Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2007
This is Geraldine Page at her very very best, portraying an elderly woman living unhappily with her son and daughter-in-law. The two women don't get along, the daughter-in-law resenting her intrusion in their lives and seeing her presence as a big sacrifice to have to make for her marriage. The steadily growing loneliness of Geraldine Page's character and her journey into her memories of what was and what could have been touches many themes and portrays the wishes and dreams of many ordinary people beautifully. She decides to go back to Bountiful, the only place where she ever was really happy. Would the expectations created by her memories (coloured by the passing of time) be met by the reality of present day Bountiful? Or is it the journey, not the destination, that is all important? This you will have to see for yourself and make up your own mind - because this is a "must-see" film. It will make you think about your own plans for living as an older person, it will make you think about what is really important in your life, it will make you think!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
I saw this on the TV years ago. My Mum had turned it on and I walked into the lounge room just to stretch my legs soon after it started. Within 2 minutes of watching it, I was hooked, and by the end both my Mum and I were sobbing. Since that night I've watched it about 10 times. This is one of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen, Geraldine Page's performance is one of the greatest pieces of acting ever put on film. (She won the Oscar for it.) Anyone who appreciates good cinema should buy this, and at this price it's a no-brainer (50p incl postage).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Geraldine Page...what more do you need? what a fine actress she was and she will break your heart in this film, close to her last before her death. An elderly woman stuck living with her son and irritating daughter-in-law in a cramped apartment having spent her youth and most of her life on her farm in Bountiful, working the land and raising her child. She is ill now and has to live with her son and his wife, almost as a prisoner in their home. Carrie dreams of the past, her old life and friends, her old home in the country and makes one last effort - having been thwarted previously - to go back there and pick up where she left off. It cannot happen because we cannot resurrect the past but hope spurs Carrie on. She finds her old home derelict, the fields untended, the town abandoned and her one remaining girlhood friend recently passed on. But it is not for nothing...Carrie finds a resolution in her trip to the past. Anyone who has longed to rediscover a place in time when they were their happiest will find this film will strike a chord with them.

Two interesting things in this film: Carrie's son and daughter-in-law sleep in separate single beds in their bedroom yet he laments not having children....

watch out for Geraldine Page's twin sons from her marriage to actor Rip Torn. They are standing behind her as she is buying her ticket to Bountiful at the bus station.

If nothing else, simply enjoy a tour de force performance by the late, great Geraldine Page. Acting students...watch and learn from this master.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
This film is on a par with,"Tender mercies," as what i would call a forgotten gem of modern american cinema.The film has a subtle Christian message in the background as religious geraldine page seeks to visit her childhood home of bountiful once more before she dies.This is a delicate,moving film that grabs the viewer by the heartstring and won"t let go until the final credits have finished.Miss Page gives a wonderful performance that has to rank among the best of the 80"s.She definitely deserved her oscar.Travel with her as she goes to bountiful and you will be rewarded with a truly moving movie experience.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
I totally agree with the previous reviewer - this is absolutely top notch stuff and i cannot urge you strongly enough to watch this quiet and shining jewel of a movie. From the opening credits you just know that you are in for something truly special, I cannot fault any of the performances in this but Geraldine Page is truly superb. If you are not moved to tears by this beautifully unfolding story you must have a heart of stone. Buy it and be rewarded by one of the best cinematic performances you will ever see. Beautiful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Not what I was expecting. From the reviews I was expecting something wonderful. It is actually a stage play that has been made into a film - and it shows. Potentially the story of an old woman travelling to a former home and away from an unappreciative son and daughter-in-law could have been very moving and thought provoking. I didn't find it so and on the basis that I would not wish to see it again, it has gone to the charity shop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
This is a great movie. It's vey sweet and sad too. I love it that my favorite actress, Geraldine Page, finally won an Oscar for her performance in this movie!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
This is one of my favourite films which I was glad to find it on DVD after only having a taped TV VHS copy. It is incredibly poignant and moving with a brilliant central performance from Geraldine Page. Recommended for mothers, sons and daughters in law! The DVD extra features are very interesting telling the story of this classic American play and film.
An all time great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
A lovely film, I cannot say that everyone else will like it, or that no-one will, but I enjoyed it. A nice gentle thoughtfulfilm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Loved this film so much watched it twice i bought it as a treat for myself for christmas just perfect thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)