Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
I had a few Deep Purple albums on vinyl many years ago. One was an anthology double album containing the brilliant Hallelulah. Anyway I bought this compilation cos it was sooo cheap and it had my favourite track Hallelulah on it But the whole compilation is flippin' excellent. The cover of Hendrix' Hey Joe is awesome as is Kentucky woman. It's the early pre eighties...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by Witchfinder General

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware, not the same as the CD version
This is overall a very good compilation of this great band, in all its various formats, and at a very good price. However, I noticed (after downloading it, unfortunately) that the last five tracks that appear on the CD version aren't on the download.
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by Garfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I had a few Deep Purple albums on vinyl many years ago. One was an anthology double album containing the brilliant Hallelulah. Anyway I bought this compilation cos it was sooo cheap and it had my favourite track Hallelulah on it But the whole compilation is flippin' excellent. The cover of Hendrix' Hey Joe is awesome as is Kentucky woman. It's the early pre eighties tracks that appeal to me more because of the Hammond Organ sound so I wasn't too fussed about the later stuff not being on here. Nevertheless I also purchased the album BURN alongside this and that too is brilliant. Well worth the money as none of the tracks on here seem to have been shortened. Child In Time is in its entirety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Patch, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Frequently underappreciated while Sabbath and Zeppelin garner most of the 70's rock era plaudits. Yes the second, Gillan, incarnation was the most powerful but this collection proves there was plenty to admire in the rest of the band's output. I might have trimmed one or two numbers and slipped on the Coverdale era 'You Full No One' (Yes he was a colossal pain in the backside but the man could sing!). Some live versions are a step up from the studio offerings but this is a very fine selection stretching from their kickstart with the hit recording of Hush to the, presumably, final phase with Ted the Mechanic and Perfect Strangers (Another record that they could have happily included another track from). Outstanding value. Lazy, Space Truckin', Highway Star and Wring That Neck are all present and correct making this a more complete and satisfying set than the other single disc 'Best of' compilations doing the rounds. If you're looking for a single Purple purchase go for this one. If you're not sure about the band get it anyway and be delighted that you took the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but..., 24 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This is a really good compilation - one of the best I've seen and, let's face it, there are loads of Deep Purple compilatons out there. I just wanted to correct something in one of the other reviews: this does not contain something from every DP studio album. The reason I deducted a star is because virtually nothing (just four tracks) from the band 1984-onwards is included. Most of the albums post-1984 reformation aren't featured at all e.g. Perfect Strangers (except for one 'live' version recorded much later by a different line up), House of Blue Light, Slaves and Masters, The Battle Rages On. Having said that, as a collection of DP up until that period, this is excellent, and it does include some tracks from the current line up of the band. Major kudos for including the full version of Woman from Tokyo and not the 'edit' I've heard on other compilations. I just wish there could have been a fourth disk covering all those missed albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 18 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
For anyone wanting an overview of Deep Purple, this 3CD set is just about unbeatable, unless you have a friend with a big DP CD collection, and is good at burning compilations. The only track that I would have added is a live version of "You Fool No-one", but that would have meant leaving something off, "Flight of the rat" is a very welcome inclusion, not usually seen on DP compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
Being a Deep Purple fan of many moons, and with a sound collection to match, I rate this the best of all the "Best of ..... " collections. Brilliant. I wanted a broad collection of their work and this certainly fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple..., 10 Jun 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Deep Purple were a legendary band when I was at school but didn't fit into my Grammar schoolboy interests and so I never got into them, then. Now, thirty plus years later, I only have one DP recording - this one, so I'm not pretending to be enough of a fan that I'd buy everything they ever produced.

However, when I do want some Deep Purple, this fits the bill perfectly and to my pleasant surprise was consistently good, despite the 3 CD length. Yes, I like the classics best, with Child in Time my favourite but here there's also far more to their repertoire, they certainly didn't always sound the same. You could play all 3 discs all the way through or put them on random and you wouldn't be bored.

At around less than a fiver, now, this Platinum Collection has to be one of the biggest bargains in rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great retrospective, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Groundhog (Serbia, Vrsac) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Everything you ever need from Deep Purple on one place. Maybe I will add few more songs, but, this is great anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Ekim Noslen (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
A classic album. They sure don't make them like this any more. Great songs combined with superb production. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars keeping the old DEEP PURPLE fan happy, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
for my son 33yrs a fan of RAINBOW RITCHIE BLACKMOOR and DEEP PURPLE HE was delighted with every aspect of the c.d.s puchased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Even if you only like some deep purple songs this collection has all the big hits.
Great collection and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
Buy MP3 Album12.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews