Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars88
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2003
The first three quarters of this album display Clapton's incredible ability in groups such as the cream and derek and the dominos, but tracks such as swing low sweet chariot lack the same talent.the variety in this album is excellent but most people like a certain era of clapton, for raw blues buy from the cradle,or r+b buy john mayall's bluesbreakers featuring clapton,for rock pop buy august or behind the sun,for excellent psychedelic rock/blues buy disraeli gears by the cream.the best albums in my opinion are, disraeli gears,layla+other assorted love songs,ec was here.these cover the majority of claptons quality music. but this album could be a good startin point as it has such variety, and from this album u can find ur favourite clapton era.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This has got to be the best collection of Clapton at his best in Cream and solo. Great price, Great delivery and great item. Ill be back soon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 July 2015
Original guitar hero Eric Clapton was given an excellent single disc compilation treatment with 'The Cream of Clapton', released originally in 1987. It still provides, in my opinion, one of the best introductions to his work, and at a budget price.

This playlist from Polydor records contains, in a nice listening order, material from Clapton's first band Derek and the Dominos (represented with two tracks:, 'Layla' and 'Bell Bottom Blues', psychedelic rock group Cream (six, including 'I Feel Free', an all-time classic), and some of the best songs as a solo artist (9 of these songs in total), making it a most comprehensive collection, and ideal for newbies who are keen to get their first taster to his magic. 'The Cream Of Clapton' is correct, and this three-time inductee to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, is a proper rock-and-roll legend. I think that all aspiring musicians or fans of real music should have some Eric Clapton in their collection.

The CD's booklet contains a detailed write-up from Clapton's biographer Ray Coleman, and some small colour pictures of the man from over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2000
"The Cream of Eric Clapton" combines neatly "Strange Brew: The Best Of Cream" and "Timepieces: The Best of Eric Clapton", featuring 6 of the 12 songs on the former album and 8 of the 11 from the latter. in this, it omits the powerful "SWLABR" and the catchy "Born Under A Bad Sign" both by Cream and the fast and very enjoyable "After Midnight" and "Willie and the Hand Jive", a more mellow effort, from Timepieces, omissions which are frankly disappointing. having said that, the songs that are included are, to a man, excellent examples of clapton's undisputed genius. Personally i would recommend buying both albums but this one encapsulates the essence of both into just one cd. which is nice.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2003
Eric Clapton was given the nickname 'god' in the sixties when he was the original guitar hero. This album of 'hits' covers the early and middle years of Erics great career. This is a good place to start if you are new to Eric's music, but be warned you may then need to buy the original albums from which tese tracks were taken. Another suggestion would be to buy 'Crossroads' a more comprehensive collection of Eric's guitar playing and singing.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
If you are a Eric Clapton fan and want to down load his most well known tunes then this is the album for you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
This album represents important section between Clapton's solo work, Cream, Blind Faith, and Derek and the Dominos.
This is really the one of the most fantastic compilations that I had in my CD player. I believe that every music
connoisseur will find this record important, because it offers the best known classic rock themes ever.
Heartily recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 September 2001
I usually do not go in for short reviews but there is not much to say on this one. This is someone else's (and we do not know who) selection of what they think is the Cream of Clapton. It may be used as a beginning album or just a synopsis for those that just want to have a Clapton sample in their library.
Bottom line all these songs are on original albums and if you just happen to like this combination then there are no ringers or odd songs in there to just fill space/time.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 November 2012
Why do I do these things? I had this and gave it up. Then later on, came across it and just had to have the album back in my collection! Cream, Derek & the Dominoes and Eric Solo are all covered in the various recordings. Don't miss it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2007
I must say I am amazed at the low ratings some of the reviewers have given this cd. Everyone is entitled to their opinions and I agree entirely with Amazon's review. Being a big fan of Eric Clapton, I own most of his solo albums as well as all the albums of each band he played in and I would have to say if you wished to to purchase just one cd of Eric Clapton then this surely is the one to purchase. The title is appropriate, it really is the Cream of Clapton and contains most of his finest tracks. You just cannot go wrong with this album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)