Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mellow masterpiece
To hardcore Police fans of yesteryear, this album could have been construed as a disappointment. Who cares? The fact that this album was a monumental best seller that appealed to millions of people is a testament to its finely crafted pop tunes.

Sure, there are a couple of dogs on this album, namely the excrutiating Mother, the less than overwhelming Murder by...
Published on 29 May 2007 by John Holmes

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one track favourite
This group is not a favourite of mine, but I love 'I'll be watching you' and sing along with this track through gritted teeth while I reflect on this Goverment and the harm it is doing to our Nation and people. Worth buying for this reason alone.
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by Mrs. S. Ayling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mellow masterpiece, 29 May 2007
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
To hardcore Police fans of yesteryear, this album could have been construed as a disappointment. Who cares? The fact that this album was a monumental best seller that appealed to millions of people is a testament to its finely crafted pop tunes.

Sure, there are a couple of dogs on this album, namely the excrutiating Mother, the less than overwhelming Murder by Numbers, and the pointless Miss Gradenko. However, these tracks are more than made up for by the searing intensity of Synchronicity II, the brilliant Wrapped Around Your Finger, and galactico uber hit Every Breath You Take.

Here we have a three piece band at the very height of their song writing and musical powers - the perfect time to call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh my precious Synchronicity, 5 Dec. 2007
By 
Daniel Ash "DanAshSupermod" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Although all their albums are perfetly structured and worth a listen nothing ever sounded quite like Synchronicity. From start to finish the album grabs your attention with key songs like the title track, Walking in Your Footsteps and O My God! Side Two however is where the gems are and is worth the buying price alone. King of Pain, Every Breath you Take and my personal favourite Police track ever Wrapped Around Your Finger are beautiful songs with well written melodies and as always fantastic drumming and production. A perfect note for the police to finish on, and album with all but one filler (The for some unlistenable Mother). Apart from this minor glitch a great final album, if you were only going to get one Police album, get this one, even just for side 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album along with "Regatta De Blanc", 6 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Bearing in mind that the band broke up a year or so after recording this album, its not difficult to think that this sounds almost like a sting solo album in places. It's certainly unlike anything The Police had recorded previously, much of the reggae influence is absent here(but not totally), and in its place a more straight ahead rock sound (check "Synchronicity II"). There isn't a single dud track on here, it's also probably their most diverse album to date as well. There is so much more on this to enjoy than "Every Breath You Take". Fave tracks include "Synchronicity I", "Mother", "Wrapped around your finger" and the brooding "Tea in the sahara". If you don't own any Police records, get this and "Regatta de Blanc" first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Side one filler battles side 2 genius, 1 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The police released this, their final record (save the clumsy and doomed reunion of 1986) in 1983, 3 years before my birth. It's a testament to the record that not only has our vinyl copy lasted 20 years, but so has the music in its grooves. A few of the opening cuts could do with the cutting room floor treatment - notably Walking In Your Footsteps, which proves that songs about dinosaurs should be killed without prejudice. But the fist side closes on a high, with the sharp and darkclassic Synchronicity II. Side 2 is wall to wall quality, from the international, ironic mega-hit Every Breath You Take to the all time classic King of Pain, and a synth-laden return to their pop-reggae roots on Wrapped Around Your Finger. Yes, ill-concieved rhymes abound (Museum/see 'um) but overall, buy it cheap and revel in its glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic final outing from 1983, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The Police's 5th and final studio album represents, for the most part, a superb valedictory effort. There are a number of really beautifully crafted tracks including the haunting strains of 'King Of Pain', the insistent chug of 'Every Breath You Take' and the utterly brilliant 'Wrapped Around Your Finger' which possibly qualifies as my favourite Police track of all-time. The first half of the album veers between the sublime ('Walking In Your Footsteps' and the thunderously good 'Synchronicity 2') and the ridiculous (the atrocious Summers' dirge 'Mother' and Copeland's rather lightweight 'Miss Gradenko'). Even so, there is so much to appreciate on this album that I'm prepared to overlook its weak points and award it a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the last of the greats, 8 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Being a big Police fan since I was 6 years old this album to me isn't their best. Although The Police were the biggest band around with this album and it's not difficult to see why with songs such as Sychronicity I & II, Oh My God and Tea In The Sahara. But it also includes songs such as Walking In Your Footsteps, Mother and King Of Pain which to me are not some of their best. It does include one of the best songs ever written though with Every Breath You Take.
It is still a great album but not a patch on Regatta De Blanc and Ghost In The Machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowing Out With Style, 18 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
This is the final visit of The Police to the studio (with the exception of the horribly revamped Don't Stand So Close To Me) and it's a good way to go out - arguably their best album. Musically diversifying still further, this ranges from dreamy songs like Tea In The Sahara and Wrapped Around Your Finger to out-and-out rock with the brilliantly dark Synchronicity II, which still makes me laugh with delight - "we try to shout above the din of our rice krispies"! Lryically and musically superior to all their previous efforts, it is a fitting final offering from a great band. It has to be 5 stars for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Floored Masterpice., 23 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Most bands peak then slowly released weaker and weaker albums until they decide to call it a day. The Police were the exception. They went out on a high with Synchronicity. It's a album of two half's, I'm not a fan of either Synchronicity song and Summers and Copeland songs are absolutely suicidal. It's like they were trying to sabotage Sting's perfect album.

There second half or side two is incredible all 4 original are masterpieces in my opinion. Choosing between them is like choosing between your kids. They contain some of the most passionate and honest song writing ever recorded.

This album will always have a place in my heart. They don't make 'em like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Farewell to Kings, 16 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The Police's last studio album contained one of their best known hit singles in "Every Breath You Take" but the track is rather an oddity on the album as the band's sound became more expansive on this album (progressive?) than ever before barely resembling the rock/reggae crossover they so well exploited on early albums.
Like all other Police albums, I like this album alot as overall, the songwriting is of a high quality, the production is good and the album sounds good to listen to. For me, the standout tracks are "Walking In Your Footsteps", "Mother" (Don't ask me why - I just think it is great that Andy Summers was able to get this mad song on the album - think Oedipus Complex), "King of Pain", "Wrapped Around Your Finger" and "Tea in the Sahara" - at least half the album is fab!
A great way to bow out on i must say...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You haven't heard Synchronicity until you've heard the SHM SACD version, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The CD is good. The SACD is better overall, though it lacks some drive on tracks like Synchronicity II. but the SHM SACD is streets ahead of either. The drive is there, the transparency is better than analogue, and there's nothing between you and the group. Sting's voice is raw and alive, the drums have real punch. I only wish everything was sold in this format. It's a pity about the price - but it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Synchronicity (Remastered)
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews