Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 July 2008
After reading some mediocre reviews of this album I was shocked when I finally heard it and it turned out that I really enjoyed listening to it. It's clearly a step away from the first album, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. This album has much more of blues, kind of Nashville Skyline-era Bob Dylan, feel to it, and I personally think that their vocals work much better together here, whereas the first album often felt like one or other of the vocal tracks had simply been 'tagged on'.

All of the tracks on this album seem to gel together very well, and although there aren't really any stand-out 'single' type tracks, I do not think that this is a bad thing at all.

It might take a few listens to really get into it, but this is well worth a few hours on a sunday afternoon. Don't expect it to be highly similar to the first album and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great record of blues/folky tracks. Lanegan, with his Seattle rock roots and Campbell, from the Scottish folk scene seem like an odd partnership, but the blend together perfectly. Lanegan's voice, craggy, worldly wise and world weary, is the ideal counterpoint to Campbell's melodious, young and innocent sounding vocals.

Full slow tempo bluesy/folky sounding tracks, with memorable melodies, thoughtful and meaningful lyrics and the great combination of the two singers, this really is a record that should do well and, if there's any justice, gather a lot of awards.

A record full of feeling, mainly hurt and heartbreak, not something that would appeal to lovers of plastic pop, this is real music, made by real musicians. The mainly downbeat feel might put some people off, but personally I loved it. It's totally different to anything I've heard before, so it's hard to say who this would appeal to. All lovers of thoughtful music, such as Beautiful South would probably find much to enjoy here. If you like this then check out their other collaborations which (to date) include `Ballad Of the Broken Seas' and `Keep Me In Mind Sweetheart'.

A great record for that lonely night in with memories and a bottle of wine.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2008
This is a really engaging record which got under my skin from the openings bars of 'Seafaring song'. Incredibly retro with Mark Lanegan sounding like smokey sixties crooner Lee Hazlewood to Isobel's Nancy Sinatra with Burt Bacharach strings thrown in for good measure.
Hard to categorize...Is it Pop, C&W, Nu-Folk, Indie ???
Whatever it is this eclectic fusion of vocals and lush instrumentals just reaches parts that other recent quirky releases just cannot reach.
As rich as Java coffee and dark chocolate.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2008
I thought I had written a review of this, but seems not. This is a beautiful progression from the first album. The songs are stronger, Lanegan gets more to do and Campbell seems confident enough to let him put much more of his personality in to it. Interesting progression in the album art; they've moved from the sleazy motel to a house in the country and Isobel's letting her hair down in plaid shirt and jeans. If you like Ballad of the Broken Seas, you'll like this even more and the new , EP Keep me in mind Sweetheart, moves the music and the story onwards.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2008
I must say that I am very impressed by this album. I didn't appreciate the other album done by these 2 artists but this one hits the bullseye!! It has the same sort of atmosphere that is created with the Robert Plant duet album, but this cd creates much more of a relaxing atmosphere.
There isn't a weak track on this cd. Don't hesitate on buying it, even if the only reason why I bought it without even having heard a note is for the King- Mark Lanegan. As I do understand Isobel Campbell has written the majority of the material and Mark has given his final touches.
If you appreciate this album, I also suggest you buy The Gutter Twins- Saturnalia, anothe masterpiece. Take advantgae while these artists are in their highest creative veins!!! and you can say I know those guys and impress with musical culture.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
Basically a continuation of Ballad of the Broken Seas. If you were a fan of that album you'll like this, if you weren't then I doubt there's anything here to change your mind. My only complaint is that Isobel has such a beutiful voice it's a shame that there's not more of it on the album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I was really impressed with this album. Mark Lanegan's low voice compliments Isobel Campbell's more innocent sound. This album is refreshing and well worth a listen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
The Chalk and Cheese combination take on a more up tempo bluesy album this time; which is both warm and charming. You'll find it perfect for warm summers day spent drinking bourbon and catch yourself singing along.

Fans of the first album won't be disappointed, and this has many potential singles on it. Listen to "Who Built The Road"; and "Come On Over (Turn Me On)"
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
What a gorgeous album. The combination of his gravelly, world-weary yet knowing vocals and on later tracks, complimented beautifully by hers are so easy to listen to. It's fast become a favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
I cannot get enough of this album.

It does not compare to the first album becuase it is different and, I think, better. Listen to the samples, if you think they sound pleasant, then the album in its entirity is a must. Listen to it twice and you'll be hooked.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)