Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete history of Del Amitri singles on one CD
This is a good way for a newcomer to Del Amitri (or an occasional fan) to collect all their best tracks on one disc. Long-time fans will already have 14 of these 17 tracks on the original albums. Only 3 of the songs haven't been previously released on one of the 5 albums which span this collection, from '89-'98. In other words, if there was a Del Amitri single you liked...
Published on 4 Dec 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars remember liking these
Just a dull album, really wanted to like it but even the songs I recognised sounded dull.Would not even have it as background music
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete history of Del Amitri singles on one CD, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This is a good way for a newcomer to Del Amitri (or an occasional fan) to collect all their best tracks on one disc. Long-time fans will already have 14 of these 17 tracks on the original albums. Only 3 of the songs haven't been previously released on one of the 5 albums which span this collection, from '89-'98. In other words, if there was a Del Amitri single you liked or loved, you'll find it on here.
Del Amitri have never achieved the commercial success to match the critical acclaim they receive. As songwriters they are among a small group who consistently turn out well-crafted songs with memorable tunes and thought-provoking lyrics which often reflect real-world cynicism and dark humour, rather than fluffy candyfloss pop. If this is pop, it's adult pop for true music fans who are weary of boy bands and dance music.
This is an album which will be far more familiar when you actually listen to it than when you read the track listing. All their best known releases are here - Nothing ever happens, Kiss this thing goodbye, Always the last to know, Not where it's at & Move away Jimmy Blue. You even get their France '98 anthem for the Scottish World Cup squad - Don't come home too soon! (Yes, quality songwriting and humour have even reached the barren territory of football songs, courtesy of Del Amitri).
This is first class ballad/folk/rock from one of Scotland's finest. A worthy addition to almost any music collection. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best entry route to a band who never disappoint, 27 Nov 2003
A slightly louder offshoot of the "jangly Scottish pop" phenomenon of the 80's, Del Amitri are worth your ear-time and CD-space for so many reasons:
- Because they write great, catchy, whistle-able pop tunes.
- Because they write insightful, witty songs about relationship disasters which still burst with hope and optimism.
- Because they are stunningly good at what they do.
- Because you cannot listen to any random three Del Amitri songs without feeling that little bit better about life.
It's impossible to explain music in writing, but to give you an idea about what makes them so good, let's consider the last track on this album, their Scotland World Cup song "Don't Come Home Too Soon". Here they take on a justly despised musical form (the footie song), a nation which always seems to fall short on the big stage in any sport (my own beloved Scotland) and, bridging them, the appalling musical crime of Andy Cameron's "Ally's Tartan Army", the Scotland World Cup song of 1978 which proudly claimed over truly dreadful music that "We'll really shake them up when we win the World Cup, 'cos Scotland are the greatest football team!" What do the Dels do? Well, first of all they write a soaring, uplifting melody which might have given Cameron's drivel the slightest hint of plausibility. And then they write a lyric entirely focused on Scotland not getting knocked out in the first Group stage! Talk about setting a more realistic goal... although it still didn't work.
There are no dud tracks on this album. So why four stars and not five? Well, I don't want you to think that buying this exhausts all that makes Del Amitri a truly first-rate band. The best, probably only, way to do that is to buy all their albums, because every one's a gem. If you really have room for only one Dels album on your life this will do, but buy "Change Everything" and you'll soon feel the need to own the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 10 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I thought I only knew a couple of songs by Del Amitri ("Nothing Ever Happens" & "Last to Know") and purchased the CD purely on the merits of those songs. As I listened to it though many more sounded familiar...and those that I had not heard of I loved immediatly. The songs are full of catchy lyrics & melodies that you find yourself humming throughout the day. This CD now lives in my stereo on a full-time basis. I can't say that I am a Del Amitri fan on the sole basis of having their Greatest Hits CD but they are fantastic muso's and I would recommend this CD to anyone who likes up-beat, catchy tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Del, 9 Jan 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Catching up on some old favourites, I pulled this album out of the drawer and was instantly reminded of one of the few bands who kept music alive for me through the otherwise barren nineties. By all means get the albums - all great, but one cannot quibble about the standard of track on here, every one memorable (OK, apart from the Scotland world cup song "Don't come home too soon" - off course we did!), every one melodic, bitter sweet expertly played and sung - my god I miss these boys. I am reminded of the story (perhaps apocryphal - who knows?) of one of the reasons that they didn't sell as many records as they might because a famous national record store filed the band under "A" for Amitri, ie Del (first name) Amitri (Surname) Solo Artiste!

Hmmm, perhaps you had to be there..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I always said they would have a 'best of' one day..., 17 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Del Amitri are a band who survived the onslaught of modern electronic music that the early 1990's threw at us. Their genre of music is unheard of these days, with even the best guitar bands yeilding to the decks. But when you listen to the 'Dels' heartfelt lyrics and mellow tunes on certain tracks and the grunt of others you'll wonder how they were never bigger than they were. Hatful of Rain is the beginners guide to Del Amitri giving listeners the chance to reminisce to the days when big sideburns were in and Scottish bands could pull in crowds from all four corners of the globe. Top album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grat album, 18 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I know all my friends have grown sick of me telling them they need to buy this album so I thought I'd tell you as well. There's such a variaty of music moods and the songs just grow on you. For the price this is at I doubt you'll get a better album. My favourite tracks at the moment are : 'When you were young' and 'spit in the rain'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qulity would be a harsh understatement!, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This is a truly excellent album with not a single song that lets it down a bit. It goes from the easy going "cry to be found" to the far more lively "some other suckers parade" and the well known "roll to me". After you buy this album you will become an instant Del Amitri fan as you won't be able to get enough of the excellent lyrics of Justin Currie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you hear this CD you'll say "Oh was THAT Del Amitiri", 5 Nov 2000
By 
Amazon Customer "Janea" (Bracknell, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Del Amitri have had hit after hit over the past 10 years - but still remain reasonably obscure. "Del who?" is the response I get when I talk about them.
Well buy this CD and you'll soon be saying - "Oh was THAT Del Amitri!" So many familiar songs, perfectly crafted by mainstays Justin Currie and Iain Harvie.
Justin's lyrics are incredibly astute, and may hit many a raw nerve. He speaks of love and heartache - but also is not afraid to tackle issues like unemployment, and the hardship and boredom of growing up in a small town. Nothing Ever Happens and Move Away Jimmy Blue are two such songs.
Buy this album and I guarantee you'll be begging for more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glad i found this album, 8 Sep 2006
By 
D. M. Tompkins (bognor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i had only ever heard the song "driving with the brakes on" before buying this, i brought it on a whim. "driving with the brakes on" isnt the best on the album by far.

the best songs are, "nothing ever happens" its very lyrical, and best listened to a few times, would never sound dated, real good.

"spit in the rain" is very good

"just like a man" my favourite, a real mans song, a little moody, but just a brilliant energetic song.

this band should be more famous, there is no cheese or dated music on this album, all of it is good.

just buy it, its not well heard of, but its not obscure, its easy to listen to.

"stone cold sober" is brilliant too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliant!, 17 Nov 2003
A great CD. Just listening to the rousing first track, 'Cry to be found', puts me in a good mood! There are the well-known hits 'Rll to me', 'Nothing ever happens' and 'Driving with the brakes on' (great in the car, by the way). And some songs I'd never heard before that I instantly fell in love with; 'Spit in the rain', and 'Be my downfall'.
For me, one song stands out, and it's been my favourite song ever since I heard it: 'Tell her this'. A fantastically simple guitar and vocal song, with Justin's heartbrakingly honest lyrics. A must for any CD collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews