Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Took You So Long
The Courteeners finally released their highly anticipated debut album on the 7th April. The backlash has no doubt begun after Liam Fray declared this offering to be up there with the Stone Roses debut. To be fair he had to big the album up but St Jude doesn't quiet hit the heights that the Stone Roses debut did. Although it is a very good first effort
I have seen...
Published on 11 April 2008 by Mr. C. J. Lawson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
Very poor first effort from them! I now own all four of their albums and I find Falcon the best by far. They've mellowed a lot from this pile of punk crap! Avoid it!
Published 1 month ago by Jackarmy1071


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Took You So Long, 11 April 2008
By 
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
The Courteeners finally released their highly anticipated debut album on the 7th April. The backlash has no doubt begun after Liam Fray declared this offering to be up there with the Stone Roses debut. To be fair he had to big the album up but St Jude doesn't quiet hit the heights that the Stone Roses debut did. Although it is a very good first effort
I have seen the band on many occasions over the last 6 months and the songs have evolved a lot since I first heard them. This made the first listen quite difficult for me but once I got past the fact the songs had changed slightly I realised what a great piece of work St Jude really is. The songs really work well as a whole and the listener never finds themselves getting bored. The Courteeners have added layers of sound on various fan favourites which makes them sound a little weird at first.
The outstanding track on the album is "Please Don't" which has a girl group drumbeat reminiscent of Phil Spector's Wall of Sound recordings. One listen of this and the listener realises there is a lot more depth and sensitivity to the Courteeners than previously thought. This is again highlighted on the album closer "yesterday, Today and Probably Tomorrow" which is an eloquent ode to a love that the singer knows will never last. It evokes memories of Morrissey at his best and leaves the listener in no doubt that there is definitely more to come from the Courteeners.
Just buy the album and decide for yourself. I'm sure you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a quality debut album, 21 April 2008
By 
J. saunders "jambo124" (up north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
A lot of hype surrounded the courteeners debut album and it doesnt dissapoint.
Lazy journalists have been calling them the new oasis which is unfair, although they hail from Manchester and the lead singers names are the same, these are the only similarites between the two.
I think this album should be reviewed on its own merits and not compared to the likes of oasis or smiths etc, because you will always have people who are still living in the 80s and 90s saying they are not as good as these bands.
But let us remember it is 2008 and these bands have been and gone and it is now time for people and music to move on, dont get me wrong im a big fan (and always will be) of the roses,oasis and the smiths and must now say that the courteeners now fall into this category.

now for the album, unlike a lot of indie albums nowadays which contain about 12 songs which sound the same, this is different, a mix of raw energy, catchy foottappers which will stick in you head for weeks and well written ballads, this album offers everything.

I could go on and on about how good this album is but all i can say is give it a try yourself you wont be dissapointed.

oh one final thing if you can catch them live go and see them they are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The new Oasis?, 1 Aug 2008
By 
Samantha Gregory "Gee" (Blackburn, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
That was how they were hailed in NME, the next big Manchester band, a band to follow greats like Oasis. Now Oasis were a little before my time, although I know quite a few of their songs, and I think you can hear their influence in this band. This album is brilliant; sharp, witty and very observant of society. The songs are quite catchy, the lyrics are smart and the music sounds like the guitar driven bands (like Oasis etc.) you don't hear so much any more. The new Oasis? Only time will tell, but that isn't really the important question. This album presents them as a great band in their own right, if they keep producing songs of this calibre people may one day be describing a new Manchester band as "the new Courteeners"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a go..., 14 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: St. Jude (MP3 Download)
Some say we don't need another Manchester band with a Liam in it, I say grow up- buy it, listen to it and ideally get out and see 'em live because these lads can certainly do the do on stage. Sing along, dance around and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Never really given The Courteeners a chance before - great album though, gets better with each listen. You can tell influences from the time when released, reminds me of both the Kaisers and Kings of Leon. Pet hate - swearing. Maybe getting old - I can't play it in front of the kids though - parental advisory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, catchy, brilliant, with sing along anthems., 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Love this band and love this album. Every song I like, most of them I actually love, great songs to sing along to with mates on a night out or driving in the car or get you in the mood for a night out. You have to see this band live, brilliant gigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purchase., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Quickly received and in excellent condition, thank you. Would buy from this seller again and would recommend him as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Manchester music, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
I bought this out of curiosity: got a t-shirt with iconic Manchester music images on. There's Joy Division, The Smiths, The Stone Roses, Oasis etc, plus the St Jude album cover. I didn't know it and it took me some searching to find what it was. Bought a cheap copy and it's really good. Best summary: a Mancunian version of The Liberteens/The Arctic Monkeys. Best two tracks are the outstanding "Not 19 Forever" and "Cavorting".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars St Jude, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Loved 'You Won't Be Nineteen Forever' and wanted to find if the rest of the album was as good - it didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
This is my favourite of the three albums. A top album from a top band. If you havnt seen them, do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St. Jude
St. Jude by The Courteeners
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews