Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dire Straits Studio And Live Recordings On 2 Discs.
On it's own the one disc collection is a very good introduction to the music of Mark Knofler and Dire Straits.
Lady Writer is not often included in the band's other collections and really stands out, while Love Over Gold, Your Latest Trick and from Local Hero, Wild Theme are all live recordings which maintain their high standards.
My favourite is Sultans Of...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by J. Thompson

versus
40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all the best from this band...
This best of collection does contain most of the best known tunes from the supergroup from all their albums, but falls short.
On the plus side, the classics we all know and love such as 'Sultans of Swing', 'Romeo and Juliet' and 'Tunnel of Love' are all here in their full-length versions.
However this is where I start subtracting the stars: The one cut from...
Published on 23 Mar 2004


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all the best from this band..., 23 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This best of collection does contain most of the best known tunes from the supergroup from all their albums, but falls short.
On the plus side, the classics we all know and love such as 'Sultans of Swing', 'Romeo and Juliet' and 'Tunnel of Love' are all here in their full-length versions.
However this is where I start subtracting the stars: The one cut from 'Alchemy' is the worst track on the CD (the original studio version of 'Love Over Gold' is far superior to the live rendition here). One of the best tracks Knopfler ever wrote, 'Telegraph Road', is absent; 'Brothers In Arms' has been cut so the superb guitar solo at the end of that track is absent; 'Money For Nothing' and 'On Every Street' have also been edited. As a result this compilation does not provide a full perspective of some of the band's most superb work. A double 'best of CD' (like Billy Joel and many others have done for their greatest hits) is probably the only answer...
Buy this though and you will want to collect all of the band's work, but the albums 'Making Movies', 'Love Over Gold' and 'Brothers In Arms' are the best buys when it comes to personal choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dire Straits Studio And Live Recordings On 2 Discs., 18 Oct 2010
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On it's own the one disc collection is a very good introduction to the music of Mark Knofler and Dire Straits.
Lady Writer is not often included in the band's other collections and really stands out, while Love Over Gold, Your Latest Trick and from Local Hero, Wild Theme are all live recordings which maintain their high standards.
My favourite is Sultans Of Swing, what a debut single, as far as I am concerned on a par with The Animals' House Of The Rising Son, The Byrds' Mr Tambourine Man and Jimi Hendrix's Hey Joe.
Now add disc 2 which is a live concert at the Royal Albert Hall, London, featuring 7 songs.
Calling Elvis is an improvement on the studio version, Walk Of Life is next, then a lovely gentle Last Exit To Brooklyn which runs into Romeo And Juliet.
Sultans Of Swing clocks in at over 13 minutes, thats definitely OK with me, then nearly 9 minutes of Brothers In Arms.
Finally Money for Nothing rounds off the concert in which the band and Mark in particular, have the audiance enjoying every moment.
Any Dire Straits fan who wants 2 hours 20 minutes of their music need look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent....., 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Having only a few of the albums by Dire Straights, I found this CD to be brilliant. It has all the best songs, and is great value for money. Like it says.."The VERY best of Dire Straights"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All your favourites, 20 July 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All your favourite Dire Straits hits are here. My only reservation is that some of them are live. I find the background whoops and yells most distracting. Why couldn't we just have had the originals?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty has reached perfection., 19 July 2004
I'll give you a title by title description of the album, as each song deserves a few words...
1/ "sultans of swing" is the starting point of the band's carreer. But more than that it has become part of the rock'n'roll legend with its wonderful unforgettable guitar riffs.
2/ "lady writer" is a faster "sultans of swing", but a great theme of its own too.
3/ "romeo and juliet" is one of the most romantic and touching love songs ever written by Mark Knopfler (words and music really merge into sth very emotional).
4/ "tunnel of love" presents other legendary guitar riffs. It combines the beauty of "romeo and juliet"'s lyrics and the power of "sultans'" riffs. The epic final guitar solo is just an all time favorite.
5/ "twisting by the pool" is an original twist, showing that Mark Knopfler really is capable of complying with every style and can write about anything.
6/ "private investigations" shows a wonderful accoustic work where the guitar dialogues with the piano all thru. The final chords have also become part of history.
7/ "love over gold" (live in 1983) is in the trend of "private investigations" but can only serve here as a teaser to the fantastic original version.
8/ "so far away" is another love song, quite a simple one both lyrically and musically, but it goes straight to the heart.
9/ "money for nothing" is no use commenting on as everybody, I think, must remember its destructive introductory guitar riff and its chorus sung along with Sting. "I want my MTV".
10/ "brothers in arms" could be defined in just one word : "heart-breaking". Once again the music and the voice combine to break your heart in two.
11/ "walk of life" is well influenced by the cajun style, it's a rocking song which can liven a place up when needed. The keyboard parts and the chorus made it very famous and appreciated.
12/ "calling elvis". In this song we can easily feel the influence of Chet Atkins on our host, the intermediary riff is a good example. It's a nice piece of song writing and a great tribute to the King of rock'n'roll too.
13/ "heavy fuel" is a sarcastic, cynical song in the spirit of "money for nothing". It has powerful guitar chords and a nice chorus too.
14/ "on every street" also belongs to the emotional kind. You'll never be able to resist its final instrumental part.
15/ "your latest trick" (live). Known for its famous saxophone solo, this version is quite different from the original one, as new instruments have been used to enlarge the musical theme.
16/ "local hero - wild theme" (live). Wonderful instrumental piece of music from the local hero film, played live during the "on every street tour" in 1991-1992.
To conclude, we can but recognize that this album is a very nice one, it is a good introduction to the band, even if it is true many songs have been unjustly forgotten (telegraph road, down to the waterline, solid rock, where do you think you're going, you and your friend...).
Anyway, if you like good music, you'll love this album.
'Hope I've given you the will to discover this memorable, deserving British band, which has so much contributed to the welfare of the British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be conned into buying it, 16 Jun 2004
With most bands' back catalogues now available on CD, record companies are taking to reshuffling and repackaging the original Best Of compilations and flogging them again at full price to a completely new audience, or on the strength of a couple of new live tracks. Don't buy into it. The best work of the brilliant band that is Dire Straits has been on the market for years under the title Money For Nothing. And what's more, it's available for a mere half the price of this imposter.
This is not to say that the songs on here are not good - they are. In fact, many of them are the same. It is where the tracks differ that this issue comes off second best. In an attempt to bring it up to date, there are three songs from the forgettable On Every Street album. Which is fine, but to pave the way for these, they have ignored indispensable earlier tracks such as Telegraph Road. And then there are the three live tracks. Again, it's fine to include Your Latest Trick and Mark Knopfler's Local Hero/Wild Theme, but for God's sake have the decency to give us the original studio versions - the versions that are actually good!
My advice to anyone looking for an introduction to Dire Straits is simple. Avoid this one. Instead seek out the compilation album entitled Money For Nothing. Once you've bought and enjoyed it thoroughly, which I can assure you you will, target the six studio albums, starting with Brothers In Arms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb intro' to one of the finest bands in history., 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
When Mark Knopfler started out with Dire Straits, he must have had two ambitions: to defeat punk and make rock history. He achieved both. Knopfler and Dire Straits may not be the most fondly remembered band Britain has produced, but this CD alone speaks volumes for their quality, which was almost unrivalled during the eighties. It features almost all of their chart hits in some form or other, brilliant live versions of 'Love Over Gold', 'Your Latest Trick' and Knopfler's 'Wild Theme' guitar solo. The versions of 'Money For Nothing' and 'Brothers in Arms' are edited and lose some of their original atmosphere, but any drawbacks are negligible compared to what this one CD can offer you. If you like this, buy all of Dire Straits' studio albums - you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not without flaws, 23 Jan 2002
I must say I'm quite pleased with this 'best of' album, as it has most of their best hits, and any Dire Straits beginner should be satisfied with the songs on offer. However I find it disgraceful that the end solo from Brothers In Arms has been cut, and also some of the end of On Every Street has been cut. Also where's Telegraph Road? To me it's one of their greatest. Although I suppose you cannot have everything. I'm pleased Going Home is on there, because that's a good tune, but I'm a bit dubious to whether Calling Elvis should be there. It's good, but they would have been better off having Telegraph Road or the live version. All in all though, it's enjoyable to listen to, and they haven't done a bad job. Congratualtion to Mark Knopfler and the boys for creating some great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sultans of swing must be my all time dire straits favourite, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it as i,ve wanted sultans of swing for years, but the rest of the album is fantastic, heard most of them from time to time but now i can listen to them any time i like, grown to love all the other tracks, its just great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 3 Jan 2012
The bonus CD is worth the money alone - the CD's arrived in perfect condition, on time and just a thrill to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews