Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glam Slam! Thank you, mamms!
Picture the scene - ill in bed with an abcess that confined me to a temporary life under the duvet, I put on the stereo out of desparation, eager to find something that could kick me out of my state. Minutes later, I was out of bed, pouting to the mirror, playing air guitar so vigourously that I ripped my arm out of my socket (well, sprained it anyway), and screeching...
Published on 12 Sep 2000 by Jim Barker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
Good love the 70s early punk influences
Published 3 months ago by psjmartin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glam Slam! Thank you, mamms!, 12 Sep 2000
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
Picture the scene - ill in bed with an abcess that confined me to a temporary life under the duvet, I put on the stereo out of desparation, eager to find something that could kick me out of my state. Minutes later, I was out of bed, pouting to the mirror, playing air guitar so vigourously that I ripped my arm out of my socket (well, sprained it anyway), and screeching along with the first verse of Personality Crisis.
A miracle? Well, no. Simply put, the New York Dolls' debut album is the most arrogant, glamourous, rude, cheeky, snarling, potent and above all brilliant rock album ever made. This album has everything, in fact, that a perfect rock album should.
Part Rolling Stones, part Stooges, part charity shop chic, the Dolls took image and music and mashed it together so effortlessly that the whole act seemed natural. Magnificent put-downs (Looking For A Kiss, Trash), arrogance par-excellance - God, they even get their covers to sound like their own (Pills). Johansson's snarl is perfect, Thunders' riffs sound more like a finely trained aural assault unit, and Nolan's drumming thuds along giving the Dolls the best guitar-drums axis ever committed to record.
You want attitude? You got it. You want glamour? You got it. You so desparate to prove the validity of rock 'n' roll as rebellion that you want your favourite bands to cuss old women? Hell, that's there too. If rock ever became a subject at school, well, here's your Shakespeare, boys!
No weak tracks. No substitute. No excuse not to buy it. Why I say I'm in love, you best believe I'm in love L-U-V.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The '70s start here..., 19 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. Peter Barrett (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
Unbelievably, for someone who was a punk in 1977, I have only just got around to checking out the New York Dolls. Yeah, I was aware of their influence on punk, the MacLaren connection, etc, but I'd just never bothered exploring beyond that.

Well, three decades late, I can see what the fuss was about. This is storming, raucous rock 'n' roll, setting a template not just for punk, but also for much of the '70s pop sound.

It's not difficult to see how much they influenced the Pistols, with Thunders' guitar licks liberally copied by Steve Jones. At the time they wouldn't have sounded (or looked) like anyone else. Today, they still sound sh*t hot, redy to influence a new generation of rockers.

Don't put it off any longer, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glam Punk!, 27 May 2004
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
The New York Dolls were one of the earliest proto-punk bands to come out of New York. They were there when it all began, and did it harder and more sleazy than anyone else.
From the early days you knew it was going to be a rough ride as all of the band dressed in semi-drag, and one by one they became heroin addicts. By the end of it all, it was very messy with the survivors only achieving a slightly less extreme lifestyle, which would lead to further great musical output and the deaths of two band members from their excesses.
The music though - that was what they excelled at! Maybe it's a little toned down on this first record thanks to the production of Todd Rundgren, but what he did manage to do was to make the music far more accessible. 'Personality Crisis' is one of those songs that you cannot get out of your head once it's in there, and other tracks like 'Frankenstein' and 'Subway Train' are just as good. It's rooted in pretty conventional 50's rock and roll but with a heavy, heavy dose of 70's guitars and lots of attitude and a very rough edge. It's like listening to Chuck Berry after a bottle of scotch and a pound of amphetamine, and looking at 5 persons of undefinable gender after an explosion in a charity shop, but it's hell of an experience to crank up the volume and let this hit you in the head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raucous, sleazy and hugely entertaining, 5 Jun 2009
By 
A. Macfarlane (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
If you've never heard the New York Dolls you are in for a treat if you buy this CD. These guys were chaotic and enormously unsuccessful in their heyday but its testament to their song writing that the music they wrote in 1971 still sounds lively.

This lot tend to be talked about as if they were synonymous with Glam rock, but despite their hairspray, platforms and makeup (they were copying no one when they thought that was a good idea!) punk is a closer bedfellow. The songs are tinged with real throwaway pop sensibility (think the female vocal group of the 60s) and their lyric content is equally adolescent and throwaway, though clever and entertaining with it.

There is real pop ability in here too. Trash is hugely catchy, Jet boy a riot and Personality Crisis a bombastic, humorous masterpiece. I love singer David Johansen's argument with himself ("yeah yeah yeah! No No No!") at its start. And the shambolic attempt at a ballad that is Lonely Planet Boy is a treat.

No bad songs on this album and no one who copied them came even close. This is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 8 Feb 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
This debut album by the New York Dolls is a must for anybody with an interest in Glam Rock and or punk. They brief career influenced a whole shed load of subsequent groups such as the Pistols and the Clash.

Their appearance was stunning even for the decade that fashion forgot, how many times do you see 5 men dressed in not so good drag and make up? I remember them playing on "The Old Grey Whistle Test" Everyone at school was stunned the next day and this was a pity as the music was forgotten even though they were awesome.

Just listen to this album and you too will be hooked by the Dolls raucous proto punk of the highest order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRASH! Vintage Yankee punk trannies sing for you, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New York Dolls [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Some years not so long ago I heard a young father singing TRASH to his little child in a buggy...a great classic rock-n'rolly blast and forerunner of punk yet glam was already underway in England and this LP was made after McClaren had tried the Dolls out as plastic Reds... I doubt Stalin would've bought this western decadence any more than Hilter would've but it's great pre-punk fun with TRASH,the anthem, being my personal fave and of course,you can buy the CD if you're not a neo-vinylist.

Johansons harmonica accompaniment is great too and so is the general kick-ass energy,to wax Yankee;sneery Lydon and the Pistols did trash them on one song on Bollocks even though they owed this seminal band such a debt as all the punk bands did them and Iggy Plop.

I'm keeping my vinyl for now and can only recommend the record,the album of songs myself and not the particular format although it's not even dear as vinyl...a classic seventies rock record which should be heard even if you weren't there and are a fan of the decades rock and pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ny dolls ROCK!, 18 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
the new york dolls were together just long enough to make a coupla albums, nobody seems to have heard of them, but most of the punks in london around '77 loved 'em and could state them as a major influence. it's certainly fair to say junkie/guitarist johnny thunders is somewhat of a cult figure and guitar player amongst punks. steve jones (of the british punk godfathers the sex pistols) cites mr. thunders as his idol and according to goody-two-shoes bandmate glen matlock, he used to pratice thunders' on-stage moves in front of the mirror. poser.
anyway, enough with the history, let's get down to the review. this is an essential slice of pre-punk/glam-rock. basic rock music (think stones) given a trashy, gritty, streetwise edge. these guys were labeled a bunch of queens due to their red-lipstick-and-patent-leather image, but i certainly wouldn't want to bump into 'em on a dark night.
david johansen sneers, snarls and screams his way through all 11 tracks, while the band work up a formidable racket behind him. sloppy, slashing, screeching, divebombing guitars run rampant thanks to the aforementioned guitar hero and genius johnny thunders. not bad for a guy stoned half out of his brain for most of his waking life. all you young wannabe guitarists, listen and learn. jerry nolan's drums provide the crashing, pulsating beat and arthur kane's groovy bass chugs along in the background. there's also some well-placed honky-tonk piano thrown in here and there, and some wailing harmonica on the cover 'pills'.
the lyrics cover- amongst other things- longing, personality crises, junkies, vietnamese babies, loneliness, frankenstein, and a character going by the name of jet boy. they're sleazy (think iggy and the stooges. they are also BRILLIANT.) and druggy, but nothing so shocking or graphic as sleaze-grit-trashmeisters the velvet underground displayed in their masterpiece 'heroin'. (again, they are among my top 5 favourite bands. amazing.) the dolls are altogether more fun, more upbeat, more glam, more rock-orientated and a lot less arty than the v.u, making them quite a bit more accessible.
i defy anyone of any age not to buy this cd and enjoy every single second. every punk fan needs this now. teenagers listening to _______ (insert nasty adj. here) top 40 commercial rock also need this, a slap round the head and three months listening to the velvet underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Dolls, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York Dolls (MP3 Download)
If you like the dolls you'll love this, if you don't you won't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL, 24 Jun 2014
By 
N. W. Tindale "neiltindale" (Manchester, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Dolls (Audio CD)
For those in 'the know' or even relatively interested in seriously infuential music...As the headline above states... 'nuff said!!! If not, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New York Dolls (MP3 Download)
I love the New York Dolls. I remember when I first got this album seeing these guys all dressed up. I was never really into New York punk but these guys are something different. Love it to bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New York Dolls
New York Dolls by New York Dolls
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews