Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy: Reggae King
Now, Shaggy is a great man. He has a great reggae voice in which he thickened his throat to do so. (I know, because I have done that). This album, in which I bought as a Special Edition of it, has won the 2002 Brit Awards, with the No. 1 Single of 2001, voted at the end of the year by MTV, in the Top 100 singles of 2001! So this album is good enough already!
Here are...
Published on 9 Nov 2003

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its cool for the R n B people out there
Well i hav to say most the songs in this CD are the typical shaggy type songs. If your into singers like Usher and Eddy Grant this is deffinately your thing. Dance & shout, It wasnt me , and angel must b the most populer songs from this album. But deffinately not ment for the hip hop or hard rock peeps.
Published on 6 Sep 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy: Reggae King, 9 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
Now, Shaggy is a great man. He has a great reggae voice in which he thickened his throat to do so. (I know, because I have done that). This album, in which I bought as a Special Edition of it, has won the 2002 Brit Awards, with the No. 1 Single of 2001, voted at the end of the year by MTV, in the Top 100 singles of 2001! So this album is good enough already!
Here are the songs:
1.Hot Shot. Slow beat with great drumming, and the minor voice of Shaggy and the ladies make it one of the best.
2.Lonely Lover. A slow and peaceful beat, more for couples dancing to it's soothing rhythm, and a great singer with Shaggy.
3.It Wasn't Me. THIS IS THE NO. 1 SINGLE OF 2001!!!!! Has Ricardo "RikRok" Ducent. Has humourusly good lyrics, with great melody in the background, and the goofy drumming at the end of the verse and the chorus.
4.Freaky Girl. Feat. The Kraft. The melody is decent with hot lyrics, and strong beats, that makes you bonk your head to it.
5.Leave it to Me. feat. Brian and Tony Gold. Very, very calm, with lyrics describing the good life, and a "beachy" type of melody and beats to match the style.
6.Angel. feat. Rayvon. Relaxing melody, to a cool and lazy beat, and a wonderful voice from both guys, escpecially Rayvon. THIS WAS ANOTHER NO. 1 SMASH HIT!!!!
7.Hope. feat Mister Mydas. Mister Mydas's voice is enchanting, like a high pitched angel in a beach or somewhere hot and nice. Perfect if you are on a hot place, playing this song out loud, with an ope roofed convertible, to feel the wind. The lyrics is inspiring, and as well as the melody, with the fast and up-beat tempo.
8.Keep 'n' it Real.Like Hope, but slower, and more relaxing, with more inspiring lyrics, and great melody in the chorus.
9.Luv Me, Luv Me.feat. Samantha Cole. This great song, is major, with a happy melody, just like any moderateley fast reggae song.
10.Not Fair.feat RUDE. Quite slow, with a great soft minor melody and slyish beat.
11.Hey Love. Very, very minor, almost sad, but cool. Great beats, with a melody that is stuck to it, and brilliant lyrics.
12.Why Me Lord? Very minor as well, to do with God, and the hard life. Quite powerful.
13.Joy You Bing*Bonus Track. Great, fast lyrics, with a beat that gets you to dancing and an enchanting choir, to blend in with the melody.
14.Chica Bonita.feat RikRok again.Latin American based part Jazz, part Reggae, with the fast, and hard to follow lyrics. Great for little children to listen to. It is very sweet, and charming.
15.Dance and Shout.feat. Pee Wee.(He sounds like one of the Jackson Five) Probably the most up-beat, and fastest single in the album, with an unforgettable beat and melody, that definetely gets you up to literally Dance and Shout. The cool melody has many, many different layers of instruments and sound to get as good as it gets.
16.Why Are You Mad At Me.Has a bit of Soft Rock, brilliantly mixed with reggae. Great tempo, with lyrics, that are really cool, and funny, escpecially, the woman who argues with him.
All in all, the songs are all great, with almost 1 hour's worth of endless, but awesome, reggae beats. Shaggy has really done well with this album, and if you do have a Special Edition copy of it, then there are two videos for two of the coolest songs in the album. Dance and Shout Klub Kings, and It Wasn't Me are the Music Video, all in One Disc.
Shaggy Rocks!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaggy 'raps' it up!, 6 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
If you liked the hit single 'It wasn't me', then you'll love this album! Brought to you by Mr 'Bombastic', a great album with a variety of different songs. Buy it, coz I love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Darn good!, 4 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
Shaggy has really gone past just deep voiced rapping to introducing many new artists into his song with him! It wasn't me was a really good hit with Rik Rok and the same with Angel! If you like RnB and pop then this is the one for you it's brilliant and well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this be?, 31 July 2005
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
Ok, like most people I loved "It wasn't me" so when I went on a school trip I had some spending money and picked up this album to listen to on the coach home, It was brilliant and catchy listened to it for a few week and put it away. I recently rediscovered this and I have to say it is the best album I have ever heard, its got the up beat songs and the slower songs. But best of all it is the CD for players! If you are about to go out on a date and your nervous put this CD on it will make you feel invinsible. I cannot reccomend it enough! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back in the day summer tunes, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
This takes me back and brings me good memories of summer, hence why I bought it a really good CD with some great tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shaggy- hot shots, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
I love this CD, amazing value. Very happy with my purchase and listen to it in my car constantly. Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant return, just like Dre`s 2001, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
Dude, if you love a bit of island attitude mixed with what`s hot, you gotta have `Hot Shot` Mr lover lover is back to show you he just wasn`t a mid nineties hit, but he is well into the new millenium. Don`t truss me, I dare you to sample `It Wasn`t Me`!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its cool for the R n B people out there, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
Well i hav to say most the songs in this CD are the typical shaggy type songs. If your into singers like Usher and Eddy Grant this is deffinately your thing. Dance & shout, It wasnt me , and angel must b the most populer songs from this album. But deffinately not ment for the hip hop or hard rock peeps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its good but lets not wet are pants - now its only shaggy!!!, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Shot (Audio CD)
so shaggys back 4 2001 with 'hot shot' his first release since 1995 way back in the day. The albums good but can he make a song on his own? seems like in most songs he has someones help!. Stand out tracks are 'not me',hope, 'Dance and shout' which was relesed in august and flopped it also sounds like yogi bears treasure hunt ,'angel'which sounds like a cheesy 80s love song and 'it wasnt me' . it wasnt me is good and worthy of 1 but a prime example in this song is that he dosnt do it by him self he has someone to help him. and why dose shaggy think he is a regga star when hes from america. sounds like im slateing the geezer but this album is good and ive enjoyed listening to it , brings a fresh buzz to to stail old charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Shot
Hot Shot by Shaggy
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews