Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different to first album but brilliant
After reading some mediocre reviews of this album I was shocked when I finally heard it and it turned out that I really enjoyed listening to it. It's clearly a step away from the first album, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. This album has much more of blues, kind of Nashville Skyline-era Bob Dylan, feel to it, and I personally think that their vocals work much...
Published on 24 July 2008 by RayG

versus
12 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ditch the lyrics
I agree with the previous 2 reviewers that the music is beautiful, the voices are a nice mix and the rhythmns and pace of the tunes are top quality. The real shame with this album is what appears to be the desire to make every line rhymne with the next irrespective of how weak the link to it may be. I've had to stop listening to it because it reminded me of small...
Published on 14 May 2008 by J. Booth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different to first album but brilliant, 24 July 2008
By 
RayG - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
After reading some mediocre reviews of this album I was shocked when I finally heard it and it turned out that I really enjoyed listening to it. It's clearly a step away from the first album, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. This album has much more of blues, kind of Nashville Skyline-era Bob Dylan, feel to it, and I personally think that their vocals work much better together here, whereas the first album often felt like one or other of the vocal tracks had simply been 'tagged on'.

All of the tracks on this album seem to gel together very well, and although there aren't really any stand-out 'single' type tracks, I do not think that this is a bad thing at all.

It might take a few listens to really get into it, but this is well worth a few hours on a sunday afternoon. Don't expect it to be highly similar to the first album and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sixties with a bullet !, 5 May 2008
By 
Arthur Dooley (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
This is a really engaging record which got under my skin from the openings bars of 'Seafaring song'. Incredibly retro with Mark Lanegan sounding like smokey sixties crooner Lee Hazlewood to Isobel's Nancy Sinatra with Burt Bacharach strings thrown in for good measure.
Hard to categorize...Is it Pop, C&W, Nu-Folk, Indie ???
Whatever it is this eclectic fusion of vocals and lush instrumentals just reaches parts that other recent quirky releases just cannot reach.
As rich as Java coffee and dark chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunday at Devil Dirt, Isobell Campbell and Mark Lanegan - A slow burning classic, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
This is a great record of blues/folky tracks. Lanegan, with his Seattle rock roots and Campbell, from the Scottish folk scene seem like an odd partnership, but the blend together perfectly. Lanegan's voice, craggy, worldly wise and world weary, is the ideal counterpoint to Campbell's melodious, young and innocent sounding vocals.

Full slow tempo bluesy/folky sounding tracks, with memorable melodies, thoughtful and meaningful lyrics and the great combination of the two singers, this really is a record that should do well and, if there's any justice, gather a lot of awards.

A record full of feeling, mainly hurt and heartbreak, not something that would appeal to lovers of plastic pop, this is real music, made by real musicians. The mainly downbeat feel might put some people off, but personally I loved it. It's totally different to anything I've heard before, so it's hard to say who this would appeal to. All lovers of thoughtful music, such as Beautiful South would probably find much to enjoy here. If you like this then check out their other collaborations which (to date) include `Ballad Of the Broken Seas' and `Keep Me In Mind Sweetheart'.

A great record for that lonely night in with memories and a bottle of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isobel's starting to let her hair down, 9 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
I thought I had written a review of this, but seems not. This is a beautiful progression from the first album. The songs are stronger, Lanegan gets more to do and Campbell seems confident enough to let him put much more of his personality in to it. Interesting progression in the album art; they've moved from the sleazy motel to a house in the country and Isobel's letting her hair down in plaid shirt and jeans. If you like Ballad of the Broken Seas, you'll like this even more and the new , EP Keep me in mind Sweetheart, moves the music and the story onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the King and Queen!!!!, 27 May 2008
By 
R. Vincenzo (Caserta, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
I must say that I am very impressed by this album. I didn't appreciate the other album done by these 2 artists but this one hits the bullseye!! It has the same sort of atmosphere that is created with the Robert Plant duet album, but this cd creates much more of a relaxing atmosphere.
There isn't a weak track on this cd. Don't hesitate on buying it, even if the only reason why I bought it without even having heard a note is for the King- Mark Lanegan. As I do understand Isobel Campbell has written the majority of the material and Mark has given his final touches.
If you appreciate this album, I also suggest you buy The Gutter Twins- Saturnalia, anothe masterpiece. Take advantgae while these artists are in their highest creative veins!!! and you can say I know those guys and impress with musical culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ballad of the Broken Seas - the sequel, 19 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
Basically a continuation of Ballad of the Broken Seas. If you were a fan of that album you'll like this, if you weren't then I doubt there's anything here to change your mind. My only complaint is that Isobel has such a beutiful voice it's a shame that there's not more of it on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Tony Davis (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
I was really impressed with this album. Mark Lanegan's low voice compliments Isobel Campbell's more innocent sound. This album is refreshing and well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Make Me Dizzy Ms Issy, 12 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. Manuel (newcastle upon tyne, tyne & wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
The Chalk and Cheese combination take on a more up tempo bluesy album this time; which is both warm and charming. You'll find it perfect for warm summers day spent drinking bourbon and catch yourself singing along.

Fans of the first album won't be disappointed, and this has many potential singles on it. Listen to "Who Built The Road"; and "Come On Over (Turn Me On)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful, 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
I cannot get enough of this album.

It does not compare to the first album becuase it is different and, I think, better. Listen to the samples, if you think they sound pleasant, then the album in its entirity is a must. Listen to it twice and you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every bit as good as I hoped for, 5 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunday At Devil Dirt (Audio CD)
I bought this on spec and was very pleased with the result. Great vocals, not at all predictable songs, and they certainly won't be featured on X Factor. That's how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunday At Devil Dirt
Sunday At Devil Dirt by Isobel Campbell
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews