Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you happy!
I was lucky enough to hear a review copy of this album, which is the best yet from Clare Teal. She has returned to her jazz roots but has grown since her encounter with more mainstream pop, with an even richer voice and interpretations. Here, her versions of the classics - Cheek to Cheek, Begin the Beguine, Time after Time, the seldom-heard Love for Sale and the title...
Published on 10 Feb 2008 by Sue Vickers-Thompson

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as Paridisi Carousel
Clare Teal fans will probably pan me for this but having listened to most of her CDs and seen her live this really doesn't do it for me. She just changed record companies and it smacked of having to get something out quick. Sure there are some good tracks on here but the whole album doesn't fit together as well. Paridisi Carousel was a great album and this has good tracks...
Published on 2 Aug 2008 by BBBSB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you happy!, 10 Feb 2008
By 
Sue Vickers-Thompson (Banbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to hear a review copy of this album, which is the best yet from Clare Teal. She has returned to her jazz roots but has grown since her encounter with more mainstream pop, with an even richer voice and interpretations. Here, her versions of the classics - Cheek to Cheek, Begin the Beguine, Time after Time, the seldom-heard Love for Sale and the title song etc. - bring something fresh each time so that they become unmistakably hers, whilst not being twiddled with unnecessarily! The covers of the "newer" classics - Moondance, Breaking up etc - again are interpreted so that they become new again and the three new songs (All for love, released as a single, Get on It Sam and High Love) are surely destined to become classics and covered in their own right.

It's a beautifully balanced album in every way and the backing trio and vocalists (her "Exceedingly Good Musicians"!) both support her and add their own individual and joint contributions to make a very satisfying whole.

This is an album which can only burnish Clare's reputation even more - I can't recommend it too highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness on a grand scale!, 11 Feb 2008
By 
H. G. Marriott "twiceydrinker" (Wild Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Well all I can say is well done Clare!

Echoing what Sue has said, we were lucky enough to have a pre-release copy to listen to and absolutely adore it.

A return to Clare's better known domain of classic Jazz standards and some cool beyond belief covers of more recent tracks plus the added bonus of three Teal-classics - this is the album we've been waiting for.

The intepretation of the standards old and new re-invent the tracks, and you hear the lyric again for the first time. Not many people can do this, fortunatly Clare can!

It's great to hear an album that is a more realistic representation of Clare's superb live performances.

If you want cheering up this grey dour February - buy it - actually buy it anyway - it's sunny where you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll sure to be happy when you get 'Get Happy', 25 Feb 2008
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Forget all your fancy, spa pamper sessions, this is the only therapy you'll need!

This is another fabulous album from the Jazz sensation Clare Teal. 'Get Happy' brings Clare back to her jazz roots with standards she makes her own by adding flair with her own ingenious style and three new songs that showcase Clare's talent as a singer/songwriter to it's max.

Clare's vocals are very much out in front, brilliantly utilising the pure, velvety smooth tones creating intimacy and warmth. Her amazing band add supremity to this CD with the equally masterful Jim Watson on piano, stupendous Chris Dagley on drums, fantastic Simon Little on bass and the wonderful backing from the Symphomanics, Adie Chivers and Colin Ball.

If you like beautifully created, good music that will put a smile on your face, a spring in your step and a tenderness in your heart then this is for you.

Get happy - no you'll be ecstatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Blooming Marvellous!, 5 Mar 2008
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
I don't really need to add much to what has already been said about this album, except that it is fantastic, buy it, sit back and enjoy!

From the moment, the first few bars of 'All For Love' starts, you will hear Clare Teal, her band and jazz itself at its absolute best.

What I love about Clare Teal, apart from her amazing talent, is that she is obviously enjoying singing - to me, you can actually hear her smiling.

So, my advice, buy this album, buy all of her albums and get yourself to one of her concerts - you will be blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous as always, 21 Mar 2008
By 
G. Adams "Jazz Diva" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
This album shows Claires fantastic Jazz abilities with her sensitive and sexy voice together with her brilliant song writing skills.
Muddy and Claire make a fantastic double act ...long may it last.
This album is a must for all Claire fans and all lovers of female jazz. It explains why she is the NO 1 in female Jazz.
Go and see her live..its just as great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 17 Mar 2008
By 
Mrs. B. S. Kay "Sue" (Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Brilliant - Clare at her "jazzy" best ...

From the 'sultry' 'sexy' Mistress in "All For Love" - "Begin The Beguine" & "The Very Thought Of You" & the 'cheeky-giggle' in "All For Love" ..... To the 'buckets of bubbles' of "Get Happy" & "Moondance" (IMO heaps better than Van Morrison's version) - Claire transports your mind & body into a swaying world of fabulous music & for 50 glorious minutes all your worries are casts to one side ...

THANK YOU Claire ....

ooxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album yet from Clare Teal, 4 Mar 2008
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
I can only echo the previous reviews. Clare Teal at her best. "Moondance" and "Love Hurts" are superb. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clare at her best, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
once again great choice of music the range is across the board, music lovers CD happy to play this anytime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Happy ...... a Classic Album., 3 April 2010
By 
G. Brookes "garbokker" (Chelmsford EX UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Clare Teal is a versatile artiste, although predominately a jazz singer she is also comfortable with other genres, such as swing, beebop and easy listening. On Get Happy she has taken a number of classic songs, by Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, Van Morrison and others, and along with several of her own compositions (in partnership with Amanda Field), has created a classic album. Get Happy was the first time I had heard anything of or by Clare Teal and, since then Clare has become a firm personal favourite. I have now purchased all of Clare's previous albums, but Get Happy remains high on my listening list. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Happy, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Peter R. Penn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Happy (Audio CD)
Loved the CD, saw her perform at the Bansko(Bulgaria) Jazz Festival in August this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Happy
Get Happy by Clare Teal
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews