Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2008
After hearing the first single "The Stone" on MySpace and being a massive A Perfect Circle fan I decided to buy this album to see what Billy Howerdel could do on his own. What I found was a great debut album.

There are one or two tracks that I think are good but nothing brilliant but there are some very good songs on here. The Stone, Forever Can Be, Enemies and Sword are superb songs. I think Ashes Divide are trying to pick up where A Perfect Cirlce left off with trying to write experimental music and trying to make music that is good rather than most of the dire stuff out now thats there just to sell rather than be an art form.

If you are a fan of A Perfect Circle, Black Light Burns, Nine Inch Nails etc then I highly recommend this album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
If you liked Perfect Circle you'll love this, if you like TOOL there is a good chance you will like this. If you like soaring melodies, epic choruses and beautiful soundscapes that send chills down your spine then you'll love this.
I've had the album for six weeks and held off reviewing it just in case it wasn't as good as I first thought.
It isn't.
It's better.
Buy it.
Then spread the word, this is music that deserves to be heard, your friends will thank you.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
As the previous reviewer pointed out this is an excellent offering crammed full of big soaring melodies. It's not the most original or creative album in my collection but I think that's why its so good. KTMIA doesn't try to be anything but a straight forward verse / chorus melodic rock album, but it does it with exceptional style and craftsmanship. The blend of baritone, pitch perfect vocals, beautiful clean, soaring guitars, intelligent lyrics and simple song structures is close to perfection. More akin to APC than Tool, Ashes Divide have still created their own individual sound without trying to hard to be something else.
Simply a superb melodic rock album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Some really interesting music here, its difficult to define a genre, but Howardel manages to infuse Hard Rock, Metal, Industrial, world music and pop, and adds a decent amount of soul searching ambience, which really gives this band such a unique sound. You will also like A Perfect Circle, where Billy Howardel collaborates with phenominal vocalist, musician and song writer Maynard James Keenan, with music of similar style, but with a heavier style verging on metal. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Absolutely sensational album and a must for any APC fans.

The music is beautiful, poignant and compelling and whilst Billy Howerdel's lyrics aren't as ingenious as MJK's he undoubtedly has singing talent as well as his obvious natural flair for all things guitar related.

Only one track that falls short of the rest and that's number three, Too Late.

Like all great albums this needs at least 3 listens before it captures you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
This, the début album of Billy Howerdel running solo, without some of the guys from Tool is a Natural progression on from A Perfect Circle, whilst a slight change in feel, is very complimentary. I bought this CD on the strength of "Forever Can be", but many of the tracks will grow on you in a similar way and I would thoroughly recommend this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2008
simply put - a magnificent album, cracking vocals and melodic rock. stand out tracks would be (forever can be, the stone, stripped away, too late).
a must buy for a perfect circle fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
If you like A Perfect Circle you will certainly like this album, go get it. Consistently good all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
If you like a perfect circle you'll love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.