Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars864
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2002
This film is a heartwarming tale about a girl named Sarah (Sarah Connoly) who is forced to navigate a mystical labyrinth in order to save her baby brother from the wicked Prince Jared (played by David Bowie). But if you're reading this page then I'm sure you've probably already seen the film and want to know what the DVD version is like so here goes.
For starters the film is shown in its original 2.35:1 viewing ratio, unlike a lot of 16:9 hatchet jobs and 4:3 expanded pan and scan prints that have been used to fill the entire frame of widescreen sets. Always a good sign to see you're getting the actual theatrical version instead of some "made for tv" version.
The DVD also contains and excellent 56 minute documentary that deals with how all the various creatures and effects for the film were produced. It's facinating to watch the painstaking work and enginuity that had to go into making a film like this before CGI became widely available.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
The Labyrinth, starring a young Jennifer Connolly and the amazing David Bowie, is a must see for any fantasy enthusiastists. Thw story follows Sarah (Connelly) as a bored teenager forced to stay in and babysit on a Saturday night. Fed up with her baby brother, she summons up the Goblin King to come and take him away. When she realises she has actually summoned him, she must fight against the clock to steal him back from the Goblin King, Jareth (Bowie), facing a long labyrinth and many mystical creatures along the way. I first saw the film for the first time in primary 7, and only just rediscovered it last year when i received a copy of the DVD for a birthday present. It is the most amazing film, with all the vital elemtns: good, well rounded main characters, a brilliant soundtrack, moments of light comedy, scarty bits and a happy ending! Where would we be without this film to cheer us up on a rainy day? Truly a must-see for children and adults of all ages. Buy it today!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a magical film. It has incredible puppetry, great music and a fun storyline. This film captivated me as a child and still does so now as an adult. It is one that can be truly described as timeless. The characters are fantastic to watch and the additional disc (make sure you buy this version and not the single disc version) with making of documentary is interesting to watch. Buy it and enter the world of The labyrinth and become spellbound.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
This film holds all the elements of a fantastic film. Excellent, imaginative characters you can't help but fll in love with. A story that enchants and delights , along with some simply awesome effects. You can't help but fall in love with this film.

Then you have bowie who not only adds some brilliant songs to this feature, but also acts pretty well. Which in itself is delightful.

The only thing that may irritate the older audiance is the lead actress is a pretty poor actress, but all in all this ranks as one of my favourite childhood films which I still delight in watching to this day.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Another classic from my childhood, Bowie is cool here the Labyrinth is really twisted and cool looking, great imagination and creature design all round with some awesome classic effects with the good old ways of matte painting and puppetry, the 'Magic Dance' is a great song as well.

Everything is spot on in this visual feast right down to the smallest detail, its incredible to see the love and sweat put into this film and without using any cgi! all good old fashioned craftsmanship. An absolute joy to watch, everyone can enjoy and appreciate the skill and work involved creating this magical world.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
Still, after all these years, it still has the magic !!!

I watched this film when i was young, and now I have bought it for my 3 kids, and they have watched it over and over, thinking it is the best film I have ever given them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2007
I always loved this film as a child and I still to this day do. This is a film that should not be missed, especially if you're a Bowie fan, for he stars in this film as the evil goblin king. The only negative thing I have to say is the appearance of Bowie; his trousers were clearly too tight and his bulge showed in every scene he appeared in. A bit crude. That's why this film would be better as a PG and not a U.

Still all the same it's a great film, with some great characters such as the main character Sarah, the coward Hoggle, the friendly beast Ludo and the annoying Sir Didimus (he can be funny in ways). This is a great film made in 1986, not just featuring Bowie, but some soundtracks of his (soundtracks for the film anyway, but he sings them).

Labyrinth is a great story, where Sarah leaves her world and enters a fantasy world of magic. It starts with her babysitting her baby brother Tobey, who does her head in with his constant screaming. She begs for the goblin king to take Tobey away from her; only that she was unaware that the goblin king actually existed, and it's straight away when Tobey is snatched.

Sarah begs for the goblin king to reconsider and return him, that she didn't really mean what she asked, but the goblin king refuses. However he says she can have him back if she journeys to the goblin castle, located in the goblin city, where Tobey is located. There is one catch however; she has 13 hours to do so, or Tobey will become one of the goblins forever, and to make things worse she must solve the large, complicated labyrinth to reach the goblin city, for it's located in the centre of the labyrinth.

In the labyrinth Sarah learns that things are not always as they seem, and she can no longer take things for granted. Brilliant film worth watching. Watching this film is something you won't regret.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2006
Well, in the wake of 'Dark Crystal', I would say that there is no way Jim Henson and Brian Froud could have done better. True - but they damn near succeeded with this(which, amazingly, I did manage to see at the pix). Labyrinth is true fantasy because it features only two human characters and a host of loveable, engaging puppets. Although infused with the '80's Dungeons and dragons spirit it eschews the pretentious dialogue and laughable scenes of the sword-and-sorcery fantasy films of the time (Dark Crystal excepted). Bowie wisely avoids trying to act and is just himself. Girls - I say this as a red blooded male - he does look good enough to eat.

Jennifer Connelly (see her, rather older, in the wonderful 'Dark City') holds the thing together, but it is the brilliant puppets and the wonderful Escher-inspired sets that stay with you (I love that penultimate scene in the house of stairs, lifted straight from an Escher painting - we need more films like this, Escher did so much ingenious work - why aren't there films using 'Belvedere' or 'Flatworms' or a hundred of his other brain-bending pics? Anyhow, anglo-saxon lack of originality in films is for another time).

So, if you've never seen, I can only suggest you buy it. This was the unofficial sequel to Dark Crystal and if no more films like these two are ever made, then it will be both a great pity and a tribute to Jim Henson and Brian Froud, who took us out of the box in fantasy, by throwing away swords and sorcerers and really taking us into the hearts of our minds.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
A Magical story, full of great practical effects and a mesmerizing performance from David Bowie.
Watching this film you're hit right away by the great puppetry and sets, the film also struck upon the revolutionary idea of a actually of casting a 15 yr old as a 15 yr old character, unlike films like Scream where teenagers are played by characters in their mid to late 20s. The film also boasts some great music and looks as though it would have been lots of fun to be on set.

The story is sweet and simple, a girl must enter a fantasy realm to rescue her lost little brother and overcome the obstacles set up against her. Just like the Wizard of Oz, by the end of the film it's unclear whether all this is really happened or whether it is in fact a dream in which the character comes to some kind of important self-realization, it's implied from the start that Sarah has a very active imagination as well as being a girl going through those awkward moody teenage years.

Labyrinth was made in the 1980s, in the age of darker children's films, like Return to Oz, with a more subdued colour and some frightening sequences for little children.

The arc of character involves her changing from a negative, demanding and unappreciative girl to a character who becomes caring, resourceful and more mature by the end. As such the theme of the film is about transitioning from childhood to adulthood and the responsibility which comes with it. The film is also a playful warning to children “be careful what you wish for.” There is definitely a depth and level of intelligence to this film which is often missing from modern children’s movies. Things are never quite what they seem too, as Sarah learns to stop rushing to hasty judgments about things, one character she encounters who looks like he has the strength of ten men, turns out to be one of the gentlest and most timid creatures you could meet.

In a decade of materialism which was the 80s it's refreshing to have such a simple message about how family and friends are more important than material possessions , our teenage girl realises that the jewellery, toys and dresses which she thought she craved actually mean very little when compared to relationships and people. A timely message for our times too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
I grew up with this film, first rented on grainy video. I now own two copies on DVD (one collectors edition). A great film for young and old, I have come to appreciate it more every time I watch it. It is a great film to escape to another world with. All the intricacies of the set and characters thoughout are bound to delight and amaze any fantasy lover. I would definately highly recommend this film to anyone who is considering it, you will not be disappointed. And if you like this one then try out Dark Crystal too, another wonderful movie.
44 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)