kiss, this album was recorded in 1987 but remastered in 1998. The album has a good rock/pop kinda feel and has the best ever ballad Paul Stanley has written "Reason To Live".

I will review each song:-

1. Crazy Crazy Nights (10/10) - This song is a great opening to the album, the title track says it all as you listen to it. It has a great guitar solo and also CHORUS! A recommended floor filler song.

2. I'll Fight Hell To Hold You (10/10) - This song is a fast paced, great rock song, it has great use of guitars in it, and also it sounds a bit of a ballad but a face paced rock ballad.

3. Bang Bang You (10/10) - This song is brilliant, its a cheeky song, its about a shooting a girl with love. Its got a great chorus.

4. No, No, No (8/10) - I think this song isn't so good as the others above, this song doesn't show any strength, or good catchy lyrics or choruses.

5. Hell Or High Water (8/10) - This song sounds the same as "No, No, No" but with a different chorus. I don't think its the best song either on this album.

6. My Way (9/10) - This song is better then "No, No, No" & "Hell Or High Water", it has a nice chorus in it, its worth a listen, but still isn't the best on the album.

7. When Your Walls Come Down (10/10) - This song is great, has good lyrics, and a brilliant chorus, this song is certainly one of the good songs on this album.

8. Reason To Live (10/10) - This is a great ballad written by Paul Stanley, it has a great guitar solo in it and great lyrics and chorus. I think its the best song on the album.

9. Good Girl Gone Bad (8/10) - This song is nothing special, just the same as "No, No, No" & "Hell Or High Water". I think this song is ruined as it could be a good catchy song.

10. Turn On The Night (10/10) - This song is great! The lyrics are great, the chorus is great and the guitars are great in it to. This song really does have a good face paced chorus, which makes you sing to it when it happens!

11. Thief In The Night (9/10) - This is a terrible last song for this album if anything i would prefer "Turn On The Night" to be the last song. But this song is one of the best songs done by Gene Simmons.

In conclusion this is a good album which I give this album 4/5 stars. The Best songs for me on this album are "Crazy Crazy Nights", "I'll Fight Hell To Hold You", "Bang Bang You", "When Your Walls Come Down", "Reason To Live" & "Turn On The Night" I think Paul Stanley should keep to the vocals and Gene Simmons to playing the guitar, I don't think Gene Simmons is a better singer then Paul Stanley is. If you like Kiss and you like the 80's rock music, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Despite the Reputation, it's a Strong Album, 29 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Crazy Nights is often slated by KISS fans as the worst the ever put out. It's all opinion and taste of course but I never agreed. In fact, I think it's a good album. Certainly not one of their finest but containing some excellent material.

The three singles are all excellent; Reason to Live is a great 80s power ballard, Crazy Crazy Nights is a fist pumping, pop rock anthem and Turn on the Night has to be the most underrated KISS song of all time. It is (in my humble opinion) as good as any pop rock put out by the likes of Bon Jovi or Poison at the time. Other tracks are equally good such as Hell to Hold You, Good Girl Gone Bad, Hell or High Water and Theif in the Night. It is also wonderful to see Gene back producing good songs after his poor attempts on the last two albums. On the down side, the album takes a bit of a kicking from its weaker tracks. Bang, Bang You and No, No, No are abysmal, and others like My Way and When your Walls Come Down are quite poor.

Despite a couple of filler tracks, Crazy Nights is KISS' best album since Lick it Up. It contains many superb tracks and sees Gene starting back on the straight and narrow. This album has a bad reputation, but I suggest you listen for yourself, you may find you really like it, as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're Millions Strong, 3 Jan 2007
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
The Kiss hair metal album. The title track received heavy rotation when released back in 1987 and gave Kiss their first (there was only to be one more) top ten UK hit single. With good reason too: upbeat lyrics; instantly catchy chorus; and an aptly crazy guitar solo. Question is, does the rest of the album live up to it? Crazy Nights is an inconsistent album. First listen will confirm that Crazy Nights is indeed the stand-out track, but that the rest isn't all filler and worth a try. So let's get the negatives out of the way first. There is some cringemaking, immature, posturing here: Bang Bang You and When Your Walls Come Down (yes, those really are the titles) are the worst offenders. Lyrically, this album suffers thus. My Way, you will be relieved to know, is not a cover version of the Sinatra number - but it's nearly as bad as that might have been and really ought to be forgotten very, very quickly. By the end of this Kiss's hardly boundless creative energies have clearly been depleted and the titles of the final two tracks (Turn On The Night and Thief In The Night) betray this in an embarrassing fashion. OK, enough with the cheap shots. Elsewhere there really are some nuggets of top class hair metal here. I'll Fight Hell To Hold You is the Kiss foray into the potentially career-ending genre of hair metal-meets-fantasy metal, but it is a great song and the second best track on here. The second single Reason To Live is a decent (if typically syrupy) ballad with a melt-the-heart solo for the girls. And the guitar work is very good. Bruce Kulick pulls off some very strong solos and the riffs are always on the mark. There's a reason why this was Kiss's only top 5 UK album - `yeah, Crazy Nights (the single)' I hear you retort. Yes, well, probably true, but I'd argue there's enough here in the way of quality musicianship and well crafted, fun, party anthem rock to justify its hit status and make this a worthwhile purchase at what it's retailing for here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kiss was still at the top here., 2 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
Kiss was still riding a 1980's run of hit cds. This one was weaker than than the last four releases they put out but it had alot of strong moments. Most fans were not unhappy with this one. It's not as hard as their recent releases but full of good songs. It's still fine hard rock with lots of good melodic songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Nights, Crazy Songs..., 2 Oct 2006
By 
J. E. Griffiths "Slayer Rule!" (Maidstone, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crazy Nights (Audio CD)
"You wanted the best, you got the best. The hottest band in the world...
KISS!

I had never listened to it really before so this was a thrilling experience, especially when I heard the beggining of 'No,No,No'! This is without a doubt the best KISS album of the eighties. For the 70's it has to be 'Alive!' and for the 90's it has to be 'Revenge', but this might just be the best KISS Album ever!!!! (Although it is probably one of the glammest albums ever!)

Track Reviews:

1. Crazy Crazy Nights - One hell of an opening track! What a great Slade chorus.
Rating: 10/10

2. I'll Fight Hell To Hold You - One of the best songs on the album. This has some wicked guitar work! Cheers, Bruce!!!
Rating: 10/10

3. Bang Bang You - Another fantastic track. Although, by no means the best on the album.
Rating: 9.5/10

4. No, No, No - This song is a really up-tempo track that will really get your foot tapping. Good guitar work from Bruce Kulick. He is truly one of the best hair metal guitarists of all time!
Rating: 10/10

5. Hell Or High Water - The best song Bruce Kulick ever wrote (or co-wrote in this case). One of the best solos ever and a classic chorus riff that would make your hair stand on end!
Rating: 10/10

6. My Way - Paul Stanley was really experimenting at the time. I suppose synthesisers and keyboards were the big thing of the period. 'My Way' is still an excellent song. Classic Paul vocals. How high can that guy go?!!?
Rating: 10/10

7. When Your Walls Come Down - Fab lyrics, good chorus and catchy riff. A great song on a great album.
Rating: 9.5/10

8. Reason To Live - The best ballad Paul has ever written. With a fantastic chorus and solo, this surely shall last the test of time!
Rating: 10/10

9. Good Girl Gone Bad - My favourite. A good heavy riff and a great solo. Cheers again, Bruce!
Rating: 10/10

10. Turn On The Night - A good enough song. Don't really listen to this and 'Theif In The Night' as much as the others, but this is still a classic. It has to be good 'cos why was it released as 1 of 3 singles?
Rating: 8.5/10

11. Thief In The Night - Good strong riff and bridge. Great lyrics and great guitar.
Rating: 9/10

Reccomended Songs: I'll Fight Hell To Hold You, Hell Or High Water, Reason To Live and Good Girl Gone Bad.

One thing's sure. This is certainly an album you can 'Rock and Roll All Nite and Party Every Day' too!!!

Rock On!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome return to good music, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me, this album was a great return to some great music, by THE best band in the world ever! Next to ''Lick It Up'', I love this album as much, if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews