Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (331)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Low Point in Bowie's Career" - A Foul Untruth
'Labyrinth', Henson's 1986 masterpiece is a modern classic for our generation, one of the best pieces of fantasy to grace our screens since 'The Wizard of Oz'.
Revolving around the main character of Sarah (Connelly), an over-imaginative teenager who struggles to find meaning in life beyond her dolls and dressing-up box, the film is essentially a existentialist study...
Published on 4 April 2004 by Mae McAlister

versus
57 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing ...
You may be wondering why such a classic as this only receives three stars. For a synopsis of the story itself, there are many fine reviews and testimonials extolling the wonders of this Jim Henson/George Lucas production. I too loved the movie when it first came out and think that it is a must see for children of all ages.
However, my main reservation is that the...
Published on 5 May 2004 by M. Baczynski


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoggle, 30 Sep 2008
By 
This is a truly wonderful childrens film. Jim Hensen outdoes himself. This is so enjoyable. As a child I loved it as have my children since.
It is a great adventure and has mystical elements to it.
There are dwarfs, goblins, a goblin king, all kinds of creatures in this film.
Its about a spoilt girl who lives with her father, step mother and baby step brother.
She seems a little jealous of her step brother and that she no longer has her father's undivided attention.
She reads a book called "The Labyrinth", a favourite book that she recites passages from.
She wishes her baby brother away and is horrified when her wish comes true!
The goblin king appears to her. He has the baby in his castle beyond the goblin city via the labyrinth.
She is given just hours to solve the labyrinth or her baby step-brother will never be returned but turned into a goblin.
This is a very enjoyable adventure story suitable for just about any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I wish, I wish..........", 26 Jan 2003
By 
S. Moriarty "Suze" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I had a copy of this brilliant film on video.
But years of overwatching and singing along to 'You remind me of the babe...', made me grab the DVD once it was released.
This is visual artistry at its best. A film that hasn't aged at all. Puppets that look surreal and real?
This films succeeds! Bringing entertainment to both adults and children.
A story that I hope my kids will be brought up on!
Completely fictitious this movie stills has a balance of realism and fantasy to it. And abundance of human emotion and devellopment even though their are only two major human characters in it (Connelly and Bowie) the rest, goblins and gools.........
And of course not to forget. Music by David Bowie means this film caters in all directions, even for non-Bowie fabs.
But like me, and thoughs Bowie fans out there, this movie makes you love him even more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Angel (England, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This film holds all the elements of a fantastic film. Excellent, imaginative characters you can't help but fll in love with. A story that enchants and delights , along with some simply awesome effects. You can't help but fall in love with this film.

Then you have bowie who not only adds some brilliant songs to this feature, but also acts pretty well. Which in itself is delightful.

The only thing that may irritate the older audiance is the lead actress is a pretty poor actress, but all in all this ranks as one of my favourite childhood films which I still delight in watching to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into The Labyrinth, 7 Aug 2004
"Where everything seems possible, and nothing is as it seems..."
Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) is a teenager with an active imagination. Tired of baby-sitting her brother every weekend, she summons the goblins, who gladly whisk him away to the castle beyond the Goblin City.
"Goblin King, Goblin King, wherever you may be, take this child of mine far away from me!"
Full of regret, she pleads with the spoilt Goblin King, Jareth (David Bowie) who gives her thirteen hours in which to solve his Labyrinth. The Labyrinth is a twisted maze of deception, where Sarah meets several interesting and outrageous characters.
"It's a crystal, nothing more. But if you turn it this way, and look into it, it will show you your dreams..."
Jareth will stop at nothing to lead her away from his castle...
"Through dangers untold, and hardships unnumbered, I have fought my way here to the castle beyond the Goblin City, to take back the child that you have stolen... for my will is as strong as yours... you have no power over me..."
A must-have for any fan of fantasy movies! This is a classic, and I must say that if they ever did a re-make of it I would not be a happy person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy and Humour, 5 Dec 2007
By 
S. J. Moore (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up with this film, first rented on grainy video. I now own two copies on DVD (one collectors edition). A great film for young and old, I have come to appreciate it more every time I watch it. It is a great film to escape to another world with. All the intricacies of the set and characters thoughout are bound to delight and amaze any fantasy lover. I would definately highly recommend this film to anyone who is considering it, you will not be disappointed. And if you like this one then try out Dark Crystal too, another wonderful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy for the young and the young at heart!, 21 Sep 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Sarah (played by Jennifer Connelly) is a teenage girl who lives trapped in her own childhood, surrounding herself with her old toys, and refusing responsibility. However, when she is left to babysit her baby brother, in a fit of exasperation she quotes from a book asking the Goblin King (David Bowie) to take him...which he does. And now, she must journey through the labyrinth to the castle of the Goblin King at its center to get her brother back. It will be a real adventure for Sarah, but along the way she will find help in unexpected places, and learn a lesson or two. [Color, released in 1986, with a running time of 1:41.]
This is a fun little movie, fantasy for the young and the young at heart! Filled with fun and very strange Jim Henson creations, the story is intriguing and the characters are fascinating. I enjoyed David Bowie's songs (though not his pants!) and thought that they added a lot to the movie. Overall, I think that this is a great movie, one that I have watched repeatedly with my children. We all love this movie, and highly recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a magical film, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a magical film. It has incredible puppetry, great music and a fun storyline. This film captivated me as a child and still does so now as an adult. It is one that can be truly described as timeless. The characters are fantastic to watch and the additional disc (make sure you buy this version and not the single disc version) with making of documentary is interesting to watch. Buy it and enter the world of The labyrinth and become spellbound.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Labyrinth, 28 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
The first film i ever saw, and the only film you ever need to see. Perfect for every mood this tale of loyalty and devotion is helped along with a touch of magic from cast and characters turning it into the best film ever made. It's originality sets it apart and who can complain - David Bowie as the lead...what else do you need? Oh yeah, a worm with blue hair and a Missus...oh no, it has that too! Timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of Fantasy from the Henson workshop, 9 Feb 2002
This review is from: Labyrinth [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This film is a heartwarming tale about a girl named Sarah (Sarah Connoly) who is forced to navigate a mystical labyrinth in order to save her baby brother from the wicked Prince Jared (played by David Bowie). But if you're reading this page then I'm sure you've probably already seen the film and want to know what the DVD version is like so here goes.
For starters the film is shown in its original 2.35:1 viewing ratio, unlike a lot of 16:9 hatchet jobs and 4:3 expanded pan and scan prints that have been used to fill the entire frame of widescreen sets. Always a good sign to see you're getting the actual theatrical version instead of some "made for tv" version.
The DVD also contains and excellent 56 minute documentary that deals with how all the various creatures and effects for the film were produced. It's facinating to watch the painstaking work and enginuity that had to go into making a film like this before CGI became widely available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 24 April 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Labyrinth [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This review is for the Blu-ray version of the film. Amazon have a habit of mixing all formats together. So if purchasing the DVD version, some of this review many not be relevant.

I'll start with: If you like the Dark Crystal and you don't know what this film is about, skip this review and buy the film. You will love it.

There were some exceptional films that came out in the 80s but sadly they aged badly and what was a memorable and watchable film then has become something to cringe about now. However, Labyrinth has stood the test of time and will continue to do so for many generations to come.

It is a fantasy film where the wishes and dreams of a teenage girl come true with frightening consequences. The Goblin King (David Bowie) steals away the baby brother of Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) and Sarah is forced to enter the Labyrinth to rescue her brother. On the way she meets an array of colourful characters that either help or hinder her on her quest.

The late Jim Henson and his crew of puppeteers have created such believable and lovable characters and have brought them to life in the beautifully scripted film. I was never a fan of Bowies films, but he was the ideal choice for this. His character is humourless with an underlying wickedness about him and Bowie plays his part. Connelly plays the character of an innocent girl, at times a little spoilt, who disappears into her own day dream fantasy world. At the time she was 16 years old, but played the part like a seasoned actress. The performances, puppets and storyline merged together so well that is deserves the high rating it has on IMDb.

The transition to Blu-ray is exceptional. This is one of the few films that I upgraded from DVD and it was worth it. The picture quality is so much better that the DVD and worth paying more for. I can't comment to much on the audio quality as I only use the standard TV speakers, but this was clear enough to add to the enjoyment of the film.

I have yet to watch the extras, but there are some promising features on the Blu-ray version.

A 5 star product, but watch the price. I have seen this drop as low as 7GBP, but more often 10GBP or more. Currently it is on the 3 for 17GBP so you could be picking up a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 340 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Labyrinth [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]
Labyrinth [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free] by Jim Henson (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews