Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slight change of pace
I'm a huge fan of The Black Keys... I have all of their albums and singles and have seen them perform live 4 or 5 times. They play driving, gutteral, thumping, fuzzy rock and roll. Well, usually they do...

Sometimes they play dusty, bluesy rock and roll, and there is a lot of that to be found on 'Attack & Release'. With the exception of perhaps three tracks (of...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by EternalBroadcaster

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit subdued
I like this album but for me it suffers in comparison with what's gone before. As another reviewer says, it does seem a little over-produced and I think it sounds quite mellow and restrained in places. I suppose they've done the raw-blues-retro thing before (brilliantly) but if you only buy one Black Keys album I think the best place to start is either Rubber Factory or...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by eclectic warrior


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It has the Black keys name on the cover...., 14 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
but that's pretty much all it has in common with previous albums such as the Big Come Up, Thickfreakness and Rubber Factory. Gone is the driving, syncopated drumming combined with killer riffs and intricate bluesy raw solos that made the Black Keys one of the most electric bands around, whether it was live or in the studio. Instead, this album is a lot slower and possesses none of the dynamism and exuberance of their previous efforts. Magic Potion was a warning shot that things were slowing down, and this is the end result-an effort that is devoid of the fire of their previous offerings. Can anyone honestly say that anything on this new album can compare with tracks such as : Have Love Will Travel, the Breaks, Them Eyes, The Yearnin', Heavy Soul, 10am Automatic, Girl is on My Mind... I could go on!
Attack and Release, when compared to this tracks from previous efforts, sounds like it really is another band entirely. For example, the best track on this album for me ("Remember Me Side B"), sounds like the White Stripes. The BKs were innovators and rocked like no other which made them stand out in a crowd, but this album just lets them sink back to levels of similarity and blandness occupied by numerous others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this album...trust me, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. W. R. Donnelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
In years to come, people will be asking "where were you when you first heard Attack and Release?". Children will grow up and find this album amongst their parents' CD collection and realise with surprise that the old folks really did have taste.

If the blues, gospel, country, soul and rock do anything for your inner being, rest easy...an elixir of all those heady ingredients has been blended to colour your otherwise drab lives.

Where the previous album, Rubber Factory, was all dirty whiskey rock'n'blues, Attack and Release is without doubt a more polished affair. Don't let that put you off though, the heart of The Black Keys is still firmly stamped all over this, in fact the addition of Hammond organ and the odd studio effect really adds depth to their otherwise raw sound.

Some might worry that Attack and Release sees the back of the Black Keys dirty rock and blues origins, but I'd prefer to describe it as a foray into deeper, mellower waters. This band is clearly more than just a one trick pony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stand Up, 9 April 2008
By 
K. N. Talling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
Will the real Black Keys stand up please. I know this album was a "concept" but it does not have the band's signature craft manship and is over produced. Hopefully it is one off and not the way they are going for all future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for Black Keys fans, 28 Aug 2008
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
The first three Black Keys albums are amongst my favourite ever albums. For the fourth, Dan picked up a plectrum and lost a lot of the depth his playing got from his finger and thumb style. He'd also clearly had singing lessons and his voice had lost its wonderful raw power. The demise is complete with Pat's brutal and instinctive drumming style tamed, and all sorts of awful accompanying instruments which don't add anything. The keyboards on Hendrix tracks complement his playing, on this album it sounds like some big shot producer has added them to tone down the raw natural style of the band... which is what's happened. I think Dan and Pat allowed the glamour and fame (or cash rewards) of Dangermouse cloud their judgement here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ah its crap, 20 Aug 2008
By 
Sean Joyce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
This CD is crap, the early black keys stuff is brilliant , this sounds like there are trying to sing Blue Hotel by Chris Isaak,,,i mean u had "the sound" and it was awesome ,some of the early stuff is just the best blues rock you will ever hear and now u got err what ? The same sound as every other crap band? New fans ? A producer?

You just lost this fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tracks on this CD, 14 Jan 2012
By 
H. Golder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
Once again this page is so full of reviews that there is no room for a track listing. Has it not occurred to the sellers and Amazon that they may actually sell more copies if the punters can see what they're buying - i.e. a track listing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack And Release
Attack And Release by The Black Keys
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews