Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The heart will be where home is .
Home is the debut album of talented Portland musician Peter Broderick and manages the not inconsiderable feat of sounding both world weary and modestly ecstatic all at the same time. What is even more impressive is that Broderick is only 21. At his age I could barely open my parents front door and would blush violent beetroot if a girl came within twenty metres of me...
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by russell clarke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK
I ordered this on the strength of a Sunday Times review. It is OK but nothing special. Perhaps I should have ordered his latest offering instyead.
Published on 25 April 2012 by A. WINFIELD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The heart will be where home is ., 11 Nov 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
Home is the debut album of talented Portland musician Peter Broderick and manages the not inconsiderable feat of sounding both world weary and modestly ecstatic all at the same time. What is even more impressive is that Broderick is only 21. At his age I could barely open my parents front door and would blush violent beetroot if a girl came within twenty metres of me. Which to be fair wasn't that often. Usually because I was locked in the house.
Anyway Broderick , clearly a more confident and talented individual relocated to Copenhagen to join Danish ensemble Efterklang where he spent a year learning the ropes so to speak on tour with the band. While doing this he found the time to pen the ten songs that make up Home.
Using multi-tracked vocals Broderick as he says in the liner notes has concentrated on his two favourite instruments -guitar and voice, though there is also harmonium, glockenspiel organ, vibraphone , banjo and Celeste , though never all in the same song. The results are often stunning songs replete with choral majesty infused with cosy layered voices and temperate layers of instrumentation. It would have been incredibly easy to make this album overbearingly bombastic but there is real care and subtlety at work within these ten songs .Some will question the mixing by Mads Brauer and wonder why there is so little percussion , so little sonic clout. But this music isn't about heavy beats or muscular rock , it's about mood , reflection , peace and comfort .....home. Hard to get this when snares are snapping like barbecue ribs.
The album opens with the multi harmonic "Games" before the truly lovely "And It's Alright" - a dulcet acoustic guitar led ballad with Broderick's tender slightly burred vocals. The multi-tracked harmonies are quite stunning .All in all this is one of my favourite songs of the year. Not that there is just this to enjoy "With The Notes In My Ears" is another divine ballad with a tremulous accapella fade out ."Below It" with just voice and steel guitar is far better than any song with such simple ingredients deserves to be while "Not At Home" is a more effervescent sparkle of twinkling guitar notes.
Occasionally the album flirts with the mundane. Instrumental "Sickness Bury " is fine but at over six minutes outstays its welcome halfway through and "Maps" , another six minute plus song seems flat and lacklustre after much of what has come before. The albums ends with the reverb choral tallying of "Games Again" which brings it full circle.
Anyone who has heard and loved albums by Bon Iver , Iron And Wine , Lucky Jim ,M Ward or Chris Mills will find much to treasure here. Much of the music is like some kind of beautific vocal benediction. Truly exquisite stuff. Your heart will be where Home is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, thoughtful music., 28 Dec 2008
By 
Rory I. C. Bremner "mcrory" (Godalming, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
With shades of Elliot Smith, (though not as maudlin) Broderick has created a lovely, contemplative album. The recording is excellent too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Only I Could Remember My Name, 26 Oct 2008
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
This has to be heaven for any David Crosby fans, the harmonies are to die for. the track 'Family, Giving' a bonus track in some places nearly had me in tears, you can see it on his MySpace page, live. He seems to hit every note as if it has a place prepared for it. Every note has a part to play. His vocal range is pushed hard but never wavers. It is a pleasure to recommend this album. It is Fleet Foxes at half pace, but the pace is perfect in a world that goes too fast sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and thoughtful, 20 Jun 2009
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
I came to Peter Broderick from a live gig. Not only is he a lovely fella he's also pretty spectacular live. This album didn't disappoint following such a magnificent introduction.
It's thoughtful and thought provoking music which can engage and move the listener. This is one of my favourites of 2009.
Check out Horse feathers for bit of Peters sister on cello. Mellow gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sedate acoustics, 31 Oct 2008
By 
War Baby (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
I came to Peter Broderick courtesy of his involvement with arch Scandinavian experimentalists Efterklang - and from the harmonic, over-layed vocals on the opening track it is easy to hear what he brings to the table when it comes to the unique soundscapes of the Danish outfit.
An American who has settled in Europe, Broderick's sparse acoustica is a pleasing combination of European folk and Americana. As another reviewer has rightly stated, it is like a sedate Fleet Foxes or more laid-back Bon Iver. It also has much in common with the glorious autumnal moods of English acts like Epic 45, July Skies and Harp and a Monkey.
Basically, Home is best listened to as a mood piece, and in the dark winter nights this gentle offering will provide some genuine warmth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 25 April 2012
By 
A. WINFIELD (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
I ordered this on the strength of a Sunday Times review. It is OK but nothing special. Perhaps I should have ordered his latest offering instyead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home
Home by Peter Broderick
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews