Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated
People heard this album at the time it was released and said "It's OK". Don't underestimate this, it's better than OK, it's great. I got it a few years back, and listened to it last week, it's a classic! When Ghostface allegedly said that Wu-tang's music was unappreciated because it was so advanced, like feeding steak to a baby, the man was right. Listen to this...
Published on 1 Nov 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DECENT ALBUM...
When i purchased Method Man's debut album Tical about a month ago i was expecting a masterpiece, full of lyrically flowing genius. However i was dissapointed with the album. Im not saying that the album is bad, but considering Method Man's high standard's you should expect better.

In my opinion Meth has the best flow in rap and it comes through in some of the...
Published on 9 July 2010 by A92


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
People heard this album at the time it was released and said "It's OK". Don't underestimate this, it's better than OK, it's great. I got it a few years back, and listened to it last week, it's a classic! When Ghostface allegedly said that Wu-tang's music was unappreciated because it was so advanced, like feeding steak to a baby, the man was right. Listen to this album again now if it's gathering dust you'll love it. If you don't have it, steal it off your friend who's letting it gather dust, or buy it cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Method Man AKA Tical!, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
After conquering the rap world on the 1st wu tang clan album,mef was one of the 1st wu members to go solo.Tical is hands down, 1 of the best wu solo cds i've ever heard. The concept of the album is a dark,gothic tone produced by the rza which will keep you hooked straight away! It starts with a strange little flute melody which keeps with the albums tone and then launches into the title track.Not the best track on there,but like all of de songs on this,but is pretty damn good. Track 2 biscuits,is again, not the best,but still amazing.3;Bring the pain is 1 of the standouts on this cd and is an amazing track for mef.All i need is a tribute to his girlfriend which is sensitive, but by no means soppy.What the blood clot is another awesome track,but 4 me it doesn't particularly stand out.Meth vs chef is probably the best track on there,with mef and wu tang mate Raekwon the chef at a lyrical height very hard to reach.In a word:Awesome!Sub crazy is short,but good.Release yo delf another standout track,containing an interpolation of cheesy party anthem,i will survive,but it works! After here each song is awesome, but no stanouts, finishing with the off the hook skunk mix of Method Man, the wu tang classic. The remasterd edition contains a remix of bring the pain, a bangin prodigy mix of release yo delf, and the pc enhanced video 4 bring the pain. This is probably mef's best album,and is essential for wu tang fans, diehard mef fans, or even the casual hip hop fan. This is needed in your collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic cuts of Wu-Tang style, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
If you like hip-hop, you must own this record. Simple as that. This debut solo recording shows Meth's maturing lyrical style, while the beats are dark yet catchy. A classic rap album from an unbelievable talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Wu solo album, 11 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
Although 'Tical' is a very good album, it doesn't quite deserve to be up there with other classic Wu solo projects like Raekwon's 'Only Built 4 Cuban Linx' and GZA's 'Liquid Swords'. It is definitely the darkest of all the Wu and Wu affiliated albums; tracks like 'Mr Sandman', 'Tical' and 'What The Blood Clot' are prime examples of how eerie the beats get whilst 'Bring The Pain' and 'Meth Vs Chef' are prime examples of classic Wu songs (not to say the rest isn't good). Lyrically, Meth never sounded like this again. Here he has a more flamboyant style in his rhymes which made his voice more distinctive. Alas, it's still short of essential because there are a couple of flawed tracks; in 'Sub Power' the beat is a complete mess and 'Stimulation' can only be classed as Average. Still if you like Wu Tang, you'll be satisfied with it as it's cheap too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good album, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
This album is very good and recommended to a hip hop fan, but its not one that is essential to have in your collection.My favourite song is `Bring the Pain`.If you like this, then I would recommend the second Tical installment, `Tical 2000:Judgement Day`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Jan 2002
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
if u like the old wu tang stuff which i love then u must own this album. Dark beats, lyrics to the top quality..also this album is significant nothing else like this its excellent.
biscuits is my favourite song which is hard to say cos every song is dope.
i bought tical 2000 b4 i bought this and this is better..and i thought tical 2000 was good ..then i bought this quite a bit ago it is raw hip hop what more could you want
BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re: Genius Album, 23 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
If anything this album has improved with time. This was the first solo album to drop in 94 from the Wu camp. At the time I remember it getting mixed reviews. Having listened to it again recently I can honestly say that this album from the meth is definately up there as one of the best Wu albums. This sort of sound and atmosphere is a one off. From the off kilter beats of Mr Sandman to the dark ominous sound of the title track Tical, Meth and RZA dont put a foot wrong. All his lyrics are on point and RZA's beats are immense. Check the original of "All I Need" on this album. It beats the crap out of the remix, yet the remix gets name-checked the most. I think that its an indication of where hip hop has gone that albums in the last 5 years just dont have any sort of concept or atmosphere anymore which this album has in abundance. This aint the sort of album to dance around a club or your living room to. Its a straight up slice of shaolin hardcore. Hip Hop as I used to remember it before all this name checking of products and pepsi endorsements. When lyrics and attitude mattered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic (noun) – somthing typical or influential of its kind, 15 Nov 2002
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
The above word is often abused and used loosely by writers of music criticism. It’s the easiest way we can describe an album that we, personally, think is very good. However, applied to ‘Tical’, Method Man’s first solo album (released in 1994), the word ‘classic’ can be rightly and deservedly tagged across the album cover with a diamond studded marker pen.
Out of the nine members of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps only four of them ever had the talent to carry a whole album on their own (Genius, Raekwon, ODB and Mef). Mef stepped forward first, bursting with charisma and energy and after the ’36 Chambers, here was THE man we were all waiting to hear. I’ll be honest, ‘Tical’ rocks, its brilliant. Amongst the other members of the ‘Clan’, his talent his huge, like the difference between Rivaldo and Adi Akinbiyi.
Method Man’s languid and speech impediment infected rapping style murmurs and snarls through the booming tapestry of staggered beats, subterranean bass-lines and (now trademark) Rza production like a monster wading through some murky morass. Although Mef slurs and spits into the microphone like some drunk at a wedding party, his poetry and intelligence are clearly laden with substance and depth. “Bruvvas wanna hang with the Mef,” he asks during ‘Bring the Pain’, “Bring da rope as the only way they gonna hang is by the neck!” is his stunning retort which must have left his peers (huh!) in the Clan spurting out their Cristal.
Buying this album won’t enhance your rep and you certainly won’t be able to play this album at some middle class dinner party to look ‘cool’ in front of your convival company. This album needs to be played in the dark, when you’ve had one or two drinks and your feeling moody. This is the one rap album I can imagine Apocalypse Now’s ‘Colonel Kurtz’ playing to his Montagnard army beyond the Do Long Bridge. Dig it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
as good as i remembered from years ago, bought it as my friend had i. worth the few pounds i paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tical (Audio CD)
One of the best rappers around with good bass on most tracks and very enjoyable to move to! Nice one MM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b2133c)

This product

Tical
Tical by Method Man
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews